Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Competition

Répertoire des villes disparues

Ghost Town Anthology

 

Jean-Michel Anctil (Actor), Larissa Corriveau (Actress), Denis Côté (Director, Screenwriter, Casting), Robert Naylor (Actor), Diane Lavallée (Actress), François Messier-Rheault (Cinematography), Ziad Touma (Producer)

Moderation: Jenni Zylka

Press Conference at full length
 

Director Denis Côté on his film

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Irénée-les-Neiges is a remote village somewhere in Quebec with only 215 inhabitants. When young Simon Dubé dies in a car accident, the villagers’ tranquil and regulated existence is thrown out of step. People are decidedly reluctant to talk about the particulars of the accident. For Simon’s parents and his brother, their grief means that time seems to lose all meaning and their mood gradually spreads to others. The mayoress’s pragmatism increasingly comes to nought, and this older married couple find themselves unable to maintain their quirky habits in peace. Snowy, frosty winter days stretch out into infinity. Something barely tangible descends on the region, like a veil. Mysterious figures emerge from the fog and commit strange acts. To intensify the unreal atmosphere, this film was shot on 16mm. Stories from another time appear to lurk behind the coarse-grained, flickering celluloid images. But what seems strange is sometimes more familiar than one might suspect.

by
Denis Côté

Canada 2018

French

96’ · Colour

Shot on 16mm

World premiere

With

Robert Naylor (Jimmy Dubé)
Josée Deschênes (Gisèle Dubé)
Jean-Michel Anctil (Romuald Dubé)
Larissa Corriveau (Adèle)
Rémi Goulet (André)
Diane Lavallée (Simone Smallwood)
Hubert Proulx (Pierre)
Rachel Graton (Camille)
Normand Carrière (Richard)
Jocelyne Zucco (Louise)

Crew

Written and directed by
Denis Côté
Director of Photography
François Messier-Rheault
Editing
Nicolas Roy
Sound Design
Frédéric Cloutier
Sound
Yann Cleary
Production Design
Marie-Pier Fortier
Costumes
Caroline Bodson
Make-up
Dominique T. Hasbani
Assistant Director
Catherine Kirouac
Casting
Denis Côté
Production Manager
Yanick Savard
Producer
Ziad Touma

Biography

Denis Côté

Born in New Brunswick, Canada in 1973, after working for a few years as a journalist and film critic, he made his directorial debut in 2005 with Les états nordiques which won the Golden Leopard in the video competition at Locarno. After the Forum screened his internationally celebrated film Bestiaire in 2012, his next film, Vic + Flo ont vu un ours took part in the 2013 Berlinale Competition and won the Alfred Bauer Prize. His work most recently screened at the Berlinale in 2016 with Boris sans Béatrice.

Filmography

2005 Les états nordiques (Drifting States) 2007 Nos vies privées (Our Private Lives) · Maïté 2008 Elle veut le chaos (All That She Wants) 2009 Carcasses 2010 Les lignes ennemies (The Enemy Lines) · Curling (Geheimnisse im Schnee) 2012 Bestiaire 2013 Vic + Flo ont vu un ours (Vic + Flo haben einen Bären gesehen) 2014 Que ta joie demeure (Joy of Man's Desiring) 2015 Excursões (Excursions) · Que nous nous assoupissions (May We Sleep Soundly) 2016 Boris sans Béatrice 2018 Répertoire des villes disparues (Ghost Town Anthology)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Couzin Films

World sales

Films Boutique
www.filmsboutique.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

Répertoire des villes disparues

Ghost Town Anthology

 

Jean-Michel Anctil (Schauspieler), Larissa Corriveau (Schauspielerin), Denis Côté (Regisseur, Drehbuchautor, Casting), Robert Naylor (Schauspieler), Diane Lavallée (Schauspielerin), François Messier-Rheault (Kamera), Ziad Touma (Produzent)

Moderation: Jenni Zylka

Pressekonferenz in voller Länge
 

Regisseur Denis Côté über ihren Film

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Irénée-les-Neiges ist eine abgelegene Ortschaft mit nur 215 Einwohnern irgendwo in Quebec. Als der junge Simon Dubé bei einem Autounfall ums Leben kommt, gerät der geregelte und beschauliche Alltag aus dem Takt. Über die näheren Umstände des Unglücks wird nur ungern gesprochen. Für Simons Eltern und seinen Bruder scheint mit der Trauer die Zeit an Bedeutung und Sinn zu verlieren, und diese Stimmung überträgt sich allmählich auch auf andere. Der Pragmatismus der Bürgermeisterin läuft immer mehr ins Leere, das ältere Ehepaar kann nicht mehr in Ruhe seine schrulligen Gewohnheiten pflegen. Verschneite und frostige Wintertage dehnen sich ins Unendliche. Etwas kaum Fassbares senkt sich wie ein Schleier über die Gegend. Mysteriöse Gestalten treten aus dem Nebel und treiben seltsame Dinge.
Um die irreale Stimmung zu verstärken, wurde der Film auf 16mm gedreht. Hinter den grobkörnigen und flirrenden Zelluloidbildern scheinen sich Geschichten aus anderen Zeiten zu verbergen. Was fremd erscheint, ist manchmal vertrauter als man ahnt.

von
Denis Côté

Kanada 2018

Französisch

96’ · Farbe

gedreht auf 16mm

Weltpremiere

Mit

Robert Naylor (Jimmy Dubé)
Josée Deschênes (Gisèle Dubé)
Jean-Michel Anctil (Romuald Dubé)
Larissa Corriveau (Adèle)
Rémi Goulet (André)
Diane Lavallée (Simone Smallwood)
Hubert Proulx (Pierre)
Rachel Graton (Camille)
Normand Carrière (Richard)
Jocelyne Zucco (Louise)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Denis Côté
Kamera
François Messier-Rheault
Montage
Nicolas Roy
Sound Design
Frédéric Cloutier
Ton
Yann Cleary
Production Design
Marie-Pier Fortier
Kostüm
Caroline Bodson
Maske
Dominique T. Hasbani
Regieassistenz
Catherine Kirouac
Casting
Denis Côté
Production Manager
Yanick Savard
Produzent
Ziad Touma

Biografie

Denis Côté

Geboren 1973 in New Brunswick, Kanada. Nachdem er einige Jahre als Journalist und Filmkritiker tätig war, legte er 2005 mit Les états nordiques sein Regiedebüt vor, das in Locarno mit den Goldenen Leoparden im Videowettbewerb ausgezeichnet wurde. Nachdem das Forum 2012 seinen international gefeierten Film Bestiaire zeigte, wurde sein folgender Film, Vic + Flo ont vu un ours, 2013 in den Wettbewerb der Berlinale eingeladen und mit dem Alfred-Bauer-Preis ausgezeichnet. Mit Boris sans Béatrice war er zuletzt 2016 Gast der Berlinale.

Filmografie

2005 Les états nordiques (Drifting States) 2007 Nos vies privées (Our Private Lives) · Maïté; Kurzfilm 2008 Elle veut le chaos (All That She Wants) 2009 Carcasses 2010 Les lignes ennemies (The Enemy Lines) · Curling (Geheimnisse im Schnee) 2012 Bestiaire 2013 Vic + Flo ont vu un ours (Vic + Flo haben einen Bären gesehen) 2014 Que ta joie demeure (Joy of Man's Desiring) 2015 Excursões (Excursions); Kurzfilm · Que nous nous assoupissions (May We Sleep Soundly); Kurzfilm 2016 Boris sans Béatrice 2018 Répertoire des villes disparues (Ghost Town Anthology)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Couzin Films

Weltvertrieb

Films Boutique
www.filmsboutique.com