Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Berlin Bouncer

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

The biographies of three legendary bouncers – Frank, Sven and Smiley – are a bit like a map of the paths and detours this divided city has taken in its transformation into a party metropolis. This film chronicles an exciting piece of Berlin’s cultural history – from the time of the fall of the Berlin Wall up to the pulsating present. In the late 1980s, Frank Künster came from West Germany to Berlin, where Smiley Baldwin, an American G.I., was guarding the border to East Berlin and Sven Marquardt, a young punk and photographer on the other side of the Wall, was surprised to see it fall. It was not long before all three found themselves caught up in the city’s wild nightlife of the 1990s, where they soon became the legendary ‘guardians’ of the city’s hippest clubs.
Director David Dietl establishes a special relationship of trust with his three protagonists, all of whom allow him to take a look behind the legends for his film. A real-life story about growing up at the age of 50 and the diversity of our paths through life, appropriately accompanied by the infectiously pounding club sounds which have become a kind of second heartbeat for the protagonists.

by
David Dietl

Germany 2019

German

Documentary form
87’ · Colour & Black/White · 2K DCP

World premiere

Crew

Written and directed by
David Dietl
Director of Photography
Raphael Beinder, Eric Ferranti
Editing
Stefan Oliveira Pita, Laura Heine, Thomas Krause
Music
Basti Schwarz
Sound Design
Gregor Junghans
Producer
Martin Heisler
Co-production
Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg, Berlin

Biography

David Dietl

Born in Los Angeles, USA in 1979, after graduating from high school he gained extensive experience in the film industry before going on to study at the German Film and Television Academy Berlin. He not only directed but also wrote his graduation film and cinema debut, König von Deutschland. In 2016, he directed the television film Ellas Baby, starring Benno Fürmann and Katharina Schüttler. His comedy Rate Your Date will be released in German cinemas in spring 2019.

Filmography

2013 König von Deutschland 2017 Ellas Baby 2019 Berlin Bouncer; documentary

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

World sales

MAGNETFILM
magnetfilm.de/

In collaboration with Arte

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Berlin Bouncer

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Entlang der Biografien der legendären Türsteher Frank, Sven und Smiley offenbaren sich Wege und Umwege in der Entwicklung einer geteilten Stadt zur Partymetropole – ein aufregendes Stück Berliner Kulturgeschichte von der Zeit des Mauerfalls bis in die pulsierende Gegenwart. Frank Künster kam in den späten 1980er-Jahren aus Westdeutschland nach Berlin, wo Smiley Baldwin als amerikanischer G.I. noch die Grenze nach Ostberlin bewachte und Sven Marquardt, jenseits der Mauer, als junger Punk und Fotograf von der Wende überrascht wurde. Es dauerte nicht lange und sie verfingen sich im wilden Berliner Nachtleben der 1990er-Jahre, wo sie bald zu sagenumwobenen "Hütern" der angesagtesten Clubs der Stadt wurden.
Regisseur David Dietl ist es gelungen, ein besonderes Vertrauensverhältnis zu den drei Männern aufzubauen. Für seinen Film durfte er auch hinter die Legenden schauen. Eine dokumentarische Erzählung übers Erwachsenwerden mit 50 und die Vielfalt von Lebensentwürfen, angemessen begleitet von verlockend wummernden Club-Sounds, die für die Protagonisten zu einer Art zweitem Herzschlag geworden sind.

von
David Dietl

Deutschland 2019

Deutsch

Dokumentarische Form
87’ · Farbe & Schwarz-Weiß · 2K DCP

Weltpremiere

Stab

Regie, Buch
David Dietl
Kamera
Raphael Beinder, Eric Ferranti
Montage
Stefan Oliveira Pita, Laura Heine, Thomas Krause
Musik
Basti Schwarz
Sound Design
Gregor Junghans
Produzent
Martin Heisler
Co-Produktion
Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg, Berlin

Biografie

David Dietl

Geboren 1979 in Los Angeles. Nach dem Abitur sammelte er zahlreiche Erfahrungen im Filmgeschäft und studierte anschließend an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin. Bei seinem Abschlussfilm und Kinodebüt, König von Deutschland, war er nicht nur für die Regie, sondern auch für das Drehbuch verantwortlich. 2016 drehte er den Fernsehfilm Ellas Baby mit Benno Fürmann und Katharina Schüttler in den Hauptrollen. Im Frühjahr 2019 startet seine Komödie Rate Your Date in den deutschen Kinos.

Filmografie

2013 König von Deutschland 2017 Ellas Baby 2019 Berlin Bouncer; Dokumentarfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Weltvertrieb

MAGNETFILM
magnetfilm.de/

In Zusammenarbeit mit Arte