Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Culinary Cinema

Aruna & Lidahnya

Aruna & Her Palate

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Aruna is an epidemiologist assigned to investigate bird flu outbreaks in various cities in Indonesia. She is joined by her best friends Bono and Nad and the trio uses the business trip as an opportunity to go on a culinary adventure. However, Aruna’s trip becomes personal when she unexpectedly bumps into her secret crush, Farish. As the four friends relish the art of Indonesian cuisine, secrets about the flu virus start to be unveiled. Based on a novel by the award-winning author Laksmi Pamuntjak.

by
Edwin

Indonesia 2018

Indonesian

106’ · Colour

With

Dian Sastrowardoyo (Aruna)
Oka Antara (Farish)
Hannah Al Rashid (Nadezhda)
Nicholas Saputra (Bono)

Crew

Director
Edwin
Screenplay
Titien Wattimena
Director of Photography
Amalia TS
Editing
W. Ichwandiar Dono
Music
Ken Jenie
Sound Design
Wahyu Tri Purnomo
Sound
Handy Ilfat
Production Design
Iqbal Marjono
Costumes
Ajeng Swastiari
Make-up
Darto
Casting
Melisa Hana Kristianty
Producers
Meiske Taurisia, Muhammad Zaidy
Executive Producer
Christopher Smith

Biography

Edwin

Born in 1980 in Surabaya, Indonesia. His 2005 short film Kara, anak sebatang pohon (Kara, the Daughter of a Tree) was the first Indonesian work to screen in the Directors’ Fortnight at Cannes. In 2009, his short Trip to the Wound screened in Berlinale Shorts. In the same year, his debut feature film, Babi buta yang ingin terbang (Blind Pig Who Wants to Fly), won the FIPRESCI Award at the International Film Festival Rotterdam. His second feature, Kebun Binatang (Postcards from the Zoo), premiered in the 2012 Berlinale Competition. Posesif won him Best Director at the 2017 Festival Film Indonesia.

Filmography

2005 Kara, anak sebatang pohon (Kara, the Daughter of a Tree); short film 2008 Babi buta yang ingin terbang (Blind Pig Who Wants to Fly) 2012 Kebun binatang (Postcards from the Zoo) 2017 Posesif 2018 Aruna & Lidahnya (Aruna & Her Palate)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Palari Films

World sales

CJ Entertainment
www.cj-entertainment.com/

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Kulinarisches Kino

Aruna & Lidahnya

Aruna & Her Palate

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Die Epidemiologin Aruna wird damit beauftragt, Fälle von Vogelgrippe in verschiedenen Städten Indonesiens zu untersuchen. In Begleitung ihrer besten Freunde begibt sie sich auf die Dienstreise, welche die drei auch zu einer kulinarischen Entdeckungstour nutzen. Das Unterfangen nimmt persönliche Züge an, als Aruna unvermittelt auf ihren heimlichen Schwarm Farish trifft. Und während die Freunde die Feinheiten der indonesische Kochkunst genießen, kommen immer mehr Geheimnisse über den Grippevirus ans Licht – ein Film nach dem Roman der preisgekrönten Schriftstellerin Laksmi Pamuntjak.

von
Edwin

Indonesien 2018

Indonesisch

106’ · Farbe

Mit

Dian Sastrowardoyo
Oka Antara
Hannah Al Rashid
Nicholas Saputra

Stab

Regie
Edwin
Buch
Titien Wattimena
Kamera
Amalia TS
Montage
W. Ichwandiar Dono
Musik
Ken Jenie
Sound Design
Wahyu Tri Purnomo
Ton
Handy Ilfat
Production Design
Iqbal Marjono
Kostüm
Ajeng Swastiari
Maske
Darto
Casting
Melisa Hana Kristianty
Produzenten
Meiske Taurisia, Muhammad Zaidy
Ausführender Produzent
Christopher Smith

Biografie

Edwin

Geboren 1980 in Surabaya, Indonesien. Sein Kurzfilm Kara, anak sebatang pohon von 2005 war der erste indonesische Beitrag, der in der Sektion Directors’ Fortnight in Cannes gezeigt wurde. 2009 war er mit seinem Kurzfilm Trip to The Wound Gast der Berlinale Shorts. Im selben Jahr erhielt sein Spielfilmdebüt, Babi buta yang ingin terbang, den Fipresci Award beim International Film Festival Rotterdam. Sein zweiter Spielfilm, Kebun Binatang, feierte 2012 im Wettbewerb der Berlinale Premiere. Für Posesif wurde er auf dem Festival Film Indonesia 2017 als bester Regisseur ausgezeichnet.

Filmografie

2005 Kara, anak sebatang pohon (Kara, the Daughter of a Tree); Kurzfilm 2008 Babi buta yang ingin terbang (Blind Pig Who Wants to Fly) 2012 Kebun binatang (Postcards from the Zoo) 2017 Posesif 2018 Aruna & Lidahnya (Aruna & Her Palate)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Palari Films

Weltvertrieb

CJ Entertainment
www.cj-entertainment.com/