Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Generation 14plus

By the Name of Tania

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

‘I have a voice that tells me: Look around. Wake up. What’s happening? But it’s a tiny voice.’

There is a place where rich men live. They are so rich that they sprinkle the girls they particularly like with gold dust. These tales of wonder are so tempting to a young Peruvian girl that she leaves her village and sets out on the river’s currents for the country’s gold mines. However, what she finds there is neither luxury nor fairy tale princes, but violence and forced prostitution. Interweaving documental and fictional elements, this hybrid-form assembles a story which – despite the mesmerising and poetic imagery – cannot hide the horror which the protagonist experiences for long. A drastic and moving film which gives a voice and an identity to one who has lost her name.

by
Bénédicte Liénard
Mary Jiménez

Belgium / Netherlands 2019

Spanish

Documentary form
84’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Tanit Lidia Coquinche Cenepo (Tania)
Ismael Vasquez Colchado (Police Officer)
Fiorella J. Aguila (Chuya Chaki)
Yossimar Vietto Omnia (Ruben)

Crew

Director
Bénédicte Liénard, Mary Jiménez
Director of Photography
Virginie Surdej
Editing
Marie-Hélène Dozo
Sound Design
David Vranken
Sound
Kwinten Van Laethem
Sound Mixer
Peter Warnier
Production Manager
Lali Madueño Medina
Producer
Hanne Phlypo
Executive Producer
Hanne Phlypo
Co-producers
Julie Freres, Katja Draaijer, Javier Packer, Frank Hoeve, Camille Laemlé
Co-production
Dérives, Lüttich
BALDR Film, Amsterdam
CBA, Brüssel

Biography

Bénédicte Liénard

Having studied film directing at the Institut des Arts de Diffusion (IAD) in Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium, her debut feature film, Une part du ciel, was selected for Un Certain Regard in Cannes and also screened at festivals in Toronto, San Sebastián and New York. She followed it with several documentaries which were shown at festivals and on television. She teaches at IAD and is Artist in Residence at the Université catholique de Louvain. By the Name of Tania is her third collaboration with Mary Jiménez.

Filmography

2002 Une part du ciel 2013 D'arbres et de charbon; documentary · Sobre las brasas; documentary 2015 Le chant des hommes 2019 By the Name of Tania; documentary

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Mary Jiménez

Born in Peru, she is a director who first studied architecture in Lima before attending the Institut National Supérieur des Arts du Spectacle et des Techniques de Diffusion (INSAS) film school in Belgium. She has taught film directing in Brussels, Cuba and Switzerland and is currently in charge of the Sound Image Culture (SIC) filmmakers’ lab in Brussels where she gives advice and support to filmmakers realising their projects. Her films have been invited to numerous international festivals, including the Berlinale Forum which screened her film Du verbe aimer in 1985.

Filmography (documentaries)

1985 Du verbe aimer 2006 La position du lion couché 2009 Le dictionnaire selon Marcus 2012 Héros sans visage 2019 By the Name of Tania

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Clin d’oeil films

World sales

Pluto Film
www.plutofilm.de/

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Generation 14plus

By the Name of Tania

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

„Ich habe eine Stimme, die mir sagt: Sieh dich um. Wach auf. Was passiert? Aber es ist eine leise Stimme.“

Es gibt einen Ort, an dem leben reiche Männer. So reich, dass sie die Mädchen, die ihnen besonders gut gefallen, mit Gold bestäuben. Die Geschichten, die einer jungen Peruanerin erzählt werden, klingen derart verlockend, dass sie ihr Dorf verlässt und sich über den Fluss auf den Weg zu den Goldminen des Landes macht. Doch dort warten weder Luxus noch Märchenprinzen, sondern Schläge und Zwangsprostitution. In einer hybriden Form aus dokumentarischen und fiktionalen Elementen baut sich ein Geschehen auf, das trotz betörender und traumhafter Bilder nicht lange den Horror verheimlichen kann, den die Protagonistin erlebt. Ein drastischer und berührender Film, der zugleich einer namenlos Gewordenen Stimme und Identität wiederverleiht.

von
Bénédicte Liénard
Mary Jiménez

Belgien / Niederlande 2019

Spanisch

Dokumentarische Form
84’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Tanit Lidia Coquinche Cenepo (Tania)
Ismael Vasquez Colchado (Polizist)
Fiorella J. Aguila (Chuya Chaki)
Yossimar Vietto Omnia (Ruben)

Stab

Regie
Bénédicte Liénard, Mary Jiménez
Kamera
Virginie Surdej
Montage
Marie-Hélène Dozo
Sound Design
David Vranken
Ton
Kwinten Van Laethem
Mischung
Peter Warnier
Production Manager
Lali Madueño Medina
Producer
Hanne Phlypo
Ausführender Produzent
Hanne Phlypo
Co-Produzenten
Julie Freres, Katja Draaijer, Javier Packer, Frank Hoeve, Camille Laemlé
Co-Produktion
Dérives, Lüttich
BALDR Film, Amsterdam
CBA, Brüssel

Biografie

Bénédicte Liénard

Sie studierte Filmregie am belgischen Institut des Arts de Diffusion (IAD) in Louvain-la-Neuve. Ihr erster Langfilm, Une part du ciel, wurde in der Sektion Un Certain Regard in Cannes sowie auf den Festivals in Toronto, San Sebastián und New York gezeigt. In der Folge drehte sie mehrere Dokumentarfilme, die auf Festivals und im Fernsehen liefen. Sie unterrichtet am IAD und ist Artist in Residence an der Université catholique de Louvain. By the Name of Tania ist ihre dritte Zusammenarbeit mit Mary Jiménez.

Filmografie

2002 Une part du ciel 2013 D'arbres et de charbon; Dokumentarfilm · Sobre las brasas; Dokumentarfilm 2015 Le chant des hommes 2019 By the Name of Tania; Dokumentarfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Mary Jiménez

Die in Peru geborene Regisseurin studierte zunächst Architektur in Lima, bevor sie die belgische Filmschule Institut National Supérieur des Arts du Spectacle et des Techniques de Diffusion (INSAS) besuchte. Sie unterrichtete Filmregie in Brüssel, Kuba und der Schweiz und ist als Coach für Sound Image Culture (SIC) in Brüssel tätig, wo sie Filmemacher*innen bei der Umsetzung ihrer Projekte begleitet und unterstützt. Ihre Filme liefen auf zahlreichen Festivals weltweit. Mit Du verbe aimer war sie 1985 im Forum der Berlinale zu Gast.

Filmografie (Dokumentarfilme)

1985 Du verbe aimer 2006 La position du lion couché 2009 Le dictionnaire selon Marcus 2012 Héros sans visage 2019 By the Name of Tania

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Clin d’oeil films

Weltvertrieb

Pluto Film
www.plutofilm.de/