Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2018

Awards

Feb 23, 2018:
The Compass-Perspektive-Award for the Best Film in the Programme Goes to Veronika Kaserer for Her Documentary Überall wo wir sind (Everywhere We Are)

On the closing night of Perspektive Deutsches Kino, the jury – consisting of filmmakers Jules Herrmann, Sung-Hyung Cho, and Sol Bondy - presented the Compass-Perspektive-Award 2018 for the best film. The prize goes to Überall wo wir sind (Everywhere We Are) by Veronika Kaserer. Endowed with 5,000 euro, this year is the second time the prize has been awarded. The filmmaker received a compass as trophy, symbolically it should serve to provide orientation and direction.

During the festival, the jury members watched all 14 entries in the competition of the Perspektive Deutsches Kino section and, after deliberating intensively, picked their favourite. As the jury members stated: “The prize goes to a film that divided our jury and sparked heated debates. But we decided to honour precisely this film, rather than settle on a compromise, as we firmly believe that consensus films are not where the future of German cinema lies.”

Jury Statement - Überall wo wir sind (Everywhere We Are):
Veronika Kaserer has made a film about grief, which at the same reminds us that life is worth living. With an astonishing closeness, unconventional montage, and many surprising moments, she portrays the last weeks and days of Heiko Lekutat, a 29-year-old Berlin dance instructor, and, most notably, his wonderful, big-hearted family. Does the film cause us pain because the family’s sorrow distresses us so, or do we suffer because we feel that the great intimacy to those grieving oversteps a line and in doing so impinges on our own sense of well-being? The editing constantly flashes back and forth between “before” and “after” Heiko’s death. Is it legitimate to disrupt the process of dying in this way in order to arouse, on an abstract level, empathy for the psychological and emotional process of grieving? The fact that a film triggers fierce sentiments and debates is a fine quality. We congratulate director, producer, and camerawoman Veronika Kaserer.

For more information and photos of the award ceremony, please contact:

Perspektive Deutsches Kino / press coordinator
Sarah Hoffmann
Tel. +49 30 259 20 462



Press Office
February 23, 2018

Download Press Release, PDF (49 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2018

Preise und Ehrungen

23.02.2018:
Der Kompass-Perspektive-Preis für den besten Film des Programms geht an Veronika Kaserer für ihren Dokumentarfilm Überall wo wir sind

Die Jury, bestehend aus den Filmemacher*innen Jules Herrmann, Sung-Hyung Cho und Sol Bondy, hat am Abschlussabend der Perspektive Deutsches Kino den Kompass-Perspektive-Preis 2018 für den besten Film vergeben. Die Auszeichnung geht an den Film Überall wo wir sind von Veronika Kaserer. Der Preis ist mit 5.000 Euro dotiert und wird in diesem Jahr zum zweiten Mal verliehen. Als Trophäe bekam die Regisseurin einen Kompass überreicht, der ihr symbolisch Orientierung geben und die Richtung weisen soll.

Die Jurymitglieder sichteten während der Festivaltage alle 14 Beiträge des Wettbewerbs der Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino und entschieden sich nach intensiver Diskussion für ihren Favoriten. „Der Preis geht an einen Film, der unsere Jury gespalten und die heftigsten Diskussionen ausgelöst hat. Aber wir wollten lieber eben diesen Film auszeichnen, als eine Kompromiss-Entscheidung zu treffen, denn wir glauben fest daran, dass Konsens-Filme nicht die Zukunft des deutschen Kinos sein sollten“, begründeten die Jurymitglieder ihre Entscheidung.

Jurybegründung für Überall wo wir sind im Wortlaut:
Veronika Kaserer hat einen Film über Trauer gemacht, auch um uns daran zu erinnern, wie lebenswert das Leben ist. Mit erstaunlicher Nähe, unkonventioneller Montage und vielen überraschenden Momenten erzählt sie von den letzten Wochen und Tagen des 29-jährigen Berliner Tanzlehrers Heiko Lekutat und vor allem von seiner wunderbaren, großherzigen Familie. Tut uns der Film weh, weil uns das Leiden der Familie so nahe geht, oder leiden wir, weil wir die große Nähe zu den Trauernden als Grenzüberschreitung unserer eigenen Wohlfühlposition empfinden? Die Montage springt kontinuierlich zwischen „vor dem Tod“ und „nach dem Tod“ hin und her. Darf man den Prozess des Sterbens so zerreißen, um auf einer abstrakten Ebene den mentalen und emotionalen Prozess des Trauerns nachzuempfinden? Dass ein Film heftige Emotionen und Diskussionen auslöst, ist eine Qualität. Wir gratulieren der Regisseurin, Produzentin und Kamerafrau Veronika Kaserer.

Weitere Informationen und Bildmaterial zur Preisverleihung bekommen Sie auf Anfrage bei:

Pressekontakt Perspektive Deutsches Kino
Sarah Hoffmann
Tel. +49 30 259 20 462



Presseabteilung
23. Februar 2018

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (46 KB)