Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Berlinale Special Gala

Gully Boy

Ritesh Sidhwani (Producer), Alia Bhatt (Actor), Ranveer Singh (Actor), Zoya Akhtar (Director, Screenwriter, Producer)

Moderation: Dorothee Wenner

Press Conference at full length
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Murad is 22 and lives in Dharavi, a slum in Mumbai. His poverty-stricken Muslim family are struggling to pay for his college education so that he can later secure an office job. His father, an unskilled chauffeur, has just brought a second wife into their home, which does not exactly decrease the tensions in this five-person household. Murad seeks comfort in marijuana, in self-penned angry hip-hop, and in his secret childhood sweetheart, Safeena, a doctor’s daughter who is proud to wear her white hijab. When Murad accidentally meets a well-known rapper who encourages him to expand his hobby, a whole new world opens up for him. Together with his friends, he begins producing his own songs in which he raps about his problems, as well as those of his generation and his country. He also talks about what it means to be poor and Muslim in India and about the fact that here, even your dreams are colonised. As he dives deeper and deeper into the world of music, Murad’s life changes – and so does his relationship to his family and to Safeena.
Bollywood meets hip-hop in Zoya Akhtar’s colourful but socially critical story about music and love.

by
Zoya Akhtar

India 2018

Hindi

148’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Ranveer Singh (Murad)
Alia Bhatt (Safeena)
Siddhant Chaturvedi (Sher)
Kalki Koechlin (Sky)
Vijay Raaz (Shakir)
Amruta Subhash (Razia)

Crew

Director
Zoya Akhtar
Screenplay
Reema Kagti, Zoya Akhtar
Director of Photography
Jay Oza
Editing
Nitin Baid
Music
Karsh Kale
Music Supervisor
Ankur Tewari
Sound Design
Ayush Ahuja
Production Design
Suzanne Caplan Merwanji
Costumes
Arjun Bhasin, Poornamrita Singh
Make-up
Natasha Nischol
Assistant Director
Luis Casacuberta Abril
Casting
Nandini Srikent
Production Manager
Tikaram Dhakal
Producers
Ritesh Sidhwani, Zoya Akhtar, Farhan Akhtar
Executive Producer
Stuti V Ramachandra

Biography

Zoya Akhtar

Born in 1972 to poet and screenwriter Javed Akhtar and actor and screenwriter Honey Irani, her multi-award-winning directing debut, Luck by Chance, was set in the world of the Bollywood film industry. With her second film, Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara (2011), she was one of the first women to bring a commercially successful film to Indian cinemas. She directed an episode in the portmanteau film Bombay Talkies that premiered at Cannes. It was followed by Dil Dhadakne Do, about a dysfunctional family. She has also created the series Made in Heaven for Amazon Prime which will be released in March 2019.

Filmography

2009 Luck by Chance 2011 Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara (Man lebt nur einmal) 2013 Bombay Talkies; co-directors: Dibakar Banerjee, Karan Johar, Anurag Kashyap 2015 Dil Dhadakne Do (Ozean der Träume - Dil Dhadakne Do) 2018 Lust Stories; co-directors: Dibakar Banerjee, Karan Johar, Anurag Kashyap · Gully Boy

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Excel Entertainment
www.exlent.com

Tiger Baby

World sales

C International Sales / Cinestaan Intl.
www.cintsales.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special Gala

Gully Boy

Ritesh Sidhwani (Produzent), Alia Bhatt (Schauspielerin), Ranveer Singh (Schauspieler), Zoya Akhtar (Regisseurin, Drehbuchautorin, Produzentin)

Moderation: Dorothee Wenner

Pressekonferenz in voller Länge
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Murad ist 22 und lebt in Dharavi, einem Slum in Mumbai. Um ihm später einen Bürojob zu sichern, bezahlt seine arme muslimische Familie unter großen Mühen das College. Sein Vater, ein ungelernter Chauffeur, hat gerade eine zweite Ehefrau ins Haus gebracht, was die Spannungen in dem Fünf-Personen-Haushalt nicht gerade mindert. Murad sucht Trost in Marihuana, selbst verfasstem, zornigem Hip-Hop und bei seiner heimlichen Kindheitsfreundin, der Arzttochter Safeena, die ihren weißen Hidschab mit Stolz trägt. Als Murad zufällig einem bekannten Rapper begegnet, der ihn ermuntert, sein Hobby auszubauen, eröffnet sich ihm eine neue Welt. Gemeinsam mit Freunden beginnt er, eigene Songs zu produzieren. Er rappt über die Probleme seines Lebens, seiner Generation, seines Landes. Darüber, was es bedeutet, in Indien arm und muslimisch zu sein. Und darüber, dass hier selbst die Träume kolonialisiert sind. Während er immer tiefer in die Welt der Musik eintaucht, verändert sich Murads Leben und damit auch das Verhältnis zu seiner Familie und zu Safeena.
Unter Zoya Akhtars Regie vereinen sich Bollywood und Hip-Hop zu einer farbenprächtigen Musik- und Liebesgeschichte mit sozialkritischem Hintergrund.

von
Zoya Akhtar

Indien 2018

Hindi

148’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Ranveer Singh (Murad)
Alia Bhatt (Safeena)
Siddhant Chaturvedi (Sher)
Kalki Koechlin (Sky)
Vijay Raaz (Shakir)
Amruta Subhash (Razia)

Stab

Regie
Zoya Akhtar
Buch
Reema Kagti, Zoya Akhtar
Kamera
Jay Oza
Montage
Nitin Baid
Musik
Karsh Kale
Music Supervisor
Ankur Tewari
Sound Design
Ayush Ahuja
Production Design
Suzanne Caplan Merwanji
Kostüm
Arjun Bhasin, Poornamrita Singh
Maske
Natasha Nischol
Regieassistenz
Luis Casacuberta Abril
Casting
Nandini Srikent
Production Manager
Tikaram Dhakal
Produzenten
Ritesh Sidhwani, Zoya Akhtar, Farhan Akhtar
Executive Producer
Stuti V Ramachandra

Biografie

Zoya Akhtar

Geboren 1972 als Tochter des Dichters und Drehbuchautors Javed Akhtar und der Schauspielerin und Drehbuchautorin Honey Irani. Ihr mehrfach preisgekröntes Regiedebüt, Luck by Chance, spielt in der Welt der Bollywood-Filmindustrie. Mit ihrem zweiten Film, Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara, war sie 2011 eine der ersten Frauen, die einen kommerziell erfolgreichen Film in die indischen Kinos bringen konnten. Sie führte Regie bei einer Episode des Omnibus-Films Bombay Talkies, der in Cannes Premiere feierte. Es folgte Dil Dhadakne Do über eine dysfunktionale Familie. Für Amazon Prime kreierte sie die Serie Made in Heaven, die im März 2019 startet.

Filmografie

2009 Luck by Chance 2011 Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara (Man lebt nur einmal) 2013 Bombay Talkies; Co-Regie: Dibakar Banerjee, Karan Johar, Anurag Kashyap 2015 Dil Dhadakne Do (Ozean der Träume - Dil Dhadakne Do) 2018 Lust Stories; Co-Regie: Dibakar Banerjee, Karan Johar, Anurag Kashyap · Gully Boy

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Excel Entertainment
www.exlent.com

Tiger Baby

Weltvertrieb

C International Sales / Cinestaan Intl.
www.cintsales.com