Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

Staff Only

## ## ## ## ## ##

‘You can’t get to the beach this way!’ yells the toothless old hotel security guard at 17-year-old Marta. Actually, all this tourist from Barcelona wants to do in Senegal is get off the beaten track, wishing her travelling companions - her younger brother and her embarrassing father – would just go to hell. She befriends Aissatou, a hotel chambermaid of her own age, and Khouma, a young filmmaker who offers his services as a videographer at hotel events. Marta leaves behind the holidaymakers burning themselves to a crisp by the pool or standing in line at the buffet, to explore the world beyond the ‘staff only’ sign with her new friends. But then Marta does something reckless – and this has serious consequences.
Spanish director Neus Ballús depicts the complex relationships that exist between tourists and the locals whose lives are dependent on them in her detailed, brilliant portrait that addresses topics such as package tours, sex tourism and cultural appropriation. The fact that Marta seems to need Khouma’s camera viewfinder to really see her surroundings would also appear to epitomise an entire generation.

by
Neus Ballús

Spain / France 2019

Catalan, French, Wolof

85’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Elena Andrada (Marta)
Sergi López (Manel)
Diomaye A. Ngom (Khouma)
Ian Samsó (Bruno)
Madeleine C. Ndong (Aissatou)
Margi Andújar (Anne Marie)

Crew

Director
Neus Ballús
Screenplay
Neus Ballús, Pau Subirós
Director of Photography
Diego Dussuel
Editing
Neus Ballús
Music
Isabel Latorre
Sound Design
Albert Manera
Sound
Amanda Villavieja
Production Design
Uxua Castelló
Costumes
Giovanna Ribes
Make-up
Michel Vautier
Casting
Mireia Salgado, Gora Seck, Déborah Borque, Anna González
Assistant Director
Tigrane Avédikian
Production Manager
Sergio Gil
Executive Producer
Edmon Roch
Producers
Edmon Roch, Pau Subirós, Cristóbal García, Javier Ugarte, Lina Badenes
Co-producer
Michel Klein
Co-production
Les Films Hatari, Paris

Biography

Neus Ballús

Born in Mollet del Vallès, Spain in 1980, she studied audiovisual communication and documentary filmmaking at Pompeu Fabra University in Barcelona. After directing several short films, she made her feature-length debut in 2013 with La plaga (The Plague). The film screened at the Berlinale Forum and won four Gaudí Awards.

Filmography

2005 L'avi de la càmera (The Grandad with a Movie Camera); short film 2006 La Gabi; short film 2007 Xip xap; short film 2008 Pepitu Ricu; short film 2009 Immersió (Immersion); short film 2013 La plaga (The Plague); Forum

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

El Kinògraf
www.elkinograf.com

La Terraza Films

Turanga Films
turangafilms.com/

World sales

Film Factory
www.filmfactoryentertainment.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Staff Only

## ## ## ## ## ##

„Hier kommen Sie nicht an den Strand!“ ruft der betagte, zahnlose Mann vom Hotel-Sicherheitsdienst der 17-jährigen Marta hinterher. Dabei will die Senegal-Touristin aus Barcelona, die ihre Reisebegleiter, den jüngeren Bruder und den peinlichen Vater, zum Teufel wünscht, doch nur abseits der Touristenpfade wandeln. Sie freundet sich mit dem gleichaltrigen Zimmermädchen Aissatou und mit dem jungen Filmemacher Khouma an, der bei Hotelveranstaltungen seine Dienste als Videograf anbietet. Gemeinsam mit ihnen lässt sie die am Pool bratenden oder am Buffett Schlange stehenden Urlauber*innen hinter sich und erkundet die Welt jenseits des Schilds „Staff Only“ – nur für Personal. Doch eine unbedachte Tat Martas hat schwerwiegende Folgen.
Detailliert und virtuos beschreibt die spanische Regisseurin Neus Ballús die komplexen Beziehungen zwischen Tourist*innen und den von ihnen abhängigen Landesbewohner*innen und kommentiert dabei Themen wie Pauschal- und Sextourismus und kulturelle Aneignung. Der Umstand, dass Marta das Display von Khoumas Kamera zu brauchen scheint, um ihre Umgebung wirklich zu sehen, scheint zudem sinnbildlich für eine ganze Generation zu stehen.

von
Neus Ballús

Spanien / Frankreich 2019

Katalanisch, Französisch, Wolof

85’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Elena Andrada (Marta)
Sergi López (Manel)
Diomaye A. Ngom (Khouma)
Ian Samsó (Bruno)
Madeleine C. Ndong (Aissatou)
Margi Andújar (Anne Marie)

Stab

Regie
Neus Ballús
Buch
Neus Ballús, Pau Subirós
Kamera
Diego Dussuel
Montage
Neus Ballús
Musik
Isabel Latorre
Sound Design
Albert Manera
Ton
Amanda Villavieja
Production Design
Uxua Castelló
Kostüm
Giovanna Ribes
Maske
Michel Vautier
Casting
Mireia Salgado, Gora Seck, Déborah Borque, Anna González
Regieassistenz
Tigrane Avédikian
Production Manager
Sergio Gil
Executive Producer
Edmon Roch
Produzenten
Edmon Roch, Pau Subirós, Cristóbal García, Javier Ugarte, Lina Badenes
Co-Produzent
Michel Klein
Co-Produktion
Les Films Hatari, Paris

Biografie

Neus Ballús

Geboren 1980 in Mollet del Vallès, Spanien. Sie studierte Audiovisuelle Kommunikation und Dokumentarfilm an der Universität Pompeu Fabra in Barcelona. Nach mehreren Kurzfilmen realisierte sie 2013 ihr Langfilmdebüt, La plaga (The Plague). Der Film wurde im Berlinale Forum gezeigt und mit vier Gaudí Awards ausgezeichnet.

Filmografie

2005 L'avi de la càmera (The Grandad with a Movie Camera); Kurzfilm 2006 La Gabi; Kurzfilm 2007 Xip xap; Kurzfilm 2008 Pepitu Ricu; Kurzfilm 2009 Immersió (Immersion); Kurzfilm 2013 La plaga (The Plague); Forum

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

El Kinògraf
www.elkinograf.com

La Terraza Films

Turanga Films
turangafilms.com/

Weltvertrieb

Film Factory
www.filmfactoryentertainment.com