Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

Der Atem

The Breath

Eva-Maria Lemke (Protagonist), Lama Gelek Ngawang (Protagonist), Ilker Abay (Protagonist), Christina Vantzou (Music), Cornelius Plache (Cinematography), Uli M Schueppel (Director, Producer)

Moderation: Ralf Schenk

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

The night has its own songs. These are songs about love and hardship, about hope and bitterness, about fulfilment and disappointment; experiences caught between day and dream. Unforgotten moments of pausing, of taking a breath, of infinity solidified into a moment.
In Der Atem (The Breath) Uli M Schueppel collects existential experiences of Berlin at night. People in the darkness of the city tell their personal stories of holding their breath. Theirs are stories of worries, pain, fear and happiness. The breath of these individuals appears to merge; their portrait fragments come together to form a composition, a symphony of life that leaves room for one’s own thoughts, associations and visions. Filmed on analogue black-and-white celluloid, this film deliberately and radically plays with the harsh contrasts of the night. And, like some of its narratives, the film’s images lose themselves in a coarse-grained and reflective blur, creating contrasting surfaces for the words or enclosing them in a magical cosmos. Der Atem is the third part of Uli M Schueppel’s ‘Chants’ trilogy about space, time and the body. A cinematic view of the world, shot between 1998 and 2019.

by
Uli M Schueppel

Germany 2019

German, English, French, Russian

95’ · Black/White

World premiere

With

Eva-Maria Lemke
Alexander Jacoby
Ilker Abay
Sarah Klute
Sophia Chapman
Gelek Ngawang
Bienvenue Mbarga
Uwe Schmidt
Olga Dyer
Daniel Zschigner
u.v.a.

Crew

Written and directed by
Uli M Schueppel
Director of Photography
Cornelius Plache
Editing
Ernst Carias
Music
Christina Vantzou
Sound Design
Marcel Fink
Sound
Martin Fruehmorgen
Assistant Director
Patricia Morosan
Production Manager
Jana Cisar
Producer
Uli M Schueppel
Co-producer
Doris Hepp
Co-production
ZDF/Arte, Mainz

Biography

Uli M Schueppel

Having first studied German, Romance languages and linguistics in Heidelberg, he went on to study directing at the German Film and Television Academy Berlin (DFFB). He has worked as a writer, director, producer and DOP on 14 feature-lengths films, moving between the genres of fiction, essay, music and documentary. He is also a media artist whose work has been exhibited at home and abroad. He is a guest lecturer at the DFFB and the Netherlands Film Academy in Amsterdam.

Filmography

1988 Nihil, oder alle Zeit der Welt 1990 The Road to God Knows Where 1992 Vaterland (Fatherland) 1994 Jahre der Kälte (Frozen Stories) 1996 Sid & Nancy/Ex & Pop 1997 Der Platz (The Place) 2000 Planet Alex 2004 The Song 2005 Santos – Heldentaten, die keiner braucht (Heroic Deeds No One Needs) 2007 Berlinsong; Panorama 2008 Der Tag (The Day) 2009 Elektrokohle (Von Wegen) (Off Ways); Panorama 2010 Tranzania.Living.Room. 2012 Brötzmann – Da gehört die Welt mal mir (That's When the World is Mine); Panorama

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Schueppel Films
schueppel-films.de/

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Der Atem

The Breath

Eva-Maria Lemke (Protagonistin), Lama Gelek Ngawang (Protagonistin), Ilker Abay (Protagonist), Christina Vantzou (Musik), Cornelius Plache (Kamera), Uli M Schueppel (Regisseur, Produzent)

Moderation: Ralf Schenk

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Die Nacht kennt ihre Lieder. Sie handeln von Liebe und Not, von Hoffnung und Bitternis, von Erfüllung und Enttäuschung. Erfahrungen zwischen Tag und Traum. Unvergessene Momente des Innehaltens, des Atemholens, zum Augenblick geronnener Unendlichkeit.
Uli M Schueppel sammelt in Der Atem existenzielle Erlebnisse aus der Berliner Nacht. Menschen im Dunkel der Stadt, die ihre persönlichen Geschichten des Atem-Anhaltens erzählen, Geschichten von Sorgen, Schmerz, Angst und Glück. Menschen, deren Atem ineinander übergeht. Porträtfragmente, die sich zu einer Komposition zusammenfügen. Eine Sinfonie des Lebens, die Raum für eigene Gedanken, Assoziationen, Visionen lässt. Der analog gedrehte Schwarz-Weiß-Film spielt radikal mit den harten Kontrasten der Nacht. Wie auch manche Erzählungen verlieren sich die Bilder in Unschärfen, sind grobkörnig und reflexiv. Sie schaffen Kontrastflächen zu den Worten oder umschließen sie – ein magischer Kosmos. Der Atem ist der dritte Teil von Uli M Schueppels „Gesänge“-Trilogie über die Themen Raum, Zeit und Körper. Eine filmische Weltbetrachtung, gedreht zwischen 1998 und 2019.

von
Uli M Schueppel

Deutschland 2019

Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Russisch

95’ · Schwarz-Weiß

Weltpremiere

Mit

Eva-Maria Lemke
Alexander Jacoby
Ilker Abay
Sarah Klute
Sophia Chapman
Gelek Ngawang
Bienvenue Mbarga
Uwe Schmidt
Olga Dyer
Daniel Zschigner
u.v.a.

Stab

Regie, Buch
Uli M Schueppel
Kamera
Cornelius Plache
Montage
Ernst Carias
Musik
Christina Vantzou
Sound Design
Marcel Fink
Ton
Martin Fruehmorgen
Regieassistenz
Patricia Morosan
Production Manager
Jana Cisar
Produzent
Uli M Schueppel
Co-Produzent
Doris Hepp
Co-Produktion
ZDF/Arte, Mainz

Biografie

Uli M Schueppel

Studium der Germanistik, Romanistik und Linguistik in Heidelberg, im Anschluss Regie an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (dffb). Neben Kurzfilmen, Musikvideos und Animationen schuf er als Autor, Regisseur, Produzent und Kameramann 14 abendfüllende Filme, die sich zwischen den Genres Spiel-, Essay-, Musik- und Dokumentarfilm bewegen. Er wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet, arbeitet auch im Bereich Medienkunst und stellte seine Arbeiten national und international aus. Seit 2003 ist er Gastdozent für Regie und Dokumentarfilm an der dffb und der Nederlandse Filmacademie in Amsterdam.

Filmografie

1988 Nihil, oder alle Zeit der Welt 1990 The Road to God Knows Where 1992 Vaterland (Fatherland) 1994 Jahre der Kälte (Frozen Stories) 1996 Sid & Nancy/Ex & Pop 1997 Der Platz (The Place) 2000 Planet Alex 2004 The Song 2005 Santos – Heldentaten, die keiner braucht (Heroic Deeds No One Needs) 2007 Berlinsong; Panorama 2008 Der Tag (The Day) 2009 Elektrokohle (Von Wegen) (Off Ways); Panorama 2010 Tranzania.Living.Room. 2012 Brötzmann – Da gehört die Welt mal mir (That's When the World is Mine); Panorama

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Schueppel Films
schueppel-films.de/