Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama Dokumente

A Dog Called Money

## ## ## ## ## ##

A child curiously presses its face against the window of a car in which British musician PJ Harvey and photojournalist and filmmaker Seamus Murphy are sitting. They are in Kabul, Afghanistan, one of three destinations to which they are travelling; the others are Kosovo and Washington, D.C. Harvey is searching for inspiration; collecting impressions and words, observing, listening and absorbing. Her thoughts can be heard in voice-over. Hers is the chronicle of a stranger whose attentive gaze is directed towards the reality of everyday life in the places she visits. Inspiration turns into poetry, which gives rise to songs for her album ‘The Hope Six Demolition Project’. Back in London, Harvey records these songs with her band in a purpose-built studio which serves as a kind of peepshow, its one-way window allowing interested audiences to observe the process.
Seamus Murphy transposes Harvey’s search for inspirational material and her intimate creative process into an impressively poetic montage that never once divests the musician of her enigmatic aura. A Dog Called Money merges the filmmaker’s and the musician’s visions in an extraordinary symbiosis.

by
Seamus Murphy

Ireland / Great Britain 2019

English

Documentary form
90’ · Colour

World premiere

With

PJ Harvey

Crew

Written and directed by
Seamus Murphy
Director of Photography
Seamus Murphy
Editing
Sebastian Gollek
Music
Polly Jean Harvey
Sound Design
Brendan Rehill
Sound
Seamus Murphy
Producers
Isabel Davis, Katie Holly, James Wilson, Seamus Murphy
Co-producer
Evan Horan

Biography

Seamus Murphy

Born in the UK in 1959, he is a photographer, filmmaker and author. His photographic work has been exhibited in the Getty Museum in Los Angeles, the Imperial War Museum in London, at Stanford University and at FRAC Auvergne. His film A Darkness Visible, documenting his work as a photographer in Afghanistan, was nominated for an Emmy Award. Having made music videos for musician PJ Harvey, he continued their collaboration with the book “The Hollow of the Hand”.

Filmography

2011 12 Short Films for PJ Harvey's Let England Shake; short film · A Darkness Visible: Afghanistan; short film 2012 Went the Games Well?; short film · Snake; short film 2013 Home is Another Place; short film 2014 Bagram; short film · Sons of Stonecutter Street; short film 2016 The Hope Six Demolition Project; short film

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

JW Films

World sales

Autlook Filmsales
www.autlookfilms.com/

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama Dokumente

A Dog Called Money

## ## ## ## ## ##

Ein Kindergesicht drückt sich neugierig an die Fensterscheibe eines Autos, in dem die britische Musikerin PJ Harvey und der Fotojournalist und Filmemacher Seamus Murphy sitzen. Sie sind in Kabul, Afghanistan, einer von drei Stationen, die sie neben dem Kosovo und Washington D.C. bereisen. Harvey ist auf der Suche nach Inspiration, sammelt Eindrücke und Worte, beobachtet, lauscht, nimmt auf. Ihre Gedanken sind im Voice-over zu hören. Es ist die Chronik einer Fremden, deren aufmerksamer Blick sich auf Alltag und Realität an den von ihr bereisten Orten richtet. Aus Inspiration werden Gedichte, aus denen Songs für ihr Album „The Hope Six Demolition Project“ entstehen. In einem eigens erbauten Studio in London spielt PJ Harvey die Songs mit ihrer Band ein. Das Studio fungiert als Guckkasten, durch dessen Einwegfenster interessiertes Publikum den Vorgang beobachten kann.
Seamus Murphy übersetzt die Spurensuche und den intimen künstlerischen Prozess, den die Musikerin durchläuft, in poetische, beeindruckend montierte Bilder, ohne ihr jemals ihre enigmatische Aura zu nehmen. Die Vision des Künstlers und der Künstlerin verbinden sich in A Dog Called Money zu einer außergewöhnlichen Symbiose.

von
Seamus Murphy

Irland / Großbritannien 2019

Englisch

Dokumentarische Form
90’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

PJ Harvey

Stab

Regie, Buch
Seamus Murphy
Kamera
Seamus Murphy
Montage
Sebastian Gollek
Musik
Polly Jean Harvey
Sound Design
Brendan Rehill
Ton
Seamus Murphy
Produzenten
Isabel Davis, Katie Holly, James Wilson, Seamus Murphy
Co-Produzent
Evan Horan

Biografie

Seamus Murphy

Der Fotograf, Filmemacher und Autor wurde 1959 in Großbritannien geboren. Seine fotografischen Arbeiten wurden im Getty Museum Los Angeles, im Imperial War Museum, London, in der Stanford University und im FRAC Auvergne ausgestellt. Sein Film A Darkness Visible, in dem er seine Arbeit als Fotograf in Afghanistan dokumentierte, wurde für einen Emmy nominiert. Mit der Musikerin PJ Harvey arbeitete er an Musikvideos und dem Buch „The Hollow of the Hand“ zusammen.

Filmografie

2011 12 Short Films for PJ Harvey's Let England Shake; Kurzfilm · A Darkness Visible: Afghanistan; Kurzfilm 2012 Went the Games Well?; Kurzfilm · Snake; Kurzfilm 2013 Home is Another Place; Kurzfilm 2014 Bagram; Kurzfilm · Sons of Stonecutter Street; Kurzfilm 2016 The Hope Six Demolition Project; Kurzfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

JW Films

Weltvertrieb

Autlook Filmsales
www.autlookfilms.com/