Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

The Day After I’m Gone

## ## ## ## ## ##

Yoram is a vet at a safari park in Tel Aviv. A single father, his job is to take care of the wildcats, perform operations on sick animals and make sure that people don’t get out of their cars when they encounter a herd of rhinos. Yoram sees less and less of his teenage daughter, Roni. To her, their dark apartment is a prison she breaks free from more and more frequently, and for increasingly long periods. One night, a team of paramedics appears at their door. Users of an internet forum have alerted them to the fact that Roni has decided to take her own life. After her attempted suicide, the only way out for father and daughter seems to be a trip out of town and back to the family.
Israeli director Nimrod Eldar’s feature-length debut is a story about injured animals, injured people and an injured country. A deceptive silence unfolds in calm and concentrated images. But all is not well beneath the surface and ghosts from the past are reemerging. Gradually, more and more details come to light, both about the relationship between father and daughter and with the rest of the family.

by
Nimrod Eldar

Israel 2019

Hebrew

95’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Menashe Noy (Yoram)
Zohar Meidan (Roni)
Sarit Vino-Elad (Sivan)
Alon Neuman (Arie)
Claudia Dulitchi (Marsella)
Sharon Hacohen (Mira)
Miri Aloni (Aviva)

Crew

Written and directed by
Nimrod Eldar
Director of Photography
Itay Marom
Editing
Nimrod Eldar
Sound Design
Nimrod Eldar
Sound
Alfred Tesler
Production Design
John Yonatan Jacoby
Costumes
Hila Royzenman
Make-up
Chen Buky
Casting
Chamutal Zerem
Assistant Director
Maya Hofman
Production Manager
Matan Gaida
Producers
Eitan Mansuri, Jonathan Doweck, Nimrod Eldar, Moshe Edri, Leon Edri

Biography

Nimrod Eldar

Born in Jerusalem, Israel in 1977, he lives in Tel Aviv. After working for many years as a screenwriter, editor and sound designer, he made his directorial debut with The Day After I’m Gone. The film has already won the Alumni Award from the Sam Spiegel Film & Television School and the Cinelink Award for a work-in-progress at the Sarajevo Film Festival.

Filmography

2002 King’s Road; Shortfilm 2005 My Masked Purim; Shortfilm

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Spiro Films

Cinema Group

United King Films

World sales

Luxbox
www.luxboxfilms.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

The Day After I’m Gone

## ## ## ## ## ##

Yoram ist Arzt in einem Safaripark in Tel Aviv. Der alleinerziehende Vater kümmert sich um Wildkatzen, operiert kranke Tiere und achtet darauf, dass die Menschen ihre Autos nicht verlassen, wenn sie auf eine Herde Nashörner treffen. Seiner jugendlichen Tochter Roni begegnet Yoram immer seltener. Das dunkle gemeinsame Apartment empfindet sie als Gefängnis, aus dem sie immer öfter und immer länger ausbricht. Eines Nachts steht ein Team von Rettungssanitäter*innen vor der Tür. Sie haben aus einem Internetforum Hinweise darauf bekommen, dass Roni sich das Leben nehmen will. Nach dem Suizidversuch scheint der einzige Ausweg für Vater und Tochter eine Reise hinaus aus der Stadt und zurück zur Familie zu sein.
Der israelische Regisseur Nimrod Eldar erzählt in seinem Langfilmdebüt von verletzten Tieren, verletzten Menschen und einem verletzten Land. In ruhigen, konzentrierten Bildern entfaltet sich eine trügerische Stille. Unter der Oberfläche brodelt es, die Geister der Vergangenheit klopfen an, und immer mehr Details treten zutage, sowohl in der Beziehung zwischen Vater und Tochter als auch in der Beziehung zur Familie.

von
Nimrod Eldar

Israel 2019

Hebräisch

95’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Menashe Noy (Yoram)
Zohar Meidan (Roni)
Sarit Vino-Elad (Sivan)
Alon Neuman (Arie)
Claudia Dulitchi (Marsella)
Sharon Hacohen (Mira)
Miri Aloni (Aviva)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Nimrod Eldar
Kamera
Itay Marom
Montage
Nimrod Eldar
Sound Design
Nimrod Eldar
Ton
Alfred Tesler
Production Design
John Yonatan Jacoby
Kostüm
Hila Royzenman
Maske
Chen Buky
Casting
Chamutal Zerem
Regieassistenz
Maya Hofman
Production Manager
Matan Gaida
Produzenten
Eitan Mansuri, Jonathan Doweck, Nimrod Eldar, Moshe Edri, Leon Edri

Biografie

Nimrod Eldar

Geboren 1977 in Jerusalem, lebt in Tel Aviv. Er hat viele Jahre als Drehbuchautor, Editor und Sounddesigner gearbeitet und legt mit The Day After I’m Gone sein Regiedebüt vor. Der Film wurde bereits mit dem Alumni-Preis der Filmhochschule Sam Spiegel und mit dem Cinelink-Preis des Sarajevo Film Festivals für Projekte in der Entwicklung ausgezeichnet.

Filmografie

2002 King’s Road; Kurzfilm 2005 My Masked Purim; Kurzfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Spiro Films

Cinema Group

United King Films

Weltvertrieb

Luxbox
www.luxboxfilms.com