Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Homage

Swimming Pool

## ## ## ##

Faced with writer’s block in London, mystery author Sarah Morton accepts her publisher’s offer to write her next book at his summer house in the south of France. But her peace and quiet is cut short when the publisher’s young adult daughter arrives and settles in to the house. Initially repulsed by Julie’s wild love life, Sarah becomes ever more fascinated, finding in it the inspiration for a new novel. And as a volume consumer of men, Julie delivers plenty of book-worthy material. Then one of the younger woman’s lovers shows a preference for Sarah … Wishful thinking or reality? In François Ozon’s steamy summer thriller, the line between fact and fabulation is blurred. Cast against type as an aging spinster, Charlotte Rampling plays her character’s transformation into an erotically aroused woman somewhat tongue in cheek. The metamorphosis is seen not only in her costumes – she starts in shades of khaki before donning strong reds. Her movements, too, become increasingly fluid, such that her claim to have been a part of the “swinging sixties” in London is entirely credible.

by
François Ozon

France / Great Britain 2003

French, English

102’ · Colour · 35 mm

Rating R12

With

Charlotte Rampling
Ludivine Sagnier
Charles Dance
Marc Fayolle
Jean-Marie Lamour
Mireille Mossé
Michel Fau
Jean-Claude Lecas

Crew

Director
François Ozon
Screenplay
François Ozon, Emmanuèle Bernheim
Director of Photography
Yorick Le Saux
Editing
Monica Coleman
Music
Philippe Rombi
Sound
Pascal Von Hatten
Art Director
Wouter Zoon
Costumes
Pascaline Chavanne
Producers
Olivier Delbosc, Marc Missonnier

Biography

François Ozon

Born in Paris, France in 1967, this director and screenwriter studied at La Fémis film school and is now one of the most renowned filmmakers in his country. His work has already screened in the Berlinale Competition four times, with the ensemble cast of one of his most successful films, the comedy 8 femmes, winning the Silver Bear in 2002. In 2012 he was a member of the International Jury. He has made four films with Charlotte Rampling who this year is being presented with the Honorary Golden Bear for her lifetime achievement; Sous le Sable and Swimming Pool are both screening in the Homage.

Filmography (selection)

1998 Sitcom 1999 Les amants criminels (Ein kriminelles Paar) 2000 Gouttes d’eau sur pierres brûlantes (Tropfen auf heiße Steine) · Sous le sable (Unter dem Sand) 2002 8 femmes (8 Frauen) 2003 Swimming Pool 2004 5 x 2 (5 x 2 – Fünf mal zwei) 2005 Le temps qui reste (Die Zeit die bleibt) 2009 Ricky (Ricky – Wunder geschehen) · La refuge (Rückkehr ans Meer) 2010 Potiche (Das Schmuckstück) 2012 Dans la maison (In ihrem Haus) 2013 Jeune et Jolie (Jung & Schön) 2014 Une nouvelle amie (Eine neue Freundin) 2016 Frantz 2017 L'amant double (Der andere Liebhaber) 2019 Grâce à Dieu (Gelobt sei Gott)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Hommage

Swimming Pool

## ## ## ##

In einer Schaffenskrise nimmt die Londoner Krimi-Autorin Sarah Morton das Angebot ihres Verlegers an, ihren nächsten Roman in seinem Sommerhaus in Südfrankreich zu schreiben. Doch rasch sieht sie sich dort in ihrer Ruhe gestört, denn überraschend nistet sich die halbwüchsige Tochter des Verlegers im Haus ein. Anfangs angewidert, dann zusehends fasziniert verfolgt Sarah Julies wildes Liebesleben, das sie zu einem neuen Romanentwurf inspiriert. Julie liefert ihr mit ihrem hohen Männerverbrauch reichlich Stoff. Bis einer der Liebhaber auch an Sarah Interesse zeigt … Wunsch oder Wirklichkeit? In François Ozons heißem Sommer-Thriller verschwimmt die Grenze zwischen Fakten und Fabulierlust. Als „spätes Mädchen“ gegen ihren Typ besetzt, führt Charlotte Rampling den Wandel ihrer Figur zur erotisch stimulierten Frau mit einem Augenzwinkern vor. Dabei ist die Veränderung nicht nur an ihrer Kleidung abzulesen – „the colonel’s daughter“ tritt zunächst in Khaki-Farben auf und wechselt dann zu kräftigem Rot. Auch ihre Bewegungen werden immer fließender, so dass die Behauptung, sie habe die „Swinging Sixties“ in London selbst miterlebt, glaubhaft wird.

von
François Ozon

Frankreich / Großbritannien 2003

Französisch, Englisch

102’ · Farbe · 35 mm

Altersfreigabe FSK 12

Mit

Charlotte Rampling
Ludivine Sagnier
Charles Dance
Marc Fayolle
Jean-Marie Lamour
Mireille Mossé
Michel Fau
Jean-Claude Lecas

Stab

Regie
François Ozon
Buch
François Ozon, Emmanuèle Bernheim
Kamera
Yorick Le Saux
Montage
Monica Coleman
Musik
Philippe Rombi
Ton
Pascal Von Hatten
Art Director
Wouter Zoon
Kostüm
Pascaline Chavanne
Produzenten
Olivier Delbosc, Marc Missonnier

Biografie

François Ozon

Der 1967 in Paris geborene Regisseur und Drehbuchautor zählt zu den renommiertesten Filmschaffenden seines Landes. Er studierte an der Filmhochschule La Fémis und wurde bereits viermal in den Wettbewerb der Berlinale eingeladen. Zu seinen erfolgreichsten Filmen zählt die Komödie 8 femmes, dessen Darstellerinnen-Ensemble 2002 den Silbernen Bären erhielt. 2012 gehörte er der Wettbewerbs-Jury an. Mit Charlotte Rampling, die dieses Jahr den Goldenen Ehrenbären für ihr Lebenswerk erhält, realisierte er vier Filme; Sous le Sable und Swimming Pool sind im Filmprogramm der Hommage zu sehen.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1998 Sitcom 1999 Les amants criminels (Ein kriminelles Paar) 2000 Gouttes d’eau sur pierres brûlantes (Tropfen auf heiße Steine) · Sous le sable (Unter dem Sand) 2002 8 femmes (8 Frauen) 2003 Swimming Pool 2004 5 x 2 (5 x 2 – Fünf mal zwei) 2005 Le temps qui reste (Die Zeit die bleibt) 2009 Ricky (Ricky – Wunder geschehen) · La refuge (Rückkehr ans Meer) 2010 Potiche (Das Schmuckstück) 2012 Dans la maison (In ihrem Haus) 2013 Jeune et Jolie (Jung & Schön) 2014 Une nouvelle amie (Eine neue Freundin) 2016 Frantz 2017 L'amant double (Der andere Liebhaber) 2019 Grâce à Dieu (Gelobt sei Gott)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019