Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Competition (out of competition)

Marighella

Bruno Gagliasso (Actor), Humberto Carrão (Actor), Wagner Moura (Director, Screenwriter,Producer), Seu Jorge (Actor), Bel Berlinck (Producer), Andrea Barata Ribeiro (Producer)

Moderation: Jenni Zylka

Press Conference at full length
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

‘Are you a Maoist, a Trotskyist or a Leninist?’ Carlos Marighella has only one answer to this question from a French journalist: ‘I’m a Brazilian’. After the coup d’état that swept a legitimately elected government out of office in 1964 and brought a military dictatorship to power, Marighella led a group of young men and women into armed resistance. Born in 1911, this writer and politician was a successor of Latin American revolutionaries such as Zapata and Sandino – and not least Che Guevara, whose assassination in October 1967 provided the impetus for Marighella’s own struggle against oppression.
This film follows his life between 1964 and his violent death in November 1969. His attempts to convince the population of the necessity of the uprising is pitted against the omnipotence of the state censor which does everything in its power to marginalise the resistance. His commitment to dignity and justice leads to violence and terror. Before long, Marighella is regarded as public enemy number one. A commando under the leadership of a brutal officer named Lúcio is hot on his heels. A drama that is a parable of the present.

by
Wagner Moura

Brazil 2019

Portuguese

155’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Seu Jorge (Marighella)
Adriana Esteves (Clara)
Bruno Gagliasso (Lúcio)
Luiz Carlos Vasconcelos (Luiz Carlos)
Humberto Carrão (Humberto)
Jorge Paz (Jorge)
Bella Camero (Bella)
Herson Capri (Jorge Salles)
Henrique Vieira (Frei Henrique)
Ana Paula Bouzas (Maria)

Crew

Director
Wagner Moura
Screenplay
Felipe Braga, Wagner Moura
Director of Photography
Adrian Teijido
Editing
Lucas Gonzaga
Music
Antonio Pinto
Sound Design
Alessandro Laroca, Eduardo Virmond Lima, Renan Deodato
Sound
George Saldanha
Production Design
Frederico Pinto
Costumes
Verônica Julian
Make-up
Martin Macías Trujillo
Assistant Director
Rafael Salgado
Casting
Fátima Toledo
Line Producer
Cristina Abi
Producers
Bel Berlinck, Andrea Barata Ribeiro, Fernando Meirelles, Wagner Moura

Biography

Wagner Moura

Born in Salvador, Brazil in 1976, the actor starred in José Padilha’s film Tropa de elite (The Elite Squad) which won the Golden Bear at the 2008 Berlinale. He was nominated for a Golden Globe for his performance as Pablo Escobar in the Netflix series Narcos. As a Goodwill Ambassador for the United Nation’s International Labour Organization, he supports the global campaign to end modern slavery. In 2018, he produced the film Sergio, in which he also starred. Marighella is his directorial debut.

Filmography (as director)

2019 Marighella

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

O2 Filmes

World sales

Elle Driver
www.elledriver.fr

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb (außer Konkurrenz)

Marighella

Bruno Gagliasso (Schauspieler), Humberto Carrão (Schauspieler), Wagner Moura (Regisseur, Drehbuchautor, Produzent), Seu Jorge (Schauspieler), Bel Berlinck (Produzentin), Andrea Barata Ribeiro (Produzentin)

Moderation: Jenni Zylka

Pressekonferenz in voller Länge
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

„Sind Sie Maoist, Trotzkist oder Leninist?“ Auf diese Frage eines französischen Journalisten kennt Carlos Marighella nur eine Antwort: „Ich bin Brasilianer.“ Nach dem Staatsstreich, der 1964 eine legitim gewählte Regierung aus dem Amt fegte und einer Militärdiktatur an die Macht verhalf, führte Marighella eine Gruppe junger Kämpfer*innen in den bewaffneten Widerstand. Der 1911 geborene Schriftsteller und Politiker stand in der Nachfolge lateinamerikanischer Revolutionäre wie Zapata und Sandino – und nicht zuletzt von Che Guevara, dessen Ermordung im Oktober 1967 für Marighella das Startsignal für den eigenen Kampf gegen die Unterdrückung bedeutete.
Der Film verfolgt sein Leben zwischen 1964 und seinem gewaltsamen Tod im November 1969. Den Versuchen, das Volk von der Notwendigkeit des Aufstands zu überzeugen, steht die Allmacht der Zensur entgegen, die alles daransetzt, den Widerstand zu marginalisieren. Der Einsatz für Würde und Gerechtigkeit mündet in Gewalt und Terror, Marighella gilt bald als Staatsfeind Nummer eins. Das Kommando unter der Führung des brutalen Offiziers Lúcio ist ihm dicht auf den Fersen. Eine Parabel auf die Gegenwart.

von
Wagner Moura

Brasilien 2019

Portugiesisch

155’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Seu Jorge (Marighella)
Adriana Esteves (Clara)
Bruno Gagliasso (Lúcio)
Luiz Carlos Vasconcelos (Luiz Carlos)
Humberto Carrão (Humberto)
Jorge Paz (Jorge)
Bella Camero (Bella)
Herson Capri (Jorge Salles)
Henrique Vieira (Frei Henrique)
Ana Paula Bouzas (Maria)

Stab

Regie
Wagner Moura
Buch
Felipe Braga, Wagner Moura
Kamera
Adrian Teijido
Montage
Lucas Gonzaga
Musik
Antonio Pinto
Sound Design
Alessandro Laroca, Eduardo Virmond Lima, Renan Deodato
Ton
George Saldanha
Production Design
Frederico Pinto
Kostüm
Verônica Julian
Maske
Martin Macías Trujillo
Regieassistenz
Rafael Salgado
Casting
Fátima Toledo
Herstellungsleitung
Cristina Abi
Produzenten
Bel Berlinck, Andrea Barata Ribeiro, Fernando Meirelles, Wagner Moura

Biografie

Wagner Moura

Geboren 1976 in Salvador, Brasilien. Als Schauspieler war er in José Padilhas Film Tropa de elite zu sehen, der 2008 mit dem Goldenen Bären für den Besten Film ausgezeichnet wurde. Für seine Darstellung des Pablo Escobar in der Netflix-Serie Narcos wurde er für einen Golden Globe nominiert. Als Sonderbotschafter der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation (ILO) setzt er sich gegen neue Formen von Zwangsarbeit ein. 2018 produzierte er den Film Sergio, in dem er auch die Hauptrolle übernahm. Marighella ist sein Regiedebüt.

Filmografie (als Regisseur)

2019 Marighella

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

O2 Filmes

Weltvertrieb

Elle Driver
www.elledriver.fr