Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum

Bait

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

The picture-postcard idyll of the Cornwall fishing village is misleading. While fishing used to be a way of supporting oneself, wealthy London tourists have now descended and are displacing the locals, whose livelihood is thus threatened. The relationship between brothers Steven and Martin is also strained. Martin is a fisherman without a boat, since Steven started using it for far more lucrative tours for all the day-trippers. They’ve sold the family cottage and now it seems that the final battle to be fought is that with the new owners over the parking space next to the sea. Yet the situation soon gets out of hand, and not just because of the wheel clamp.
Bait is a black-and-white film shot on hand-processed 16mm. Numerous close-ups of fish, nets, lobsters, wellington boots, knots and catch baskets bring to mind the theory of a montage of attractions. The depiction of the different social strata – one could speak of class relations – is also reminiscent of the tradition of social realism in British cinema. Above all, however, a whole lot of current political relevance is waiting to be discovered beneath the different layers of film historical references contained in the images.

by
Mark Jenkin

Great Britain 2019

English

88’ · Black/White

World premiere

With

Edward Rowe (Martin Ward)
Simon Sheperd (Tim Leigh)
Mary Woodvine (Sandra Leigh)
Giles King (Steven Ward)
Isaac Woodvine (Neil Ward)
Chloe Endean (Wenna Kowalski)
Jowan Jacobs (Hugo Leigh)
Georgia Ellery (Katie Leigh)
Stacey Guthrie (Liz Stewart)
Tristan Sturrock (Brian Rikard)
Janet Thirlaway (Mrs Peters)
Morgan Val Baker (Husband)
Martin Ellis (Billy Ward)

Crew

Written and directed by
Mark Jenkin
Director of Photography
Mark Jenkin
Editing
Mark Jenkin
Music
Mark Jenkin
Sound Design
Daniel Thompson
Production Design
Mae Voogd
Costumes
Mae Voogd
Producers
Kate Byers, Linn Waite

Biography

Mark Jenkin

Born in 1976. Since 1997, he has made more than 50 short films. In 2012, he wrote the "Silent Landscape Dancing Grain 13 Film Manifesto", which comprises 13 rules that he follows when making his own films.

Filmography (selection)

2001 Golden Burn; 69 min. 2007 The Midnight Drives; 95 min. 2011 Happy Christmas; 109 min. 2016 A Forest; 82 min. 2019 Bait

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Early Day Films
www.earlydayfilms.com

World sales

The Festival Agency

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Bait

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Die Postkartenidylle des Fischerdorfs in Cornwall ist trügerisch. Wo man früher von der Fischerei leben konnte, fallen nun reiche Londoner Touristen ein und verdrängen die Einheimischen, deren Existenzgrundlage gefährdet ist. Auch das Verhältnis der Brüder Steven und Martin ist angespannt. Martin ist ein Fischer ohne eigenes Boot, denn damit veranstaltet Steven jetzt lukrativere Ausflugsfahrten. Das Cottage der Familie haben sie verkauft und mit den neuen Eigentümern scheint nur noch eine letzte Schlacht zu schlagen zu sein: die um einen küstennahen Parkplatz. Doch die Lage eskaliert und das nicht nur wegen einer Autokralle.
Bait ist ein Schwarzweißfilm, der im 16-mm-Format gedreht und mit der Hand entwickelt wurde. Zahlreiche Nahaufnahmen von Fischen, Netzen, Hummern, Gummistiefeln, Knoten und Fangkörben lassen an die Theorie einer Montage der Attraktionen denken. Ebenso erinnert die Darstellung der unterschiedlichen sozialen Milieus, man könnte auch von Klassenverhältnissen sprechen, an die sozialrealistische Tradition im britischen Kino. Vor allem aber lässt sich hinter der filmgeschichtlich anspielungsreichen visuellen Oberfläche jede Menge politische Aktualität entdecken.

von
Mark Jenkin

Großbritannien 2019

Englisch

88’ · Schwarz-Weiß

Weltpremiere

Mit

Edward Rowe (Martin Ward)
Simon Sheperd (Tim Leigh)
Mary Woodvine (Sandra Leigh)
Giles King (Steven Ward)
Isaac Woodvine (Neil Ward)
Chloe Endean (Wenna Kowalski)
Jowan Jacobs (Hugo Leigh)
Georgia Ellery (Katie Leigh)
Stacey Guthrie (Liz Stewart)
Tristan Sturrock (Brian Rikard)
Janet Thirlaway (Frau Peters)
Morgan Val Baker (Ehemann)
Martin Ellis (Billy Ward)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Mark Jenkin
Kamera
Mark Jenkin
Montage
Mark Jenkin
Musik
Mark Jenkin
Sound Design
Daniel Thompson
Production Design
Mae Voogd
Kostüm
Mae Voogd
Produzenten
Kate Byers, Linn Waite

Biografie

Mark Jenkin

Geboren 1976. Seit 1997 hat er mehr als 50 Kurzfilme gedreht. 2012 verfasste er das aus 13 Regeln bestehende "Silent Landscape Dancing Grain 13 Film Manifesto", dem er bei der Realisierung seiner Filme folgt.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

2001 Golden Burn; 69 Min. 2007 The Midnight Drives; 95 Min. 2011 Happy Christmas; 109 Min. 2016 A Forest; 82 Min. 2019 Bait

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Early Day Films
www.earlydayfilms.com

Weltvertrieb

The Festival Agency