Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

Buoyancy

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Chakra is 14 and leads an exhausting life. He, his parents and his many siblings all work together in the rice fields of Cambodia. At dinner, they crowd around the wooden table in their small hut, and there are always differences of opinion between father and son. When a friend tells Chakra about the possibility of earning money in a factory, the boy decides to set off on his own. But on the way, he falls into the clutches of human traffickers and is sold into slave labour. On the Thai fishing boat where he now has to work, the captain’s regime is both cruel and arbitrary. Violence, torture and even murder are the order of the day. Chakra realises that his only hope is to get rid of his tormentors.
Rodd Rathjen’s first feature film is a brutal yet realistic depiction of the situation for Cambodian forced labourers. This Australian director’s approach is far from pretty and spares no-one. His gripping film is a passionate testimony against social injustice and, at the same time, a touching and shocking coming-of-age story about a boy whose humanity is put to the test.

by
Rodd Rathjen

Australia 2019

Khmer, Thai, Burmese

93’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Sarm Heng (Chakra)
Thanawut Kasro (Rom Ran)
Mony Ros (Kea)

Crew

Written and directed by
Rodd Rathjen
Director of Photography
Michael Latham
Editing
Graeme Pereira
Music
Lawrence English
Sound Design
Sam Petty
Sound
Dane Cody
Production Design
Bethany Ryan
Costumes
Kanhchana Samrith
Make-up
Rachana Boun
Casting
Non Jungmeier
Assistant Director
Greg Cobain
Production Manager
Boluny Ros
Line Producer
Sovichea Cheap
Producers
Samantha Jennings, Kristina Ceyton, Rita Walsh
Executive Producers
Rithy Panh, Michele Turnure-Salleo, Jeff Harrison, Bryce Menzies, Jonathan Page, Kate Kennedy, Alicia Brown, Jonathan Duffy, Paula Smith Arrigoni
Co-producer
Steven McKinnon

Biography

Rodd Rathjen

Born in Colbinabbin, a small town in central Victoria, Australia in 1981, he graduated with an honours degree in film and television from the Victorian College of the Arts in 2010. His short film Tau Seru, which he directed in India, premiered in the Semaine de la Critique at Cannes in 2013; it went on to screen at over 50 festivals worldwide and won a number of international awards. In 2014, he participated in Berlinale Talents. Buoyancy is his debut feature film.

Filmography

2013 Tau Seru; short film 2015 Sweat; short film

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

World sales

Charades
www.charades.eu

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Buoyancy

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Chakra ist 14 und führt ein anstrengendes Leben. Gemeinsam mit seinen Eltern und vielen Geschwistern arbeitet er auf den Reisfeldern Kambodschas. Zum Abendessen drängen sie sich in ihrer kleinen Hütte um den Holztisch, mit dem Vater gibt es immer wieder Meinungsverschiedenheiten. Als ein Freund Chakra von der Möglichkeit erzählt, in einer Fabrik Geld zu verdienen, zieht der Junge auf eigene Faust los. Doch unterwegs gerät er in die Fänge von Menschenhändlern und wird als Arbeitssklave verkauft. Auf dem thailändischen Fischkutter, auf dem er nun arbeiten muss, herrscht der Kapitän mit Grausamkeit und Willkür. Gewalt, Folter und sogar Mord sind an der Tagesordnung. Chakra erkennt, dass seine einzige Chance darin besteht, sich seiner Peiniger zu entledigen.
In seinem ersten Langfilm stellt Rodd Rathjen die Situation kambodschanischer Zwangsarbeiter ebenso brutal wie realistisch dar. Der australische Regisseur ästhetisiert nichts und schont niemanden. Sein fesselnder Film ist ein flammendes Statement gegen gesellschaftliche Ungerechtigkeit und gleichzeitig eine anrührende und schockierende Coming-of-Age-Story über einen Jungen, dessen Menschlichkeit auf die Probe gestellt wird.

von
Rodd Rathjen

Australien 2019

Khmer, Thai, Burmesisch

93’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Sarm Heng (Chakra)
Thanawut Kasro (Rom Ran)
Mony Ros (Kea)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Rodd Rathjen
Kamera
Michael Latham
Montage
Graeme Pereira
Musik
Lawrence English
Sound Design
Sam Petty
Ton
Dane Cody
Production Design
Bethany Ryan
Kostüm
Kanhchana Samrith
Maske
Rachana Boun
Casting
Non Jungmeier
Regieassistenz
Greg Cobain
Production Manager
Boluny Ros
Herstellungsleitung
Sovichea Cheap
Produzenten
Samantha Jennings, Kristina Ceyton, Rita Walsh
Ausführende Produzenten
Rithy Panh, Michele Turnure-Salleo, Jeff Harrison, Bryce Menzies, Jonathan Page, Kate Kennedy, Alicia Brown, Jonathan Duffy, Paula Smith Arrigoni
Co-Produzent
Steven McKinnon

Biografie

Rodd Rathjen

Geboren 1981 in Colbinabbin, einer Kleinstadt im australischen Victoria. Sein Film- und Fernsehstudium am Victorian College of the Arts schloss er 2010 mit Auszeichnung ab. Der Kurzfilm Tau Seru, den er in Indien drehte, feierte 2013 in der Kritikerwoche von Cannes Premiere. Er wurde seither weltweit auf über 50 Festivals gezeigt und mehrfach international ausgezeichnet. 2014 nahm er bei Berlinale Talents teil. Buoyancy ist sein Langfilmdebüt.

Filmografie

2013 Tau Seru; Kurzfilm 2015 Sweat; Kurzfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Weltvertrieb

Charades
www.charades.eu