Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama Dokumente

Estou Me Guardando Para Quando O Carnaval Chegar

Waiting for the Carnival

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

In Agreste, a dry, poor region in north-eastern Brazil, lies the city of Toritama with its 40,000 inhabitants. About 20 million pairs of jeans are produced and finished here annually, resulting in the town being known as the ‘capital of jeans’. In addition to the gigantic textile factories, some of the town’s inhabitants have founded so-called ‘factiones’ in garages and backyards where they work independently as small-business entrepreneurs and organise the workload themselves.
Marcelo Gomez’s film paints a picture of a town where the majority of inhabitants live from the jeans business and where the sewing machines never seem to stand still, even for a moment. Only during carnival season does the city feel like a ghost town, for this is the time when almost everyone goes to the coast for a few days. Some even sell their fridges or television sets to finance this trip. Shot in largely static, observational images and with a rich soundscape, this film not only documents the lives and work, dreams and desires of the protagonists – it also uses this microcosm to depict the excesses of modern-day capitalism and shows ways in which they can be overcome.

by
Marcelo Gomes

Brazil 2019

Portuguese

Documentary form
86’ · Colour

World premiere

Crew

Written and directed by
Marcelo Gomes
Director of Photography
Pedro Andrade
Editing
Karen Harley
Music
O Grivo
Sound Design
Nicolau Domingues
Sound
Pedro Moreira, Moabe Filho
Assistant Director
Karina Nobre
Production Manager
Luna Gomides
Producers
João Vieira Jr., Nara Aragão
Co-producers
Ernesto Soto, Marcelo Gomes, Chico Ribeiro, Ofir Figueiredo
Co-production
Misti Filmes, São Paulo
REC Produtores Associados, Recife

Biography

Marcelo Gomes

Born in Recife, Brazil in 1962, he founded a film club in his home town at an early age. Whilst studying at the University of Bristol, he directed a number of award-winning short films. His feature debut, Cinema, Aspirinas e Urubus, screened at Cannes in 2005. He co-directed the feature Viajo Porque Preciso, Volto Porque Te Amo with Karim Aïnouz and O Homem das Multidões with Cao Guimarães, the latter screening in Panorama in 2014. His feature film Joaquim screened in the 2017 Berlinale Competition.

Filmography (selection)

2005 Cinema, Aspirinas e Urubus (Cinema, Aspirins and Vultures) 2009 Viajo Porque Preciso, Volto Porque Te Amo (I Travel Because I Have to, I Come Back Because I Love You); co-director: Karim Ainouz 2012 Era Uma Vez Eu, Verônica (Once Upon a Time Was I, Verônica) 2013 O Homem das Multidões (The Man of The Crowd); co-director: Cao Guimarães, Panorama 2017 Joaquim; Wettbewerb

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Carnaval Filmes

World sales

Cinephil

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama Dokumente

Estou Me Guardando Para Quando O Carnaval Chegar

Waiting for the Carnival

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

In Agreste, einer trockenen und armen Region im Nordosten Brasiliens, liegt die etwa 40 000 Einwohner*innen zählende Stadt Toritama. Da hier pro Jahr ca. 20 Millionen Jeanshosen hergestellt und verarbeitet werden, wird sie auch als „Capital of Jeans“ bezeichnet. Neben den großen Textilfabriken haben einige Bewohner*innen in Garagen und Hinterhöfen sogenannte Factiones gegründet, in denen sie als Kleinunternehmer*innen selbstbestimmt arbeiten und sich das Arbeitspensum selbst einteilen können.
Marcelo Gomes zeichnet das Bild einer Stadt, in der ein Großteil der Bewohner von und mit dem Jeansgeschäft lebt und in der die Nähmaschinen niemals still zu stehen scheinen. Nur zu Karneval wirkt die Stadt wie ausgestorben. Dann fahren fast alle für ein paar Tage ans Meer. Einige verkaufen sogar ihren Kühlschrank oder Fernseher, um diese Reise zu finanzieren. In meist observierenden Bildern, mit vorwiegend statischer Kamera und einer dichten Tonebene dokumentiert der Film nicht nur Leben, Arbeit, Träume und Wünsche der Menschen, sondern beschreibt anhand dieses Mikrokosmos auch die Auswüchse des heutigen Kapitalismus und zeigt Möglichkeiten zu dessen Überwindung auf.

von
Marcelo Gomes

Brasilien 2019

Portugiesisch

Dokumentarische Form
86’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Stab

Regie, Buch
Marcelo Gomes
Kamera
Pedro Andrade
Montage
Karen Harley
Musik
O Grivo
Sound Design
Nicolau Domingues
Ton
Pedro Moreira, Moabe Filho
Regieassistenz
Karina Nobre
Produktionsleitung
Luna Gomides
Produzenten
João Vieira Jr., Nara Aragão
Co-Produzenten
Ernesto Soto, Marcelo Gomes, Chico Ribeiro, Ofir Figueiredo
Co-Produktion
Misti Filmes, São Paulo
REC Produtores Associados, Recife

Biografie

Marcelo Gomes

Geboren 1962 in Recife, Brasilien, wo er schon in jungen Jahren einen Filmklub ins Leben rief. Im Rahmen seines Filmstudiums an der University of Bristol drehte er eine Reihe preisgekrönter Kurzfilme. Sein Spielfilmdebüt, Cinema, Aspirinas e Urubus, lief 2005 in Cannes. Zusammen mit Karim Aïnouz drehte er Viajo Porque Preciso, Volto Porque Te Amo. Mit O Homem das Multidões, einer Gemeinschaftsarbeit mit Cao Guimarães, war er 2014 zu Gast im Panorama. Joaquim lief 2017 im Wettbewerb.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

2005 Cinema, Aspirinas e Urubus (Cinema, Aspirins and Vultures) 2009 Viajo Porque Preciso, Volto Porque Te Amo (I Travel Because I Have to, I Come Back Because I Love You); Co-Regie: Karim Ainouz 2012 Era Uma Vez Eu, Verônica (Once Upon a Time Was I, Verônica) 2013 O Homem das Multidões (The Man of The Crowd); Co-Regie: Cao Guimarães, Panorama 2017 Joaquim; Wettbewerb

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Carnaval Filmes

Weltvertrieb

Cinephil