Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2018

Awards

Feb 23, 2018:
Berlinale 2018: Crystal Bears and the Awards by the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education) in Generation 14plus

The members of the Youth Jury Generation 14plus - Jascha Katjana Richer, Lilly Rinklebe, Zoe Rentmeister, Rosa Nietzsche, Robert Schlücker, Joseph Askar Schönfelder, Jonathan Auer - give the following awards:

Crystal Bear for the Best Film:

Fortuna
By Germinal Roaux, Switzerland / Belgium
Our winning film uses strong images to tell a story that is topical and timeless at the same time. With the captivating clarity of its photographic compositions, the film provides us with detailed insight into many aspects of human existence in a cordoned-off world, without ever losing sight of the big picture. The sensitive portrayals of the main characters serve to confront the viewer with issues of dependence, altruism and societal structures.

Special Mention:

Retablo
By Álvaro Delgado-Aparicio L., Peru / Germany / Norway
The film which we have chosen to honour with the Special Mention for Feature Film takes us to a world that was unfamiliar to us. We are able to follow a young person as he figures out who he would like to be and how he would like to deal with the events of his life. The film, which treats an important subject in a gentle manner, makes a strong impression on us through its use of stylistic means such as changing camera perspectives and surprising moments in both image and plot. We are deeply touched by the sensitivity displayed by the protagonist on his journey to becoming a man in a world marked by violence.

Crystal Bear for the Best Short Film:

Kiem Holijanda
By Sarah Veltmeyer, Netherlands
The Crystal Bear for Best Short Film goes to a film that impressed us by placing its focus on an intimate relationship. We are grateful to have been given a glimpse into the everyday world of two authentic characters. The film won us over with its ability to communicate subtle emotions and grant insight into the societal situation of a region lost in the past.

Special Mention Short Film:

Je fais où tu me dis (Dressed for Pleasure)
By Marie de Maricourt, Switzerland
The film fascinated us with its clear, choreography-like composition. Static shots reflect the protagonist’s external isolation, while her inner life is depicted by dynamic images featuring a great attention to detail. The film’s themes of self-determination and the realisation of one’s own sexual identity moved us and sparked discussion.

The members of the Generation 14plus International Jury – Felipe Bragança, Verena von Stackelberg, Mark Rogers – give the following awards:

The Grand Prix of the Generation 14plus International Jury for the Best Film, endowed with 7,500 euro by the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education):

Fortuna
By Germinal Roaux, Switzerland / Belgium
A complete balance of elements where the sincere performances of the actors and sublime black and white cinematography create a compelling world at the same time contemporary and timeless. This film transcends religious and political dogma in a beautifully realized tale of purity and survival as seen through the eyes of a strong-willed Ethiopian girl.

Special Mention:

Dressage
By Pooya Badkoobeh, Iran
This film impressed us with its intelligent storytelling as well as its complex and unpredictable development of characters. The protagonist is uncompromising in her refusal to join the vicious cycle of corruption, lies, middle-class hypocrisy and false morality.

Special Prize of the Generation 14plus International Jury for the Best Short Film, endowed with 2,500 euro by the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education):

Juck
By Olivia Kastebring, Julia Gumpert, Ulrika Bandeira, Sweden
This film jumped from the screen and owned the auditorium as they said: “I am in this place right now and it’s mine.” A powerful, explosive, joyful film of the moment showing us that femininity can be claimed by an individual on her terms. These women are creating new languages of femininity through unbridled performance in public spaces.

Special Mention:

Na zdrowie! (Bless You!)
By Paulina Ziolkowska, Poland
A very accomplished, poetic, lyrical and dense piece of art. Showing that bodies blend into the sea of humanity, individuality is not under our control – a sneeze can be a body snatcher.



Press Office
February 23, 2018

Download Press Release, PDF  (55 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2018

Preise und Ehrungen

23.02.2018:
Berlinale 2018: Gläserne Bären und Preise der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung bei Generation 14plus

Die Mitglieder der Jugendjury Generation 14plus – Jascha Katjana Richer, Lilly Rinklebe, Zoe Rentmeister, Rosa Nietzsche, Robert Schlücker, Joseph Askar Schönfelder, Jonathan Auer - vergeben die folgenden Preise:

Gläserner Bär für den Besten Film:

Fortuna
Von Germinal Roaux, Schweiz / Belgien
In starken Bildern erzählt unser Gewinnerfilm eine aktuelle und zugleich zeitlose Geschichte. Mit der bestechenden Klarheit der fotografischen Aufnahmen gibt uns der Film einen detailreichen Einblick in viele Themen des Menschseins in einer ausgrenzenden Welt, ohne dabei den Blick auf das Große und Ganze zu verlieren. Durch die feinfühlige Darstellung der Hauptcharaktere werden wir mit Abhängigkeit, Nächstenliebe und gesellschaftlichen Strukturen konfrontiert.

Lobende Erwähnung:

Retablo
Von Álvaro Delgado-Aparicio L., Peru / Deutschland / Norwegen
Der Film, den wir mit der Lobenden Erwähnung für den Langfilm küren, führt uns in eine für uns fremde Welt. Wir dürfen einen jungen Menschen beim Herausfinden, wer er sein möchte und wie er mit den Geschehnissen in seinem Leben umgehen will, begleiten. Stilmittel wie abwechslungsreiche Perspektiven der Kamera und Überraschungsmomente in Bild und Geschichte überzeugen uns von dem Film, der auf sanfte Art ein wichtiges Thema behandelt. Die Sensibilität des Protagonisten auf dem Weg zum Mannwerden in einer gewaltvollen Welt berührt uns sehr.

Gläserner Bär für den Besten Kurzfilm:

Kiem Holijanda
Von Sarah Veltmeyer, Niederlande
Der Gläserne Bär für den Besten Kurzfilm geht an einen Film, der beeindruckte, indem er den Fokus auf eine innige Beziehung setzte. Wir sind dankbar, einen Einblick in die Lebenswelt zweier authentischer Charaktere bekommen zu haben. Der Film überzeugte mit der Fähigkeit, subtil Emotionen zu vermitteln und Einblick in die gesellschaftliche Situation einer in Vergessenheit geratenen Region zu gewähren.

Lobende Erwähnung:

Je fais où tu me dis (Dressed for Pleasure)
Von Marie de Maricourt, Schweiz
Der Film fasziniert mit einer klaren und choreografisch anmutenden Komposition. Statische Kameraeinstellungen bilden die äußere Isoliertheit der Protagonistin ab, während ihr Innenleben durch detailverliebte dynamische Bilder dargestellt wird. Das Thema der Selbstbestimmung und Verwirklichung der eigenen sexuellen Identität hat uns berührt und zur Diskussion angeregt.

Die Mitglieder der Internationalen Jury Generation 14plus – Felipe Bragança, Verena von Stackelberg, Mark Rogers – vergeben die folgenden Preise:

Großer Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus für den Besten Film, im Wert von 7.500 Euro, gestiftet von der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung:

Fortuna
Von Germinal Roaux, Schweiz / Belgien
Ein vollkommenes Gleichgewicht der Elemente, in dem die aufrichtige Performance der Schauspieler*innen und die sublime Kameraarbeit in Schwarz und Weiß eine bezwingende Welt schaffen, die zugleich zeitgenössisch und zeitlos ist. Dieser Film überwindet religiöse und politische Dogmen und schafft eine wundervoll realisierte Erzählung von Reinheit und vom Überleben – gesehen durch die Augen eines willensstarken, äthiopischen Mädchens.

Lobende Erwähnung:

Dressage
Von Pooya Badkoobeh, Iran
Dieser Film begeisterte uns mit seinem intelligenten Storytelling ebenso wie mit der komplexen und unvorhersehbaren Entwicklung der Charaktere. Kompromisslos verweigert sich die Protagonistin dem Teufelskreis der Korruption, der Lügen, der Heuchelei der Mittelschicht und der falschen Moral.

Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus für den Besten Kurzfilm, im Wert von 2.500 Euro, gestiftet von der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung:

Juck
Von Olivia Kastebring, Julia Gumpert, Ulrika Bandeira, Schweden
Dieser Film sprang von der Leinwand und eroberte sich das Publikum mit den Worten: „Ich bin jetzt an diesem Platz und er gehört mir.“ Ein kraftvoller, explosiver, freudiger Film dieser Zeit, der uns zeigt, dass Weiblichkeit von einem Individuum nach ihren Vorstellungen beansprucht werden kann. Durch unbändige Performance im öffentlichen Raum kreieren diese Frauen eine neue Sprache der Weiblichkeit.

Lobende Erwähnung:

Na zdrowie! (Bless You!)
Von Paulina Ziolkowska, Polen
Ein sehr gelungenes, poetisches, lyrisches und eindringliches Kunstwerk. Körper, die im Meer der Menschlichkeit miteinander verschwimmen, zeigen, dass Individualität nicht unter unserer Kontrolle ist – ein Nieser kann zum Körperräuber werden.



Presseabteilung
23. Februar 2018

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (50 KB)