Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2018

Additional Information

Feb 21, 2018:
Positive Mid Festival Results for the Berlinale 2018

A first account of the 68th Berlin International Film Festival attests full cinemas and plenty of curious visitors exploring the diverse festival programme.

With Wes Anderson’s Isle of Dogs it was the first time that an animation film opened the Berlinale. The star-studded cast of voice-over artists populated the red carpet: accompanying Wes Anderson to the premiere were, amongst others, Bryan Cranston, Greta Gerwig, Bill Murray, Jeff Goldblum, Kunichi Nomura, Liev Schreiber, Koyu Rankin, Bob Balaban, Tilda Swinton, Akira Takayama, Yojiro Noda and Mari Natsuki.

Other guests of the first festival days were David Zellner, Nathan Zellner, Robert Pattinson, Mia Wasikowska, Hugo Weaving, Jim Broadbent, Isabel Coixet, Emily Mortimer, Patricia Clarkson, Christian Petzold, Paula Beer, Franz Rogowski, Benoit Jacquot, Isabelle Huppert, Rupert Everett, Emily Watson, Hanna Schygulla, Alba Rohrwacher, Marie Bäumer, Birgit Minichmayr, Charly Hübner, Robert Gwisdek, José Padilha, Rosamund Pike, Daniel Brühl, Lav Diaz, Gus Van Sant, Joaquin Phoenix, Udo Kier, Michael Gwisdek, Jeff Daniels, Peter Sarsgaard, Natalie Dormer, Lars Kraume, Florian Lukas, Ronald Zehrfeld, Steven Soderbergh, Claire Foy and many more.

As part of the film historical programme, besides the Retrospective, the world premiere of a digitally restored Das alte Gesetz (The Ancient Law) by Ewald André Dupont marked a special highlight of the Berlinale Classics.

On Tuesday, the American actor Willem Dafoe was awarded in front of an excited audience the Honorary Golden Bear; the laudatory speech was held by Wim Wenders.

The events and talks of the Berlinale Talents at the HAU provided interesting discussions with panel guests, amongst which were Jury President Tom Tykwer, the directors David and Nathan Zellner, Eric Schlosser, Gus Van Sant as well as the cinematographers Agnès Godard and Nancy Schreiber.

The European Film Market (EFM) is also enjoying a steady increase of exhibitors and visitors as well as a lot of public attention. The many initiatives and special events of the Market, tackling current developments, trends and perspectives, are very popular with the trade visitors and establish the EFM as a platform for innovation and change.

Once more, the 68th Berlin International Film Festival is drawing an impressive amount of audiences: already midway through the festival around 273,000 tickets have been sold.

There will be an ‘encore’ for the public on Sunday, February 25: numerous festival films from the various sections will have repeat screenings on Berlinale Publikumstag.


Press Office
February 21, 2018

Download Press Release, PDF (49 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2018

Zusätzliches

21.02.2018:
Positive Zwischenbilanz der Berlinale 2018

Volle Kinosäle und jede Menge neugierige Besucher*innen, die das vielfältige Programm des Festivals erkunden - so lautet die Zwischenbilanz der 68. Berlinale.

Mit Wes Andersons Isle of Dogs – Ataris Reise eröffnete zum ersten Mal ein Animationsfilm die Berlinale. Der prominent besetzte Sprecher*innencast sorgte für ein großes Staraufgebot auf dem Roten Teppich: Neben Wes Anderson kamen u.a. Bryan Cranston, Greta Gerwig, Bill Murray, Jeff Goldblum, Kunichi Nomura, Liev Schreiber, Koyu Rankin, Bob Balaban, Tilda Swinton, Akira Takayama, Yojiro Noda und Mari Natsuki zur Premiere, um den Film im Berlinale Palast vorzustellen.

Weitere Gäste der ersten Festivaltage waren David Zellner, Nathan Zellner, Robert Pattinson, Mia Wasikowska, Hugo Weaving, Jim Broadbent, Isabel Coixet, Emily Mortimer, Patricia Clarkson, Christian Petzold, Paula Beer, Franz Rogowski, Benoit Jacquot, Isabelle Huppert, Rupert Everett, Emily Watson, Hanna Schygulla, Alba Rohrwacher, Marie Bäumer, Birgit Minichmayr, Charly Hübner, Robert Gwisdek, José Padilha, Rosamund Pike, Daniel Brühl, Lav Diaz, Gus Van Sant, Joaquin Phoenix, Udo Kier, Michael Gwisdek, Jeff Daniels, Peter Sarsgaard, Natalie Dormer, Lars Kraume, Florian Lukas, Ronald Zehrfeld, Steven Soderbergh, Claire Foy u.v.m.

Neben der Retrospektive war die Weltpremiere der digital restaurierten Fassung von Das alte Gesetz von Ewald André Dupont im Rahmen der Berlinale Classics ein besonderes Highlight im filmhistorischen Programm.

Am Dienstag wurde der amerikanische Schauspieler Willem Dafoe vor begeistertem Publikum mit dem Goldenen Ehrenbären ausgezeichnet, die Laudatio hielt Wim Wenders.

Die Veranstaltungen und Talks der Berlinale Talents im HAU boten spannende Diskussionen mit Panelteilnehmer*innen, u.a. Jurypräsident Tom Tykwer, die Regisseure David und Nathan Zellner, Eric Schlosser, Gus Van Sant sowie die Kamerafrauen Agnès Godard und Nancy Schreiber.

Auch der European Film Market (EFM) freut sich über stetig steigende Aussteller- und Besucherzahlen und regen Publikumsverkehr. Die zahlreichen Initiativen und Veranstaltungen des Marktes, die sich mit aktuellen Entwicklungen, Trends und Perspektiven der Branche beschäftigen, werden von den Fachbesucher*innen gut angenommen und positionieren den EFM als Plattform für Innovation und Wandel.

Der Andrang der Zuschauer*innen bei den 68. Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin ist erneut sehr beeindruckend: Schon zur Mitte des Festivals wurden rund 273.000 Tickets verkauft.

Für das Publikum gibt es am Sonntag, den 25. Februar, erneut eine Zugabe: Zahlreiche Festivalfilme aus den verschiedenen Sektionen werden am Berlinale Publikumstag nochmals gezeigt.


Presseabteilung
21. Februar 2018

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (46 KB)