Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

Flatland

Alexandra Hoesdorff (Producer), Roshanak Behesht Nedjad (Producer), David Horler (Producer), Izel Bezuidenhout (Actress), Faith Baloyi (Actress), Jenna Bass (Director, Screenwriter)

Moderation: Margarita Tsomou

Press Conference at full length
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Natalie’s wedding night ends up being a nightmare. First, the women of the family put the screws on, and then ‘no’ in the marriage bed suddenly doesn’t mean no anymore. Natalie hides in a barn, a shot is fired and she flees. First on horseback, then by car across country with her pregnant friend Poppie in tow. Policewoman Beauty Cuba is soon hot on their heels. She’s trying to solve a murder case but a phone call throws her back into the past.
Director Jenna Bass cleverly weaves the stories of three women into an unusual, fast-paced road movie. The film’s lush imagery takes us on a journey through the sun-drenched hinterland of a divided country. Part police thriller, part emancipation story and part social drama, Bass’ film once again buries the myth of South Africa’s ‘rainbow nation’ where skin colour, gender and social status actually continue to play an important role. While private melodramas spool out in the TV soaps that are on in the background, a very real story of female self-empowerment and solidarity unfolds.

by
Jenna Bass

South Africa / Luxembourg / Germany 2019

Afrikaans, English

117’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Faith Baloyi (Beauty Cuba)
Nicole Fortuin (Natalie Jonkers)
Izel Bezuidenhout (Poppie Van Niekerk)
De Klerk Oelofse (Bakkies Bezuidenhout)
Eric Nobbs (Jaap Bezuidenhout)
Brendon Daniels (Billy Duiker)
Clayton Evertson (Branko)
Albert Pretorius (Theunis)
Kim Goncalves (Sanie Van Niekerk)
Maurice Carpede (Reverend Salmon)

Crew

Written and directed by
Jenna Bass
Director of Photography
Sarah Cunningham
Editing
Jacques De Villiers
Music
Bao-Tran Tran
Sound Design
James Olivier
Sound
Jade Hill
Production Design
Sara Hartinger
Costumes
Chantell Lungiswa Joe
Make-up
Babalwa Djieutcheu
Casting
Belinda Kruger
Assistant Director
Cathy Poole
Production Manager
Valentia Fisher
Producers
David Horler, Désirée Nosbusch, Alexandra Hoesdorff, Roshanak Behesht Nedjad
Executive Producer
Karen Horler
Co-producer
Titus Kreyenberg
Co-production
unafilm, Köln

Biography

Jenna Bass

Born in London, UK in 1986, she grew up in South Africa where she now lives. She is a filmmaker who graduated from the AFDA Film School in Cape Town. Her short film The Tunnel screened at the 2010 Berlinale, her debut feature Love the One You Love was presented at numerous international festivals. High Fantasy premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival in 2017 and screened in Generation in 2018. Together with Wanuri Kahiu, she co-wrote the coming-of-age romance Rafiki which premiered in Cannes in 2018.

Filmography

2010 The Tunnel; short film, Berlinale Shorts 2014 Love the One You Love 2017 High Fantasy; Generation

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

World sales

The Match Factory
www.the-match-factory.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Flatland

Alexandra Hoesdorff (Produzentin), Roshanak Behesht Nedjad (Produzentin), David Horler (Produzent), Izel Bezuidenhout (Schauspielerin), Faith Baloyi (Schauspielerin), Jenna Bass (Regisseurin, Drehbuchautorin)

Moderation: Margarita Tsomou

Pressekonferenz in voller Länge
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Die Hochzeitsnacht endet für Natalie in einem Albtraum. Erst bauen die Frauen der Familie Druck auf, dann heißt Nein im Ehebett plötzlich nicht mehr Nein. Natalie versteckt sich in einer Scheune, ein Schuss fällt und sie flieht. Erst zu Pferd, dann zusammen mit ihrer schwangeren Freundin Poppie per Auto durchs Land. Bald ist ihnen die Polizistin Beauty Cuba auf den Fersen. Sie will eigentlich einen Mordfall aufklären und wird außerdem durch einen Anruf in die Vergangenheit zurückgeworfen.
Clever und temporeich montiert Regisseurin Jenna Bass die Geschichten dreier Frauen zu einem ungewöhnlichen Roadmovie. In satten Bildern führt sie durch das sonnendurchtränkte Hinterland eines gespaltenen Landes. Irgendwo zwischen Polizeithriller, Emanzipationsgeschichte und Gesellschaftsdrama beerdigt sie dabei ein weiteres Mal den Mythos von der südafrikanischen „Rainbow Nation“. Hautfarbe, Geschlecht und sozialer Status spielen hier nach wie vor eine große Rolle. Während sich in nebenbei laufenden Soap-Operas private Melodramen abspielen, entfaltet sich eine ganz reale Geschichte um weibliche Selbstermächtigung und Solidarität.

von
Jenna Bass

Südafrika / Luxemburg / Deutschland 2019

Afrikaans, Englisch

117’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Faith Baloyi (Beauty Cuba)
Nicole Fortuin (Natalie Jonkers)
Izel Bezuidenhout (Poppie Van Niekerk)
De Klerk Oelofse (Bakkies Bezuidenhout)
Eric Nobbs (Jaap Bezuidenhout)
Brendon Daniels (Billy Duiker)
Clayton Evertson (Branko)
Albert Pretorius (Theunis)
Kim Goncalves (Sanie Van Niekerk)
Maurice Carpede (Pfarrer Salmon)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Jenna Bass
Kamera
Sarah Cunningham
Montage
Jacques De Villiers
Musik
Bao-Tran Tran
Sound Design
James Olivier
Ton
Jade Hill
Production Design
Sara Hartinger
Kostüm
Chantell Lungiswa Joe
Maske
Babalwa Djieutcheu
Casting
Belinda Kruger
Regieassistenz
Cathy Poole
Production Manager
Valentia Fisher
Produzenten
David Horler, Désirée Nosbusch, Alexandra Hoesdorff, Roshanak Behesht Nedjad
Ausführender Produzent
Karen Horler
Co-Produzent
Titus Kreyenberg
Co-Produktion
unafilm, Köln

Biografie

Jenna Bass

Geboren 1986 in London, aufgewachsen in Südafrika, wo sie auch lebt. Die Filmemacherin ist Absolventin der AFDA Film School in Kapstadt und war bereits 2010 mit ihrem Kurzfilm The Tunnel Gast der Berlinale. Ihr Debütfilm Love the One You Love wurde auf zahlreichen internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt. High Fantasy feierte 2017 auf dem Toronto International Film Festival Premiere und wurde 2018 bei Generation gezeigt. Gemeinsam mit Wanuri Kahiu schrieb sie das Drehbuch zum Coming-of-Age-Film Rafiki, der 2018 in Cannes Premiere feierte.

Filmografie

2010 The Tunnel; Kurzfilm, Berlinale Shorts 2014 Love the One You Love 2017 High Fantasy; Generation

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Weltvertrieb

The Match Factory
www.the-match-factory.com