Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama 40

Fear of Disclosure

## ## ##

This was the first film to specifically address the difficulties in relationships between HIV-positive and HIV-negative men. Two go-go dancers assess each other’s mortality while the world rotates and a gay man reflects on the psychosocial consequences of the disclosure of his HIV infection. Video images caught in a loop of restless perseverance. A feverish attempt to make a film to battle the shock that the AIDS crisis presented to a vibrant sexuality. Resolutely, the directors expose the corrosion of desire as a result of the fear of rejection.
Along with the documentary Self-Portrait in 23 Rounds: a Chapter in David Wojnarowicz's Life, 1989–1991 by Marion Scemama, the film complements the exhibition “David Wojnarowicz: Photography & Film 1978-1992” that begins during the Berlinale at the KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin.

by
Phil Zwickler
David Wojnarowicz

USA 1989

English

Documentary form
5’ · Colour · 16 mm

Crew

Written and directed by
Phil Zwickler, David Wojnarowicz
Director of Photography
Phil Zwickler, David Wojnarowicz
Editing
Phil Zwickler, David Wojnarowicz
Producer
Phil Zwickler

Biography

Phil Zwickler

Born in Alexandra, Virginia, USA in 1954, he grew up in Brooklyn, New York and graduated with an honours degree in English literature. He was a filmmaker, journalist and musician who primarily produced educational videos for television, public departments and private initiatives. He also worked for the People With AIDS Coalition Newsline in New York. He died in 1991 at the age of 36.

Filmography (selection)

1987 Rights and Reactions: Lesbian & Gay Rights on Trial; co-director: Jane Lippman; documentary; Panorama 1989 Positive; director: Rosa von Praunheim; collaboration; documentary; Panorama · Silence = Death; director: Rosa von Praunheim; collaboration; documentary; Panorama · Fear of Disclosure; co-director: David Wojnarowicz; Panorama 1991 Needle Nightmares

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

David Wojnarowicz

Born in Red Bank, New Jersey, USA in 1954, he died in New York in 1992. He abandoned his studies at the High School of Performing Arts in New York and spent time as a farmer on the Canadian border. In the 1970s, he became known as an artist in New York's cultural scene. He made Super 8 films, painted, photographed, was a member of the band 3 Teens Kill 4 and wrote several books. In the early 1980s, he met photographer Peter Hujar and devoted himself increasingly to the visual arts. His work has been shown in cities including New York, Paris, Busan and London, and has been the subject of a number of retrospectives. In 1993, he was posthumously awarded the Lambda Literary Award for his final book, 'Memories That Smell Like Gasoline'.

Filmography (selection)

1981 Heroin; short film 1985 Where Evil Dwells; co-director: Tommy Turner; short film 1986 A Fire in My Belly; 1986-87; short film; work in progress 1987 Around Clown; co-director: Steve Doughton; short film · Death of Peter Hujar; 1987-88; short film; unfinished 1988 Beautiful People; in collaboration with Jesse Hultberg; short film 1989 Fear of Disclosure; co-director: Phil Zwickler; short film; Panorama · ITSOFOMO (in the shadow of forward motion); 1989-91; co-director: Ben Neill, short film 1991 Bust; co-director: Richard Morrison; short film; Panorama

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Tapestry International

World sales

Phil Zwickler Charitable and Memorial Foundation Trust
www.pzfoundation.org

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama 40

Fear of Disclosure

## ## ##

Der erste Film, der sich dezidiert mit den Schwierigkeiten der Beziehungen zwischen HIV-positiven und HIV-negativen Männern beschäftigte. Zwei Go-Go-Tänzer taxieren einander in ihrer Sterblichkeit, während die Welt rotiert und ein schwuler Mann die psychosozialen Folgen der Offenbarung seiner HIV-Infektion reflektiert. Videobilder, die sich mit ruheloser Beharrlichkeit in einem Loop verfangen. Ein fieberhafter Versuch, gegen die Erschütterung anzufilmen, die die Aids-Krise für eine lebendige Sexualität bedeutete. Resolut exponieren die Regisseure die Korrosion des Begehrens durch die Angst vor Zurückweisung.
Gemeinsam mit Self-Portrait in 23 Rounds: a Chapter in David Wojnarowicz's Life, 1989–1991 von Marion Scemama verweist der Film auf die parallel zur Berlinale eröffnende Ausstellung in den Kunst-Werken Berlin – KW Institute for Contemporary Art: „David Wojnarowicz: Fotografie & Film 1978-1992“.

von
Phil Zwickler
David Wojnarowicz

USA 1989

Englisch

Dokumentarische Form
5’ · Farbe · 16 mm

Stab

Regie, Buch
Phil Zwickler, David Wojnarowicz
Kamera
Phil Zwickler, David Wojnarowicz
Montage
Phil Zwickler, David Wojnarowicz
Produzent
Phil Zwickler

Biografie

Phil Zwickler

Geboren 1954 in Alexandra, Virginia, und aufgewachsen in Brooklyn, New York. Sein Studium der englischen Literatur schloss er mit Auszeichnung ab. Er war Filmemacher, Journalist und Musiker und produzierte hauptsächlich Lehrvideos für das Fernsehen, Behörden und private Initiativen. Außerdem arbeitete er für die „People with Aids Coalition Newsline“ in New York. Er starb 1991 im Alter von 36 Jahren.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1987 Rights and Reactions: Lesbian & Gay Rights on Trial; Co-Regie: Jane Lippman; Dokumentarfilm; Panorama 1989 Positive; Regie: Rosa von Praunheim; Kollaboration; Dokumentarfilm; Panorama · Silence = Death; Regie: Rosa von Praunheim; Kollaboration; Dokumentarfilm; Panorama · Fear of Disclosure; Co-Regie: David Wojnarowicz; Panorama 1991 Needle Nightmares

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

David Wojnarowicz

Geboren 1954 in Red Bank, New Jersey, gestorben 1992 in New York. Sein Studium an der High School of Performing Arts in New York brach er ab und lebte einige Zeit als Farmer an der Grenze zu Kanada. Wurde in den 1970er-Jahren als Künstler in der New Yorker Kulturszene bekannt. Er drehte Super-8-Filme, malte, fotografierte, war Mitglied in der Band 3 Teens Kill 4 und schrieb mehrere Bücher. Anfang der 1980er-Jahre lernte er den Fotografen Peter Hujar kennen und widmete sich vermehrt der visuellen Kunst. Seine Arbeiten wurden unter anderem in New York, Paris, Busan und London gezeigt, und ihm wurden mehrere Retrospektiven gewidmet. Wojnarowicz' letztes Buch „Memories That Smell Like Gasoline“ wurde posthum 1993 mit dem Lambda Literary Award ausgezeichnet.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1981 Heroin; Kurzfilm 1985 Where Evil Dwells; Co-Regie: Tommy Turner; Kurzfilm 1986 A Fire in My Belly; 1986-87; Kurzfilm; Work in Progress 1987 Around Clown; Co-Regie: Steve Doughton; Kurzfilm · Death of Peter Hujar; 1987-88; Kurzfilm, unvollendet 1988 Beautiful People; in Zusammenarbeit mit Jesse Hultberg; Kurzfilm 1989 Fear of Disclosure; Co-Regie: Phil Zwickler; Kurzfilm; Panorama · ITSOFOMO (in the shadow of forward motion); 1989-91; Co-Regie: Ben Neill; Kurzfilm 1991 Bust; Co-Regie: Richard Morrison; Kurzfilm; Panorama

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Tapestry International

Weltvertrieb

Phil Zwickler Charitable and Memorial Foundation Trust
www.pzfoundation.org