Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

To thávma tis thálassas ton Sargassón

The Miracle of the Sargasso Sea

Maria Drandaki (Producer), Argyris Xafis (Actor), Christos Passalis (Actor), Youla Boudali (Actress, Screenwriter), Angeliki Papoulia (Actress), Syllas Tzoumerkas (Director, Screenwriter)

Moderation: Margarita Tsomou

## ## ## ## ## ##

Elisabeth is police chief of the Greek coastal town of Mesolongi. When she speaks, it sounds like angry barking. She drinks too much, constantly swears and is sleeping with a married doctor. Her transfer from Athens to this small fishing village ten years ago still rankles with her. Her adolescent son Dimitris is all too familiar with his mother’s moods. If she overdoes it after a shared dinner in a bar, he goes home. Rita comes from Mesolongi and works in a factory; her brother is something of a local celebrity. He sometimes makes her join him on stage during his club appearances. Rita is also deeply dissatisfied. But then a death tears apart the already fragile network of relationships between the villagers, revealing an even more damaged structure beneath.
Syllas Tzoumerkas’s third film portrays an extraordinary policewoman in the shape of Elisabeth. His protagonist is bulky, frustrated and ungracious. Angeliki Papoulia’s brilliant performance and the surprisingly shocking plot of To Thávma tis thálassas ton Sargassón (The Miracle of the Sargasso Sea) means we are served up a small-town nightmare garnished with eels and several layers of interpretation.

by
Syllas Tzoumerkas

Greece / Germany / Netherlands / Sweden 2019

Greek

121’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Angeliki Papoulia (Elisabeth)
Youla Boudali (Rita)
Christos Passalis (Manolis)
Argyris Xafis (Vassilis)
Thanasis Dovris (Michalis)
Laertis Malkotsis (Andreas)
Maria Filini (Axel)
Michalis Kimonas (Vangelis)
Christian Culbida (Dimitris)
Michalis Mathioudakis (Mitsos)

Crew

Director
Syllas Tzoumerkas
Screenplay
Youla Boudali, Syllas Tzoumerkas
Director of Photography
Petrus Sjövik
Editing
Andreas Wodraschke
Music
Jean-Paul Wall, drog_A_tek, Phoebus
Sound Design
Marco Vermaas
Sound
Felix Siewert
Production Design
Jorien Sont
Costumes
Marli Aliferi
Make-up
Linda Boije af Gennäs, Evi Zafiropoulou
Producer
Maria Drandaki
Executive Producer
Syllas Tzoumerkas
Associate Producer
Meinolf Zurhorst
Co-producers
Titus Kreyenberg, Ellen Havenith, Olle Wirenhed, Anthony Muir
Co-production
unafilm, Köln
PRPL, Amsterdam
Kakadua Filmproduktion, Göteborg
Film I Väst, Trollhättan
ZDF/Arte, Mainz
ERT, Athen

Biography

Syllas Tzoumerkas

Born in Thessaloniki, Greece in 1978, he writes, directs and is an actor in film and theatre. His debut feature film, Homeland, premiered in the Venice Critics’ Week in 2010 and went on to screen at international film festivals. His second feature, A Blast, premiered at Locarno and was shown at over 80 festivals worldwide. He also co-wrote the scripts for Argyris Papadimitropoulos’ film Suntan (2016) and Ahmad Ghossein’s All This Victory (2019).

Filmography

2010 Homeland 2014 A Blast

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Homemade Films

World sales

New Europe Film Sales
www.neweuropefilmsales.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

To thávma tis thálassas ton Sargassón

The Miracle of the Sargasso Sea

Maria Drandaki (Produzentin), Argyris Xafis (Schauspieler), Christos Passalis (Schauspieler), Youla Boudali (Schauspielerin, Drehbuchautorin), Angeliki Papoulia (Schauspielerin), Syllas Tzoumerkas (Regisseur, Drehbuchautor)

Moderation: Margarita Tsomou

## ## ## ## ## ##

Elisabeth ist Polizeichefin im griechischen Küstenstädtchen Mesolongi. Wenn sie spricht, klingt es wie wütendes Bellen. Sie trinkt zu viel, flucht permanent und schläft mit einem verheirateten Arzt. Die Versetzung aus Athen in das kleine Fischerdorf vor zehn Jahren macht ihr immer noch zu schaffen. Ihr halbwüchsiger Sohn Dimitris kennt die Launen seiner Mutter. Wenn sie sich nach einem gemeinsamen Abendessen in einer Bar den Rest gibt, geht er nach Hause. Die Fabrikarbeiterin Rita stammt aus Mesolongi, ihr Bruder ist eine lokale Szenegröße. Bei seinen Club-Auftritten holt er sie manchmal auf die Bühne. Doch auch Rita ist zutiefst unzufrieden. Als ein Tod das ohnehin brüchige Beziehungsnetz der Dorfbewohner*innen zerreißt, zeigt sich, dass die darunterliegende Struktur noch kaputter ist.
Syllas Tzoumerkas’ dritter Film bietet mit Elisabeth eine ungewöhnliche Polizistinnenfigur. Seine Protagonistin ist sperrig, frustriert und ungnädig. Das fulminante Spiel von Angeliki Papoulia und die überraschende, schockierende Story generieren in To Thávma tis thálassas ton Sargassón (The Miracle of the Sargasso Sea) einen mit Aalen garnierten Provinzalbtraum mit mehreren Interpretationsebenen.

von
Syllas Tzoumerkas

Griechenland / Deutschland / Niederlande / Schweden 2019

Griechisch

121’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Angeliki Papoulia (Elisabeth)
Youla Boudali (Rita)
Christos Passalis (Manolis)
Argyris Xafis (Vassilis)
Thanasis Dovris (Michalis)
Laertis Malkotsis (Andreas)
Maria Filini (Axel)
Michalis Kimonas (Vangelis)
Christian Culbida (Dimitris)
Michalis Mathioudakis (Mitsos)

Stab

Regie
Syllas Tzoumerkas
Buch
Youla Boudali, Syllas Tzoumerkas
Kamera
Petrus Sjövik
Montage
Andreas Wodraschke
Musik
Jean-Paul Wall, drog_A_tek, Phoebus
Sound Design
Marco Vermaas
Ton
Felix Siewert
Production Design
Jorien Sont
Kostüm
Marli Aliferi
Maske
Linda Boije af Gennäs, Evi Zafiropoulou
Produzent
Maria Drandaki
Ausführender Produzent
Syllas Tzoumerkas
Associate Producer
Meinolf Zurhorst
Co-Produzenten
Titus Kreyenberg, Ellen Havenith, Olle Wirenhed, Anthony Muir
Co-Produktion
unafilm, Köln
PRPL, Amsterdam
Kakadua Filmproduktion, Göteborg
Film I Väst, Trollhättan
ZDF/Arte, Mainz
ERT, Athen

Biografie

Syllas Tzoumerkas

Geboren 1978 in Thessaloniki, Griechenland. Er schreibt, führt Regie und spielt in Film und Theater. Sein erster Spielfilm, Homeland, wurde bei der Kritikerwoche in Venedig uraufgeführt und nahm an internationalen Filmfestivals teil. Sein zweiter Spielfilm, A Blast, feierte beim Filmfestival von Locarno Premiere und wurde auf über 80 Festivals auf der ganzen Welt gezeigt. Tzoumerkas war Co-Autor des Drehbuchs von Argyris Papadimitropoulos’ Film Suntan (2016) und Ahmad Ghosseins All This Victory (2019).

Filmografie

2010 Homeland 2014 A Blast

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Homemade Films

Weltvertrieb

New Europe Film Sales
www.neweuropefilmsales.com