Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

Skin

Celine Rattray (Producer), Oren Moverman (Producer), Jaime Ray Newman (Producer), Danielle Macdonald (Actress), Jamie Bell (Actor), Guy Nattiv (Director, Screenwriter, Producer)

Moderation: Jenni Zylka

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Raised by two ardent white supremacists, Bryon bears hatred deep in his heart – and visibly on his skin: even this young skinhead’s face is covered in tattoos, many of which feature right-wing slogans and symbols. But then he meets and falls in love with mother-of-three Julie who has just turned her back on the right-wing scene. Deciding that he too wants to get out, he seeks help from human rights activist Daryle. But Bryon’s racist ‘family’ will not let him go.
In Skin, Israeli director Guy Nattiv brings together an outstanding cast to tell, in oppressively authentic images, the true story of Bryon Widner who broke out of the scene and whose change of heart found a physical expression: in an extremely painful procedure, Widner spent months having most of his tattoos removed.

by
Guy Nattiv

USA 2019

English

117’ · Colour

With

Jamie Bell (Bryon)
Danielle Macdonald (Julie)
Vera Farmiga (Shareen)
Bill Camp (Fred)
Mike Colter (Daryle)
Zoe Colletti (Desiree)
Colbi Gannett (Iggy)
Kylie Rogers (Sierra)
Louisa Krause (April)
David Henshall (Slayer)

Crew

Written and directed by
Guy Nattiv
Director of Photography
Arnaud Potier
Editing
Lee Percy
Music
Dan Romer
Sound
Lew Goldstein
Production Design
Mary Lena Colston
Costumes
Mirren Gordon-Crozier
Make-up
Stephen Bettles
Casting
Laura Rosenthal
Assistant Director
Ben Kahn
Producers
Guy Nattiv, Celine Rattray, Trudie Styler, Jaime Ray Newman, Oren Moverman, Dillon D Jordan

Biography

Guy Nattiv

Born in Tel Aviv, Israel in 1973, he studied at the film and television department of the Camera Obscura School of Art in the same city. As a director he made short films and commercials for international companies for over ten years. His short film Mabul (The Flood) screened at the 2002 Berlinale where it won a Crystal Bear. From this work he developed a feature film of the same name which also screened in the Generation section. In 2004, Panorama presented his short film Strangers (with Erez Tadmor). His short film by the name of Skin has been nominated for an Oscar; his full-length film Skin is the first feature film he has made in the USA.

Filmography

2002 Mabul (The Flood); short film 2003 Strangers; short film, co-director: Erez Tadmor 2006 Offside; short film, co-director: Erez Tadmor 2007 Strangers; co-director: Erez Tadmor 2010 Mabul 2014 Magic Men; co-director: Erez Tadmor · Dear God 2018 Skin; short film

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

New Native

Maven Pictures

PaperChase Films

Sight Unseen

World sales

Voltage Pictures
www.voltagepictures.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Skin

Celine Rattray (Produzentin), Oren Moverman (Produzent), Jaime Ray Newman (Produzentin), Danielle Macdonald (Schauspielerin), Jamie Bell (Schauspieler), Guy Nattiv (Regisseur, Drehbuchautor, Produzent)

Moderation: Jenni Zylka

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Erzogen von zwei glühenden Anhängern der White-Supremacy-Ideologie, trägt Bryon den Hass tief im Herzen und sichtbar auf der Haut: Die Tattoos des kahl rasierten jungen Mannes überziehen auch sein Gesicht, darunter jede Menge rechte Parolen und Symbole. Als er die dreifache Mutter Julie kennen- und lieben lernt, die der rechten Szene gerade den Rücken gekehrt hat, will er ebenfalls aussteigen und sucht Hilfe bei dem Menschenrechtsaktivisten Daryle. Doch seine rassistische „Familie“ lässt Bryon nicht gehen.
Der israelische Regisseur Guy Nattiv erzählt in Skin mit einem hervorragenden Cast und bedrückend-authentischen Bildern die wahre Geschichte des Szeneaussteigers Bryon Widner, dessen Gesinnungswandel eine äußere Entsprechung fand: In einer extrem schmerzhaften Prozedur ließ sich Widner über Monate hinweg die meisten seiner Tätowierungen entfernen.

von
Guy Nattiv

USA 2019

Englisch

117’ · Farbe

Mit

Jamie Bell (Bryon)
Danielle Macdonald (Julie)
Vera Farmiga (Shareen)
Bill Camp (Fred)
Mike Colter (Daryle)
Zoe Colletti (Desiree)
Colbi Gannett (Iggy)
Kylie Rogers (Sierra)
Louisa Krause (April)
David Henshall (Slayer)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Guy Nattiv
Kamera
Arnaud Potier
Montage
Lee Percy
Musik
Dan Romer
Ton
Lew Goldstein
Production Design
Mary Lena Colston
Kostüm
Mirren Gordon-Crozier
Maske
Stephen Bettles
Casting
Laura Rosenthal
Regieassistenz
Ben Kahn
Produzenten
Guy Nattiv, Celine Rattray, Trudie Styler, Jaime Ray Newman, Oren Moverman, Dillon D Jordan

Biografie

Guy Nattiv

Geboren 1973 in Tel Aviv, wo er auch die Camera Obscura School of Art, Abteilung Film und Fernsehen, besuchte. Als Regisseur drehte er mehr als zehn Jahre Kurzfilme und Werbefilme für internationale Unternehmen. Der Kurzfilm Mabul wurde 2002 auf der Berlinale mit dem Gläsernen Bären ausgezeichnet. Auch sein auf diesem Werk basierender gleichnamiger Spielfilm wurde in der Sektion Generation gezeigt. Panorama präsentierte 2004 den Kurzfilm Strangers (mit Erez Tadmor). Der Kurzfilm Skin ist für den Oscar nominiert. Skin ist Nattivs erster US-Spielfilm.

Filmografie

2002 Mabul (The Flood); Kurzfilm 2003 Strangers; Kurzfilm, Co-Regie: Erez Tadmor 2006 Offside; Kurzfilm, Co-Regie: Erez Tadmor 2007 Strangers; Co-Regie: Erez Tadmor 2010 Mabul 2014 Magic Men; Co-Regie: Erez Tadmor · Dear God 2018 Skin; Kurzfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

New Native

Maven Pictures

PaperChase Films

Sight Unseen

Weltvertrieb

Voltage Pictures
www.voltagepictures.com