Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2018

Awards

Feb 23, 2018:
Berlinale Talents and Perspektive Deutsches Kino Kompagnon Fellowships go to Jide Tom Akinleminu and Julian Radlmaier

This evening at the closing event of Perspektive Deutsches Kino, the Kompagnon-Fellowships were awarded for the second time. Endowed with 5,000 euros each, they were given to new projects by a screenwriter and/or director from Berlinale Talents 2018, and a director from the 2017 edition of Perspektive Deutsches Kino.

With the Kompagnon Fellowships, Berlinale Talents and Perspektive Deutsches Kino want to give ongoing support to the work of talented directors and screenwriters residing in Germany. Alongside the fellowship, the prize includes a mentoring programme with professional coaching to strengthen the winners’ personal style and the chance to network within the industry.

“It is certainly motivating to receive such a prize, because it shows that other people believe in your project as well,” states filmmaker Nora Fingscheidt, who last year received one of the two Kompagnon-Fellowships awarded for the first time in 2017. And her work shows that the initiative is already beginning to bear fruit: Fingscheidt is currently filming Systemsprenger, her award-winning treatment, and has returned to the Berlinale as a guest of the Perspektive Deutsches Kino 2018 with her film Ohne diese Welt (Without this World). (You can read more about Nora Fingscheidt and the Kompagnon-Fellowship in an interview with her.)

This year’s jury, whose members are Jules Herrmann, Sung-Hyung Cho and Sol Bondy, picked the following two treatments for the prizes: When a Farm Goes Aflame, the Flakes Fly Home to Bear the Tale by Jide Tom Akinleminu (Berlinale Talents 2018); and Blutsauger by Julian Radlmaier (Perspektive Deutsches Kino 2017).

Jury statement about the project When a Farm Goes Aflame, the Flakes Fly Home to Bear the Tale by Jide Tom Akinleminu:
When the Danish-Nigerian filmmaker sets out to make a documentary about his allegedly lonely father in Nigeria, he discovers that his father has been leading a double life.
The family secret can be traced far back into the past – it begins with Nigeria’s struggle for independence – and spans three continents: Africa, Europe, and America.
We are looking forward to seeing this moving, multi-layered film.

Jury statement about the project Blutsauger by Julian Radlmaier:
Under the guise of a vampire film, Julian Radlmaier’s Blutsauger is an elegant German comedy that provides a both amusing and biting commentary on the global rise of nationalism.
As embodiment of the perspective of German cinema, the Kompagnon-Fellowship wants to support Julian Radlmaier in his efforts to get his unmistakable signature style out into the world.

For more information and photos of the award ceremony, please contact:

Perspektive Deutsches Kino / press coordinator:
Sarah Hoffmann
Tel. +49 30 259 20 462

Berlinale Talents / press coordinator:
Marie Ketzscher
Tel. +49 30 259 20 518


Press Office
February 23, 2018

Download Press Release, PDF (52 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2018

Preise und Ehrungen

23.02.2018:
Die Kompagnon-Förderpreise Berlinale Talents und Perspektive Deutsches Kino gehen an Jide Tom Akinleminu sowie an Julian Radlmaier

Heute, am Abschlussabend der Perspektive Deutsches Kino, wurden zum zweiten Mal die Kompagnon-Förderpreise verliehen. Die Preise werden jeweils für ein neues Projekt an eine*n Autor*in und/oder Regisseur*in von Berlinale Talents 2018 und an eine*n Regisseur*in der Perspektive Deutsches Kino 2017 vergeben. Die Preise sind mit je 5.000 Euro dotiert.

Mit dem Kompagnon-Förderpreis möchten Berlinale Talents und Perspektive Deutsches Kino in Deutschland lebende Regisseur*innen und Drehbuchautor*innen nachhaltig bei ihrer Arbeit unterstützen. Die Auszeichnung bietet neben dem Stipendium auch ein Mentor*innenprogramm mit berufsbegleitenden Coachings zur Stärkung der persönlichen Handschrift und Vernetzung in der Branche.

„Es ist motivierend, den Kompagnon zu bekommen, weil er zeigt, dass auch andere Menschen an das Projekt glauben“, weiß die Filmemacherin Nora Fingscheidt, die im letzten Jahr einen der beiden 2017 zum ersten Mal verliehenen Kompagnon-Förderpreise erhielt. Ihre Arbeit verdeutlicht, dass die Initiative erste Früchte trägt: Fingscheidt verfilmt gerade ihr prämiertes Treatment Systemsprenger und kehrt außerdem als Gast der Perspektive Deutsches Kino 2018 mit ihrem Film Ohne diese Welt zur Berlinale zurück. (Mehr über Nora Fingscheidt und den Kompagnon können Sie hier im Interview nachlesen.)

In diesem Jahr entschieden sich die Juror*innen Jules Herrmann, Sung-Hyung Cho und Sol Bondy für die Treatments When a Farm Goes Aflame, the Flakes Fly Home to Bear the Tale von Jide Tom Akinleminu (Berlinale Talents 2018) und Blutsauger von Julian Radlmaier (Perspektive Deutsches Kino 2017).

Die Begründungen der Jury im Wortlaut:

Projekt When a Farm Goes Aflame, the Flakes Fly Home to Bear the Tale von Jide Tom Akinleminu
Als der dänisch-nigerianische Filmemacher einen Dokumentarfilm über seinen angeblich einsamen Vater in Nigeria beginnt, entdeckt er, dass sein Vater ein Doppelleben führt.
Die Spur des Familiengeheimnisses reicht weit in die Vergangenheit – sie beginnt mit dem Unabhängigkeitskampf Nigerias - und führt auf drei Kontinente: Afrika, Europa, Amerika.
Wir freuen uns auf diesen berührenden, vielschichtigen Film.

Projekt Blutsauger von Julian Radlmaier
Blutsauger von Julian Radlmaier ist eine elegante deutsche Komödie, die unter dem Deckmantel des Vampirfilms einen ebenso lustigen wie bissigen Kommentar zum weltweit aufkeimenden Nationalismus abgibt.
Der Kompagnon-Förderpreis soll Julian Radlmaier darin unterstützen, seine unverwechselbare Handschrift als Perspektive des deutschen Kinos weit hinaus in die Welt zu tragen.


Weitere Informationen und Bildmaterial zur Preisverleihung erhalten Sie auf Anfrage bei:


Pressekontakt Perspektive Deutsches Kino
Sarah Hoffmann
Tel. +49 30 259 20 462

Pressekontakt Berlinale Talents
Marie Ketzscher
Tel. +49 30 259 20 518


Presseabteilung
23. Februar 2018

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (288 KB)