Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

Šavovi

Stitches

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

When seamstress Ana places a cake on the kitchen table, her adolescent daughter Ivana just shakes her head and turns away. Her husband Jovan also wants her to drop the subject. With this gesture, Ana celebrates the birthday of her son who, according to the hospital, died immediately after he was born. He would be 20 years old now. Ana shares the fate with many other Serbian women and believes she had her newborn child stolen from her so the infant could be given up for illegal adoption for money. A new clue gives Ana reason to hope again.
A few years ago, an outrageous scandal came to light in Serbia; a scandal whose resolution is still ongoing because the authorities continue to stonewall the investigation. In thousands of cases of systematic child theft over several decades, hospitals are said to have sold newborn babies with the help of a clandestine network of doctors, undertakers and government employees, and informed the parents that their child had died. Featuring an expressive performance from the female lead and a moving screenplay, Miroslav Terzić’s film carefully unfolds a story of loss and hope.

by
Miroslav Terzić

Serbia / Slovenia / Croatia / Bosnia and Herzegovina 2019

Serbian

97’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Snezana Bogdanovic (Ana)
Marko Bacovic (Jovan)
Jovana Stojiljkovic (Ivana)
Vesna Trivalic (Marija)
Dragana Varagic (Doctor)
Pavle Cemerikic (Marko)

Crew

Director
Miroslav Terzić
Screenplay
Elma Tataragic
Director of Photography
Damjan Radovanovic
Editing
Milena Petrovic
Music
Aleksandra Kovac
Sound Design
Julij Zornik
Sound
Srdjan Bajski
Production Design
Ana Buljan
Costumes
Zora Mojsilovic
Make-up
Dusica Vuksanovic
Assistant Director
Srdjan Spasic
Production Manager
Uros Lazic
Producers
Uliks Fehmiu, Milena Trobozic Garfield
Executive Producer
Ljiljana Djuricko
Co-producers
Darko Vinkl, Alan Vitezic, Zdenka Gold, Amra Baksic Camo, Adis Djapo
Co-production
Nora Production Group, Ljubljana
Spiritus Movens, Zagreb
SCCA/PRO.BA, Sarajevo

Biography

Miroslav Terzić

Born in Belgrade in former Yugoslavia in 1969, he studied international law at the city’s university before taking a postgraduate degree in its Faculty of Dramatic Arts. His debut feature film, Redemption Street, premiered at the Sarajevo Film Festival and went on to screen at the São Paulo International Film Festival. He also works as a director for major marketing agencies.

Filmography

2012 Redemption Street

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

West End Productions

World sales

Cercamon
www.cercamon.biz

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Šavovi

Stitches

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Als die Schneiderin Ana eine Torte auf den Küchentisch stellt, wendet sich ihre halbwüchsige Tochter Ivana nur kopfschüttelnd ab. Auch Ehemann Jovan will, dass sie das Thema fallen lässt. Ana feiert den Geburtstag ihres laut Auskunft des Krankenhauses direkt nach der Geburt verstorbenen Sohnes. 20 Jahre wäre er jetzt alt. Doch Ana glaubt, dass man ihr, wie vielen anderen serbischen Frauen auch, das neugeborene Kind weggenommen hat, um mit dem Säugling durch illegale Adoption Geld zu verdienen. Ein neuer Hinweis lässt Ana wieder Hoffnung schöpfen.
Vor ein paar Jahren geriet in Serbien ein unerhörter Skandal ans Licht der Öffentlichkeit, dessen Aufklärung bis heute andauert, weil die Behörden noch immer mauern: In Tausenden Fällen von systematischem Kindesraub sollen Krankenhäuser mithilfe eines klandestinen Netzes aus Ärzten, Bestattern und Regierungsmitarbeitern jahrzehntelang Säuglinge verkauft und deren Eltern über ihren Tod informiert haben. Mit einer ausdrucksstarken Hauptdarstellerin und einem bewegenden Drehbuch erzählt Miroslav Terzić behutsam eine Geschichte von Verlust und Hoffnung.

von
Miroslav Terzić

Serbien / Slowenien / Kroatien / Bosnien und Herzegowina 2019

Serbisch

97’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Snezana Bogdanovic (Ana)
Marko Bacovic (Jovan)
Jovana Stojiljkovic (Ivana)
Vesna Trivalic (Marija)
Dragana Varagic (Ärztin)
Pavle Cemerikic (Marko)

Stab

Regie
Miroslav Terzić
Buch
Elma Tataragic
Kamera
Damjan Radovanovic
Montage
Milena Petrovic
Musik
Aleksandra Kovac
Sound Design
Julij Zornik
Ton
Srdjan Bajski
Production Design
Ana Buljan
Kostüm
Zora Mojsilovic
Maske
Dusica Vuksanovic
Regieassistenz
Srdjan Spasic
Production Manager
Uros Lazic
Produzenten
Uliks Fehmiu, Milena Trobozic Garfield
Ausführender Produzent
Ljiljana Djuricko
Co-Produzenten
Darko Vinkl, Alan Vitezic, Zdenka Gold, Amra Baksic Camo, Adis Djapo
Co-Produktion
Nora Production Group, Ljubljana
Spiritus Movens, Zagreb
SCCA/PRO.BA, Sarajevo

Biografie

Miroslav Terzić

Geboren 1969 in Belgrad, wo er Internationales Recht studierte. Anschließend nahm er ein Postgraduate-Studium an der Fakultät der dramatischen Künste der Universität Belgrad auf. Sein erster Langspielfilm, Redemption Street, feierte seine Premiere beim Sarajevo Film Festival und wurde auch beim Internationalen Filmfestival São Paulo gezeigt. Terzić ist auch als Werbefilmer für große Firmen tätig.

Filmografie

2012 Redemption Street

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

West End Productions

Weltvertrieb

Cercamon
www.cercamon.biz