Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Berlinale Shorts

Rise

## ## ## ## ## ##

Young, gifted and black! In an act of self-empowerment, a group of young Black people, mainly first and second generation immigrants from the Caribbean, have occupied the public space of the Toronto underground to perform their agitprop concept of edutainment – poets, rappers, singers and musicians. This vital, experimental documentary perceives rhythm, text and dance as forms of creative work that collectively reflect and comment about their identities. Diverse voices come together in a cultural dialogue that includes both traditional and contemporary elements of Black music. The structure and script of the film is based on the edutainment concept created by hip hop artist KRS-One. Also involved are members of the group R.I.S.E. (Reaching Intelligent Souls Everywhere), who organize a weekly poetry slam in suburban community institutions in Toronto.

by
Bárbara Wagner
Benjamin de Burca

Brazil / USA / Canada 2018

English

Documentary form
20’ · Colour · 2K DCP

With

Chantal Rose
Michie Mee
Dynesti Williams
Duke Redbird
Nathan Baya
Randell Adjei

Crew

Director
Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin de Burca
Screenplay
Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin de Burca, Emelie Chhangur
Director of Photography
Pedro Sotero
Editing
Benjamin de Burca, Bárbara Wagner
Music
Nate Smith
Sound Design
Nicolau Domingues
Sound
Matt Beckett
Producers
Emelie Chhangur, Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin de Burca

Biography

Bárbara Wagner

Born in Brasilia, Brazil in 1980, she graduated from the Dutch Art Institute in Arnhem in 2012. Her photographic work focuses on the ‘popular body’ and on how ordinary people present their bodies to a supposedly interested public. Her work has been exhibited around the world, is held in international collections and has been published in monographs. Since 2011 she has been collaborating with Benjamin de Burca. Their work has featured at festivals and in exhibitions including at VideoBrasil, the Panorama de Arte Brasileira and the Biennale, all in São Paulo, and at the 2017 Skulptur Projekte Münster.

Filmography (short films, co-director B. de Burca)

2013 Cinema Casino 2014 Desenho Canteiro (Plan Plat) 2015 Faz que vai (Set to go) 2017 Estás vendo coisas (You are seeing things); Berlinale Shorts · Bye Bye Deutschland! Eine Lebensmelodie (Bye Bye Germany! A Life Melody) · Terremoto Santo (Holy Tremor); Berlinale Shorts 2018 Rise

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Benjamin de Burca

Born in Munich, Germany in 1975, he studied fine art at the Glasgow School of Art and the University of Ulster. Between 2000 and 2006 he worked as an artist with young people involved in gangs in Glasgow and Belfast. From 2006 to 2008 he was co-director of the Catalyst Arts centre in Belfast. His artistic practice encompasses painting, collage, photography, film, video and installation. Since 2011 he has collaborated with Bárbara Wagner and their work has been frequently exhibited internationally. Now both based in Recife, Brazil, their collaborative films Estás vendo coisas and Terremoto Santo screened in the 2017 and 2018 Berlinale Shorts.

Filmography (short films, co-director: B. Wagner)

2013 Cinema Casino 2014 Desenho Canteiro (Plan Plat) 2015 Faz que vai (Set to go) 2017 Estás vendo coisas (You are seeing things); Berlinale Shorts · Bye Bye Deutschland! Eine Lebensmelodie (Bye Bye Germany! A Life Melody) · Terremoto Santo (Holy Tremor); Berlinale Shorts 2018 Rise

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Ponte filmes

Wexner Center for the Arts
wexarts.org/

AGYU – Art Gallery of York University
agyu.art/

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Shorts

Rise

## ## ## ## ## ##

Young, gifted and black! In einem Akt der Selbstermächtigung hat eine Gruppe junger Schwarzer Menschen, hauptsächlich aus der Karibik stammende Immigrant*innen der ersten und zweiten Generation, den öffentlichen Raum der U-Bahn in Toronto okkupiert, um dort ihr Agitprop-Konzept von Edutainment zu performen – Dichter*innen, Rapper*innen, Sänger*innen und Musiker*innen. Die vitale, experimentelle Dokumentation sieht Rhythmus, Text und Tanz als Formen kreativer Arbeit an, die ihre Identitäten kollektiv reflektieren und kommentieren. Unterschiedliche Stimmen finden in einem kulturellen Dialog zusammen, in welchem sowohl traditionelle als auch aktuelle Elemente Schwarzer Musik enthalten sind.
Struktur und Skript des Filmes liegt das Edutainment-Konzept des Hip-Hop-Künstlers KRS-One zugrunde. Ebenfalls beteiligt sind Angehörige der Gruppe R.I.S.E. (Reaching Intelligent Souls Everywhere), die wöchentlich in Toronto in suburbanen Community-Einrichtungen einen Poetry-Slam veranstalten.

von
Bárbara Wagner
Benjamin de Burca

Brasilien / USA / Kanada 2018

Englisch

Dokumentarische Form
20’ · Farbe · 2K DCP

Mit

Chantal Rose
Michie Mee
Dynesti Williams
Duke Redbird
Nathan Baya
Randell Adjei

Stab

Regie
Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin de Burca
Buch
Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin de Burca, Emelie Chhangur
Kamera
Pedro Sotero
Montage
Benjamin de Burca, Bárbara Wagner
Musik
Nate Smith
Sound Design
Nicolau Domingues
Ton
Matt Beckett
Produzenten
Emelie Chhangur, Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin de Burca

Biografie

Bárbara Wagner

Geboren 1980 in Brasília. 2012 Abschluss des Kunststudiums am Dutch Art Institute im niederländischen Arnhem. In ihrem fotografischen Werk beschäftigt sich Wagner damit, wie gewöhnliche Menschen ihren Körper einer vermeintlich interessierten Öffentlichkeit präsentieren. Die Arbeiten wurden international ausgestellt, in Sammlungen aufgenommen und in Monografien veröffentlicht. Seit 2011 Zusammenarbeit mit Benjamin de Burca. Mehrere gemeinsame Teilnahmen bei Festivals und Ausstellungen, unter anderem bei VideoBrasil und Panorama de Arte Brasileira, beide São Paulo, auf der Biennale von São Paulo und bei den Skulptur-Projekten Münster 2017.

Filmografie (Kurzfilme, Co-Regie B. de Burca)

2013 Cinema Casino 2014 Desenho Canteiro (Plan Plat) 2015 Faz que vai (Set to go) 2017 Estás vendo coisas (You are seeing things); Berlinale Shorts · Bye Bye Deutschland! Eine Lebensmelodie (Bye Bye Germany! A Life Melody) · Terremoto Santo (Holy Tremor); Berlinale Shorts 2018 Rise

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Benjamin de Burca

Geboren 1975 in München. Studium der Malerei an der Glasgow School of Art und der University of Ulster. Zwischen 2000 und 2006 künstlerische Beschäftigung mit Jugend- und Gang-Kultur in Glasgow und Belfast. 2006 bis 2008 Co-Direktor des Kulturzentrums Catalyst Arts in Belfast. Seine künstlerische Praxis reicht von Malerei, Collage und Fotografie über Film, Video und Installation. Seit 2011 Zusammenarbeit mit Bárbara Wagner, mit der er mehrfach international ausgestellt hat. 2017 und 2018 waren die in Recife, Brasilien, lebenden Filmemacher mit Estás vendo coisas und Terremoto Santo im Programm der Berlinale Shorts vertreten.

Filmografie (Kurzfilme, Co-Regie B. Wagner)

2013 Cinema Casino 2014 Desenho Canteiro (Plan Plat) 2015 Faz que vai (Set to go) 2017 Estás vendo coisas (You are seeing things); Berlinale Shorts · Bye Bye Deutschland! Eine Lebensmelodie (Bye Bye Germany! A Life Melody) · Terremoto Santo (Holy Tremor); Berlinale Shorts 2018 Rise

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Ponte filmes

Wexner Center for the Arts
wexarts.org/

AGYU – Art Gallery of York University
agyu.art/