Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum

Oufsaiyed Elkhortoum

Khartoum Offside

## ## ## ## ## ##

Among the protagonists of Marwa Zein's documentary, Sara is the one depicted with a remarkable entrepreneurial mind. And the group of young sporty women she belongs to is very much in need of business models to make their dream come true: putting together a Sudanese team for the FIFA Women’s World Cup. But besides lack of finances, there are quite a lot of other obstacles to overcome. Oufsaiyed Elkhortoum explores this feminist universe on the outskirts of Sudan's capital, where jokes are cracked as versatile as the ball is kicked into the goal. The young women, with and without veil play football, take their smartphones to bed: they are bond by street smarts and staggering energy which have brought them together as a sports team that doubles up as a collective survival strategy. Demonstrating considerable intimacy with these women, Oufsaiyed Elkhortoum reveals their daily lives in a city full of contradictions, showing how family traditions, politics and religion dare to dictate their life plans. Marwa Zein’s debut is at once cinematic proof of the power of female friendship and a Sudanese filmmaker’s concerted effort to rectify stereotypical perceptions of her country.

by
Marwa Zein

Sudan / Norway / Denmark 2019

Arabic

Documentary form
75’ · Colour

World premiere

Crew

Written and directed by
Marwa Zein
Director of Photography
Marwa Zein
Editing
Mohammed Emad Rizq
Music
Tunde Jegede
Sound Design
Sara Kaddouri
Sound
Marcel Knuth
Producers
Marwa Zein, ORE Productions, Henrik Underbjerg, Stray Dog Productions, Kopenhagen & Oslo

Biography

Marwa Zein

Born in Saudi Arabia in 1985. She studied Film Directing. In 2009, she participated in the Berlinale Talent Campus. Since 2014, Marwa Zein has worked as a programmer for the Sudan Independent Film Festival in Khartoum. She lives in Sudan and Germany, and since 2018 has been studying at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne.

Filmography

2008 Randa; 16 min. 2010 A Game; 7 min. 2014 Culture for All; 13 min. 2015 What a Lover Can Be?!; 10 min. 2017 One Week, Two Days; 20 min. · Fontainebleau; 5 min. 2019 Oufsaiyed Elkhortoum (Khartoum Offside)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

ORE Productions

Stray Dog Productions
straydogproductions.org/

Stray Dog Productions
straydogproductions.org

World sales

ORE Productions

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Oufsaiyed Elkhortoum

Khartoum Offside

## ## ## ## ## ##

Sara hat einen bemerkenswerten Unternehmergeist. Und die Gruppe junger Frauen, zu der sie gehört, ist auf Geschäftsideen angewiesen, wenn sie ihren Traum verwirklichen wollen: ein sudanesisches Team für die Frauenfußball-Weltmeisterschaft aufzubauen. Abgesehen von knappen Finanzen gibt es jedoch viele andere Hürden zu nehmen. Oufsaiyed Elkhortoum erkundet ein feministisches Universum am Stadtrand der sudanesischen Hauptstadt, in dem Witze so elegant gerissen wie Bälle ins Tor gekickt werden. Die jungen Frauen – mit Schleier oder ohne, spielen Fußball, nehmen ihre Mobiltelefone mit ins Bett und haben sich city-smart und mit umwerfender Energie als sportliches Team zu einer Überlebensgemeinschaft formiert. In großer Vertrautheit mit den Akteurinnen erzählt Oufsaiyed Elkhortoum von ihrem Alltag in einer Stadt voller Widersprüche und davon, wie Familientraditionen, Politik und Religion sich anmaßen, ihre Lebensentwürfe zu bestimmen. Das Debüt von Marwa Zein ist ein kinematografischer Beweis für die Kraft von Freundschaften unter Frauen und zugleich die gezielte Intervention einer sudanesischen Filmemacherin wider die stereotype Wahrnehmung ihres Landes.

von
Marwa Zein

Sudan / Norwegen / Dänemark 2019

Arabisch

Dokumentarische Form
75’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Stab

Regie, Buch
Marwa Zein
Kamera
Marwa Zein
Montage
Mohammed Emad Rizq
Musik
Tunde Jegede
Sound Design
Sara Kaddouri
Ton
Marcel Knuth
Produzenten
Marwa Zein, ORE Productions, Henrik Underbjerg, Stray Dog Productions, Kopenhagen & Oslo

Biografie

Marwa Zein

Geboren 1985 in Saudi-Arabien, studierte Filmregie. 2009 nahm sie am Berlinale Talent Campus teil. Seit 2014 arbeitet Marwa Zein als Programmkuratorin für das Sudan Independent Film Festival in Khartoum. Sie lebt im Sudan und in Deutschland, wo sie seit 2018 an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln studiert.

Filmografie

2008 Randa; 16 Min. 2010 A Game; 7 Min. 2014 Culture for All; 13 Min. 2015 What a Lover Can Be?!; 10 Min. 2017 One Week, Two Days; 20 Min. · Fontainebleau; 5 Min. 2019 Oufsaiyed Elkhortoum (Khartoum Offside)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

ORE Productions

Stray Dog Productions
straydogproductions.org/

Stray Dog Productions
straydogproductions.org

Weltvertrieb

ORE Productions