Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Competition

Synonymes

Synonyms

Synonyme

 

Saïd Ben Saïd (Producer), Louise Chevillotte (Actress), Nadav Lapid (Director, Screenwriter), Tom Mercier (Actor), Quentin Dolmaire (Actor), Haïm Lapid (Screenwriter), Shaï Goldman (Cinematography)

Moderation: Jenni Zylka

Press Conference at full length
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

In Paris, things do not exactly get off to a good start for Yoav. He knocks on the door of a flat, only to discover the place is empty and, while he is taking a bath there, his things are stolen. Yet this young Israeli had arrived with such great expectations. He is determined to get rid of his nationality as quickly as possible. For him, being Israeli is like a tumour that has to be surgically removed. Becoming French, on the other hand, would quite simply mean his salvation. In order to erase his origins, Yoav first tries to replace his language. From now on, he will not utter a single word of Hebrew. The dictionary becomes his constant companion. The necessary visits to the Israeli embassy annoy him; he finds his compatriots to be a total burden. But the naturalisation test also has its pitfalls. And the young French couple whom he befriends has some rather strange ideas about how to help him.
Based on his own experiences, Nadav Lapid explores the challenges of putting down roots in a new place. His attempt to find himself awakens past demons and opens up an existential abyss. A tragicomic puzzle that wisely knows how to keep its secrets.

by
Nadav Lapid

France / Israel / Germany 2019

French

123’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Tom Mercier (Yoav)
Quentin Dolmaire (Emile)
Louise Chevillotte (Caroline)

Crew

Director
Nadav Lapid
Screenplay
Nadav Lapid, Haïm Lapid
Director of Photography
Shaï Goldman
Editing
Era Lapid, François Gédigier, Neta Braun
Sound Design
Sandy Notarianni, Christophe Vingtrinier
Sound
Marina Kertesz
Production Design
Pascale Consigny
Costumes
Khadija Zeggaï
Make-up
Noa Yehonatan
Assistant Director
Justinien Schricke
Casting
Stéphane Batut, Orit Zulay
Production Manager
Marianne Germain
Producers
Saïd Ben Saïd, Michel Merkt
Co-producers
Osnat Handelsman Keren, Talia Kleinhendler, Janine Jackowski, Jonas Dornbach, Maren Ade, Olivier Père, Rémi Burah
Co-production
Pie Films, Tel Aviv
Komplizen Film, Berlin
Arte France Cinema, Issy-les-Moulineaux

Biography

Nadav Lapid

Born in Tel Aviv, Israel in 1975, this director and screenwriter studied philosophy at Tel Aviv University. After military service, he moved to Paris before returning to Israel to take a degree at the Sam Spiegel Film & Television School in Jerusalem. His short film Kvish (Road) screened in the 2005 Panorama. His debut feature film Policeman won the Special Jury Prize at Locarno in 2011 while The Kindergarten Teacher featured in the 2014 Semaine de la Critique at Cannes. In 2015, Lama? (Why?) screened in Berlinale Shorts. He is a recipient of the French Order Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres.

Filmography

2003 Proyect gvul; short film 2005 Kvish (Road); short film 2006 Ha-chavera shell Emile (Emile’s Girlfriend); short film 2011 Policeman 2013 Footsteps in Jerusalem; documentary 2014 The Kindergarten Teacher · Love Letters to Cinema; short film · Lama?; short film 2016 The Diary of a Wedding Photographer; short film 2019 Synonymes (Synonyme)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

SBS Films

World sales

SBS International

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

Synonymes

Synonyms

Synonyme

 

Saïd Ben Saïd (Produzent), Louise Chevillotte (Schauspielerin), Nadav Lapid (Regisseur, Drehbuchautor), Tom Mercier (Schauspieler), Quentin Dolmaire (Schauspieler), Haïm Lapid (Drehbuchautor), Shaï Goldman (Kamera)

Moderation: Jenni Zylka

Pressekonferenz in voller Länge
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Yoav hat keinen guten Start in Paris. Die Wohnung, an deren Tür er klopft, ist leer. Als er dort ein Bad nimmt, werden seine Sachen gestohlen. Dabei ist der junge Israeli mit höchsten Erwartungen hierhergekommen. Er will so schnell wie möglich seine Nationalität loswerden. Israeli zu sein, ist für ihn wie ein Tumor, der herausoperiert werden muss. Franzose zu werden, bedeutet dagegen die Erlösung schlechthin. Um seine Herkunft auszulöschen, versucht Yoav zunächst, die Sprache zu ersetzen. Kein hebräisches Wort soll mehr über seine Lippen kommen. Das Wörterbuch wird zu seinem ständigen Begleiter. Die notwendigen Besuche bei der israelischen Botschaft nerven ihn, überhaupt sind Landsleute eine Belastung. Aber auch der Einbürgerungstest hat seine Fallstricke. Und das junge französische Paar, mit dem er sich anfreundet, hat sehr merkwürdige Ideen, wie ihm geholfen werden könnte.
Basierend auf eigenen Erfahrungen erzählt Nadav Lapid von der Schwierigkeit, neue Wurzeln zu bilden. Der Versuch, zu sich selbst zu finden, weckt die bösen Geister der Vergangenheit und existenzielle Abgründe tun sich auf. Ein tragikomisches Puzzle, das seine Geheimnisse klug zu hüten weiß.

von
Nadav Lapid

Frankreich / Israel / Deutschland 2019

Französisch

123’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Tom Mercier (Yoav)
Quentin Dolmaire (Emile)
Louise Chevillotte (Caroline)

Stab

Regie
Nadav Lapid
Buch
Nadav Lapid, Haïm Lapid
Kamera
Shaï Goldman
Montage
Era Lapid, François Gédigier, Neta Braun
Sound Design
Sandy Notarianni, Christophe Vingtrinier
Ton
Marina Kertesz
Production Design
Pascale Consigny
Kostüm
Khadija Zeggaï
Maske
Noa Yehonatan
Regieassistenz
Justinien Schricke
Casting
Stéphane Batut, Orit Zulay
Production Manager
Marianne Germain
Produzenten
Saïd Ben Saïd, Michel Merkt
Co-Produzenten
Osnat Handelsman Keren, Talia Kleinhendler, Janine Jackowski, Jonas Dornbach, Maren Ade, Olivier Père, Rémi Burah
Co-Produktion
Pie Films, Tel Aviv
Komplizen Film, Berlin
Arte France Cinema, Issy-les-Moulineaux

Biografie

Nadav Lapid

Geboren 1975 in Tel Aviv, Israel. Der Regisseur und Drehbuchautor studierte Philosophie in Tel Aviv. Nach seinem Militärdienst zog er nach Paris und dann wieder zurück nach Israel, um ein Studium an der Sam Spiegel Film & Television School in Jerusalem aufzunehmen. Sein Kurzfilm Kvish war 2005 im Panorama zu sehen. Sein Spielfilmdebüt, Policeman, wurde 2011 in Locarno mit dem Jurypreis ausgezeichnet. 2014 präsentierte er The Kindergarten Teacher in der Semaine de la Critique. 2015 war er mit Lama? bei den Berlinale Shorts zu Gast. Er ist Träger des französischen Ordens Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres.

Filmografie

2003 Proyect gvul; Kurzfilm 2005 Kvish (Road); Kurzfilm 2006 Ha-chavera shell Emile (Emile’s Girlfriend); Kurzfilm 2011 Policeman 2013 Footsteps in Jerusalem; Dokumentarfilm 2014 The Kindergarten Teacher · Love Letters to Cinema; Kurzfilm · Lama?; Kurzfilm 2016 The Diary of a Wedding Photographer; Kurzfilm 2019 Synonymes (Synonyme)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

SBS Films

Weltvertrieb

SBS International