Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama Dokumente

Lemebel

## ## ## ## ## ##

Pedro Lemebel’s sharp-tongued, poetic texts and provocative performances made him one of South America’s most important contemporary artists. In dictatorial Chile under Pinochet, Lemebel expressed things that only few dared to say. Even for the country’s left-wing opposition, his camp, eccentric appearances made him an awkward figure as he held up the mirror to their own machismo and homophobia. Loud and open, he embodied and propagated an uncomfortable gay identity and vehemently criticised the desire of some ‘gays’ to be assimilated into a heteronormative society.
Joanna Reposi Garibaldi uses countless slides and video clips to shape this essay-like memento which is multilayered in both its visuals and its content and possesses a subtle sound design. She has enhanced it with intimate recordings and interviews. By projecting images of Lemebel’s performances onto public buildings, she not only underscores their character as interventions in public spaces, but also creates unusual additional visual levels for her film. Lemebel portrays a tireless fighter who continued to speak out right up until the end of his life.

by
Joanna Reposi Garibaldi

Chile / Colombia 2019

Spanish

Documentary form
96’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Pedro Lemebel

Crew

Written and directed by
Joanna Reposi Garibaldi
Director of Photography
Niles Atallah
Editing
Titi Viera-Gallo Chadwick
Music
Camilo Salinas
Sound Design
Roberto Espinoza
Production Design
Paula Sáenz-Laguna
Texts
Manuel Maira
Archival Research
Matías Valdivia
Assistant Director
Lissette Orozco
Producer
Paula Sáenz-Laguna
Executive Producer
Joanna Reposi Garibaldi
Co-producer
Natalia del Pilar González Beltrán
Co-production
Señal Colombia, Bogotá

Biography

Joanna Reposi Garibaldi

This filmmaker and visual artist was born in Santiago de Chile in 1971 and studied art at Goldsmiths College, University of London. Her short film Sam & Dave premiered at the Institute of Contemporary Art in London; her debut feature film, Locos del Alma, screened at numerous international festivals. In 2017, she made the short film Matriz, which was shown in the Museo de Arte Contemporáneo in Santiago de Chile and at the Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement in Buenos Aires.

Filmography

2002 Sam & Dave; short film 2003 Locos del alma (Soul Madness) 2017 Matriz; short film

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Solita Producciones
www.solita.cl/

World sales

Compañía de Cine & Kino Rebelde
companiadecine.wixsite.com/cdcine

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama Dokumente

Lemebel

## ## ## ## ## ##

Mit seinen scharfzüngigen, poetischen Texten und seinen provokanten Performances gehörte Pedro Lemebel zu den wichtigsten zeitgenössischen Künstlern Südamerikas. Im diktatorisch geführten Chile unter Pinochet sprach er Dinge aus, die sonst nur wenige zu sagen wagten. Aber auch der linken Opposition wurde er durch seine tuntig-exzentrischen Auftritte ungemütlich, spiegelte er doch dadurch deren eigenen Machismo und Homophobie. Laut und offen lebte und propagierte er ein unbequemes Schwulsein und kritisierte vehement den Wunsch einiger „gays“ nach Assimilation an eine heteronormative Gesellschaft.
Inhaltlich und visuell vielschichtig und mit subtilem Sound Design verarbeitet Joanna Reposi Garibaldi zahllose Dias und Videomitschnitte zu einem essayhaften Erinnerungsstück, das sie mit intimen Aufnahmen und Interviews anreichert. Indem sie Bilder von Lemebels Performances auf öffentliche Gebäude projiziert, unterstreicht sie nicht nur deren Charakter als Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum, sondern schafft auch ungewöhnliche zusätzliche visuelle Ebenen. Lemebel ist das Porträt eines unermüdlichen Kämpfers, der bis an sein Lebensende seine Stimme erhob.

von
Joanna Reposi Garibaldi

Chile / Kolumbien 2019

Spanisch

Dokumentarische Form
96’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Pedro Lemebel

Stab

Regie, Buch
Joanna Reposi Garibaldi
Kamera
Niles Atallah
Montage
Titi Viera-Gallo Chadwick
Musik
Camilo Salinas
Sound Design
Roberto Espinoza
Production Design
Paula Sáenz-Laguna
Texte
Manuel Maira
Archivrecherche
Matías Valdivia
Regieassistenz
Lissette Orozco
Produzent
Paula Sáenz-Laguna
Executive Producer
Joanna Reposi Garibaldi
Co-Produzent
Natalia del Pilar González Beltrán
Co-Produktion
Señal Colombia, Bogotá

Biografie

Joanna Reposi Garibaldi

Die Filmemacherin und bildende Künstlerin wurde 1971 in Santiago de Chile geboren. Sie studierte Kunst am Goldsmiths College der University of London. Ihr Kurzfilm Sam & Dave wurde am Institute of Contemporary Art in London uraufgeführt, ihr Langfilmdebüt Locos del Alma lief auf mehreren internationalen Festivals. 2017 drehte sie den Kurzfilm Matriz, der im Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Santiago de Chile und bei der Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement in Buenos Aires gezeigt wurde.

Filmografie

2002 Sam & Dave; Kurzfilm 2003 Locos del alma (Soul Madness) 2017 Matriz; Kurzfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Solita Producciones
www.solita.cl/

Weltvertrieb

Compañía de Cine & Kino Rebelde
companiadecine.wixsite.com/cdcine