Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum Expanded

The Mermaids, or Aiden in Wonderland

## ## ##

In the not so distant future, Europeans will no longer be able to survive for long periods outdoors in a land and seascape poisoned by capitalism, but Indigenous people seem able to. A young Indigenous man, Aiden, taken away when he was just a baby to be a part of a medical experiment to “save the white ‘race’”, is released into the world of his family. As he travels with his father and brother across the landscape he confronts two possible futures and pasts.
The Mermaids, or Aiden in Wonderland is a powerful intervention in contemporary debates about the future present of climate change, extractive capitalism, and industrial toxicity from the point of view of Indigenous worlds.

by
Karrabing Film Collective

Australia 2018

Aboriginal English, English

27’ · Colour

With

Aiden Sing (Aiden)
Trevor Bianamu (Trevor)
Gavin Bianamu (Gavin)
Kieran Sing (Kieran)
Sandra Yarrowin (Mermaid)

Crew

Written and directed by
Karrabing Film Collective
Editing
Elizabeth A. Povinelli
Sound Design
Thomas Bartlett
Producer
Karrabing Film Collective

Biography

Karrabing Film Collective

The Karrabing Film Collective (est. 2008) is an award-winning group of some thirty filmmakers and artists who use their aesthetic practices as a means of self-organization and social analysis. Most Karrabing are Indigenous and live in a rural community in northwestern Australia. In the Emiyengal Indigenous language Karrabing means ‘tide out’. It refers to a time of coming together, as well as to the coastline that connects the Karrabing Film Collective as an extended family group across social lines. Their films and installations have been shown in biennials, film festivals, and exhibitions worldwide.

Filmography

2012 Karrabing, Low Tide Turning; 14 min. 2014 When the Dogs Talked; 34 min. 2015 Windjarrameru: The Stealing C*nts; 36 min. 2016 Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams; 29 min., Forum Expanded 2017 2017 SeenUnseen Trilogy; video installation, 4 min. · Night Time Go; 31 min. · The Jealous One; 29 min. 2018 They Ben Jealous; video installatoin, 19 min. · Mermaids, Mirror Worlds; 35 min. · The Mermaids, or Aiden in Wonderland

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Karrabing Indigneous Corporation

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

The Mermaids, or Aiden in Wonderland

## ## ##

In nicht allzu ferner Zukunft ist es Europäer*innen nicht mehr möglich, für längere Zeit im Freien zu überleben. Nur indigene Menschen scheinen in der Lage, in den vom Kapitalismus vergifteteten Landschaften zu existieren.
Aiden, ein junger indigener Mann, wurde als Baby seiner Familie entrissen, um für ein medizinisches Experiment als Versuchsperson zu dienen, das „die weiße ‚Rasse’ retten“ sollte. Jetzt wird er wieder in die Welt seiner Vorfahren entlassen. Während er mit seinem Vater und seinem Bruder die Landschaft durchquert, wird er mit zwei möglichen Zukunfts- und Vergangenheitsversionen konfrontiert. The Mermaids, or Aiden in Wonderland ist eine Intervention in aktuelle Debatten über die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels, extraktiven Kapitalismus und industrielle Toxizität aus der Sicht indigener Welten.

von
Karrabing Film Collective

Australien 2018

Aboriginal-Englisch, Englisch

27’ · Farbe

Mit

Aiden Sing (Aiden)
Trevor Bianamu (Trevor)
Gavin Bianamu (Gavin)
Kieran Sing (Kieran)
Sandra Yarrowin (Meerjungfrau)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Karrabing Film Collective
Montage
Elizabeth A. Povinelli
Sound Design
Thomas Bartlett
Produzent
Karrabing Film Collective

Biografie

Karrabing Film Collective

Das Karrabing Film Collective, gegründet 2008, ist eine Gruppe von rund 30 Filmemacher*innen und Künstler*innen, die ihre ästhetische Praxis als ein Mittel zur Selbstorganisation und sozialen Analyse nutzt. Die indigenen Karrabing-Mitglieder (der Großteil der Gruppe) leben in ländlichen Gemeinden im Nordwesten Australiens. Karrabing bedeutet auf Emiyengal den tiefsten Punkt der Ebbe und bezieht sich auf eine Zeit des Zusammenkommens sowie auf die Küste, die die Mitglieder des Kollektivs über soziale Linien hinweg als erweiterte Familie verbindet. Ihre Filme und Installationen gewannen mehrere Preise und waren weltweit auf Biennalen, Filmfestivals und in Ausstellungen zu sehen.

Filmografie

2012 Karrabing, Low Tide Turning; 14 Min. 2014 When the Dogs Talked; 34 Min. 2015 Windjarrameru: The Stealing C*nts; 36 Min. 2016 Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams; 29 Min., Forum Expanded 2017 2017 SeenUnseen Trilogy; Videoinstallation, 4 Min. · Night Time Go; 31 Min. · The Jealous One; 29 Min. 2018 They Ben Jealous; Videoinstallation, 19 Min. · Mermaids, Mirror Worlds; 35 Min. · The Mermaids, or Aiden in Wonderland

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Karrabing Indigneous Corporation