Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum Expanded

Jagdpartie

Hunting Party

## ## ## ## ##

During the late seventies and early eighties, a group of filmmakers who were then the staff of the Cinema Section at the Department of Culture issued a periodical named CINEMA. This same group then founded the Sudanese Film Group (SFG) in April 1989 to give them more independence from the state. The purpose of the group was to be fully engaged in all aspects of film production, screening, and teaching, as well as maintaining the passion of the Sudanese for the cinema. But on 30 June 1989 the coup d’état, which brought with it a suspicion of all forms of art, terminated any cultural aspirations and banned all civic society organizations. Finally in 2005 the heavy hand of the state was loosened somewhat, and the SFG was able to re-register.
Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art digitally restored seven works by these Sudanese filmmakers in 2018. Ibrahim Shaddad’s graduation film Jagdpartie (1964), which he shot at the Deutsche Hochschule für Filmkunst Potsdam-Babelsberg (now: Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF), is a treatise on racism. Shot in a forest in Brandenburg, it uses a Western look to portray the hunt for a Black man.

by
Ibrahim Shaddad

German Democratic Republic 1964

German

41’ · Black/White

With

Ambroise Ruzidana
Petra Hinze
Heinz Schröder
Günter Meier

Crew

Director
Ibrahim Shaddad
Screenplay
Ibrahim Shaddad, Claus Neumann
Director of Photography
Claus Neumann
Editing
Ruth Ebel
Sound Design
Gerhard Rodenfeld
Production Design
E.R. Pech
Production Manager
V. Pech
Restoration
Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst

Biography

Ibrahim Shaddad

Ibrahim Shaddad, born in Halfa, Sudan in 1945, studied at the Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF. He has written and directed many films and some plays. Practically all films and plays in Sudan were discontinued by producers or banned by governments. He is a founding member of the Sudanese Film Group and a member of the editorial board of the magazine Cinema.

Filmography

1964 Jagdpartie (Hunting Party) 1981 Jamal (A Camel); 14 min. 1984 Al Habil (The Rope); 32 min. 1994 Insan; 25 min.

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Deutsche Hochschule für Filmkunst Potsdam-Babelsberg

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Jagdpartie

Hunting Party

## ## ## ## ##

In den späten 1970er- und frühen 1980er-Jahren gab eine Gruppe von Filmemachern, die zu dem Zeitpunkt in der Filmabteilung des Kulturministeriums arbeiteten, das Magazin CINEMA heraus. Diese Gruppe gründete im April 1989 die Sudanese Film Group (SFG), um unabhängiger vom Staat agieren zu können. Ihr Ziel bestand darin, an allen Aspekten der Filmproduktion, der Filmvorführung und der Lehre beteiligt zu sein und die Leidenschaft der Sudanes*innen für das Kino aufrechtzuerhalten. Am 30. Juni 1989 beendete jedoch der Putsch, der ein Misstrauen gegenüber allen Formen der Kunst mit sich brachte, jegliche kulturellen Bestrebungen. Alle zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen wurden verboten. Im Jahr 2005 wurde schließlich die feste Hand des Staates etwas gelockert und die SFG konnte sich erneut registrieren.
Das Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst ließ 2018 sieben Werke dieser sudanesischen Filmemacher digital restaurieren. Der Abschlussfilm von Ibrahim Shaddad, den er an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF (zur Zeit der Produktion: Deutsche Hochschule für Filmkunst Potsdam-Babelsberg) drehte, ist eine Abhandlung über Rassismus. In einem Wald in Brandenburg gedreht, erzählt Jagdpartie (1964) im Western-Look von der Jagd auf einen Schwarzen.

von
Ibrahim Shaddad

Deutsche Demokratische Republik 1964

Deutsch

41’ · Schwarz-Weiß

Mit

Ambroise Ruzidana
Petra Hinze
Heinz Schröder
Günter Meier

Stab

Regie
Ibrahim Shaddad
Buch
Ibrahim Shaddad, Claus Neumann
Kamera
Claus Neumann
Montage
Ruth Ebel
Sound Design
Gerhard Rodenfeld
Production Design
E.R. Pech
Production Manager
V. Pech
Restaurierung
Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst

Biografie

Ibrahim Shaddad

Ibrahim Shaddad, geboren 1945 in Halfa, Sudan, ist ein Absolvent der Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf (seinerzeit Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen der DDR). Fast all seine Filme und Theaterstücke wurden von den Produzenten eingestellt oder von der sudanesischen Regierung verboten. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Sudanese Film Group sowie Redaktionsmitglied des Magazins Cinema.

Filmografie

1964 Jagdpartie (Hunting Party) 1981 Jamal (A Camel); 14 Min. 1984 Al Habil (The Rope); 32 Min. 1994 Insan; 25 Min.

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Deutsche Hochschule für Filmkunst Potsdam-Babelsberg