Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama Dokumente

Western Arabs

## ## ## ## ## ##

Omar Shargawi wants to understand his father Munir better. In temperate Denmark, Palestinian Munir’s fiery, aggressive nature is frowned upon. Although Omar’s father has lived in Copenhagen for a long time and is married to a Danish woman, he has not really settled in this society. Moreover, he has passed on his trauma of war and expulsion to his sons. But Omar does not want to be like Munir and, as the father of a daughter, he is anxious to avoid replicating his dad’s pattern of behaviour.
Shot over a period of twelve years, this film is an unsparing examination by the filmmaker of both his fraught relationship with his father and the latter’s influence on his own identity as a man. In order to get closer to his father, Omar Shargawi has often cast him as an actor in his feature films. Raised in a family in which violence and aggression are seen as means of solving problems, Shargawi directs action films and thrillers. While working with his father, the film scripts dictate the dialogue that is repressed at home. Western Arabs closely intertwines documentary material and scenes from these feature films.

by
Omar Shargawi

Denmark / Netherlands 2019

Danish, English, Arabic

Documentary form
77’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Omar Shargawi
Munir Shargawi

Crew

Director
Omar Shargawi
Director of Photography
Omar Shargawi, Aske Foss
Editing
Thomas Papapetros
Music
Anders 'AC' Christensen
Sound Design
Ranko Paukovic
Producers
Eva Jakobsen, Katrin Pors, Mikkel Jersin
Co-producers
Frank Hoeve, Katja Draaijer
Co-production
Baldr Film, Amsterdam

Biography

Omar Shargawi

Born in Denmark in 1974 to a Danish mother and a Palestinian father, he initially worked as a stills photographer and taught himself filmmaking. His debut feature, Gå med fred Jamil – Ma salama Jamil (Go with Peace Jamil), won awards at festivals including Rotterdam, Göteborg and Transylvania. His documentary Fra Haifa til Nørrebro (My Father from Haifa) won two awards at the Dubai International Film Festival. In 2012, he received the Nordisk Film Award.

Filmography

2008 Gå med fred Jamil – Ma salama Jamil (Go with Peace Jamil) 2010 Fra Haifa til Nørrebro (My Father from Haifa); documentary 2011 1/2 revolution; documentary 2015 Al Medina

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

World sales

Rise and Shine World Sales
www.riseandshine-berlin.de

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama Dokumente

Western Arabs

## ## ## ## ## ##

Omar Shargawi will seinen Vater Munir besser verstehen. Im moderaten Dänemark ist die aufbrausende, aggressive Art des Palästinensers verpönt. Obwohl der Vater schon lange in Kopenhagen lebt und mit einer Dänin verheiratet ist, ist er nicht wirklich in der Gesellschaft angekommen. Sein Trauma von Krieg und Vertreibung hat er an seine Söhne weitergereicht. Doch Omar will nicht so werden wie Munir. Als Vater einer Tochter will er dessen Verhaltensmuster nicht wiederholen.
Über einen Zeitraum von zwölf Jahren hinweg gedreht, ist der Film eine schonungslos persönliche Auseinandersetzung des Regisseurs mit der schwierigen Beziehung zu seinem Vater und dessen Einfluss auf sein eigenes Selbstverständnis als Mann. Um dem Vater näherzukommen, hat Omar Shargawi ihn als Schauspieler in seinen Spielfilmen eingesetzt. Aufgewachsen in einer Familie, in der Gewalt und Aggression als Mittel der Problemlösung gelten, arbeitet er in den Genres Action und Thriller. Während der Arbeit mit dem Vater diktieren die Drehbücher den Dialog, den dieser zu Hause verweigert. In Western Arabs werden dokumentarisches Material und Szenen aus diesen Spielfilmen dicht miteinander verwoben.

von
Omar Shargawi

Dänemark / Niederlande 2019

Dänisch, Englisch, Arabisch

Dokumentarische Form
77’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Omar Shargawi
Munir Shargawi

Stab

Regie
Omar Shargawi
Kamera
Omar Shargawi, Aske Foss
Montage
Thomas Papapetros
Musik
Anders 'AC' Christensen
Sound Design
Ranko Paukovic
Produzenten
Eva Jakobsen, Katrin Pors, Mikkel Jersin
Co-Produzenten
Frank Hoeve, Katja Draaijer
Co-Produktion
Baldr Film, Amsterdam

Biografie

Omar Shargawi

Der Sohn einer dänischen Mutter und eines palästinensischen Vaters wurde 1974 in Dänemark geboren. Er arbeitete zunächst als Standfotograf und eignete sich das Filmemachen autodidaktisch an. Sein Spielfilmdebüt, Gå med fred Jamil – Ma salama Jamil (Go with Peace Jamil), wurde u. a. auf den Festivals in Rotterdam, Göteborg und Transsilvanien ausgezeichnet. Der Dokumentarfilm Fra Haifa til Nørrebro (My Father from Haifa) über seinen Vater, der als Kind aus Palästina floh, wurde auf dem Dubai International Film Festival zweifach ausgezeichnet. 1/2 Revolution über den arabischen Frühling lief u. a. beim Sundance Film Festival 2012 wurde er mit dem Nordisk Film Award ausgezeichnet.

Filmografie

2008 Gå med fred Jamil – Ma salama Jamil (Go with Peace Jamil) 2010 Fra Haifa til Nørrebro (My Father from Haifa); Dokumentarfilm 2011 1/2 revolution; Dokumentarfilm 2015 Al Medina

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Weltvertrieb

Rise and Shine World Sales
www.riseandshine-berlin.de