Berlinale: Juries


Juries 2018

International Jury

Tom Tykwer (Germany)

Director, screenwriter, film composer, and producer Tom Tykwer made his first feature, Deadly Maria, in 1993, and achieved his international breakthrough with Run Lola Run in 1998. After The Princess and the Warrior (2000), Tykwer made his first film in English: Heaven, based on Krzysztof Kieślowski’s last screenplay, opened the Berlinale in 2002. Further international productions followed with his adaptation for the screen of Patrick Süskind’s novel Perfume: The Story of a Murderer (2006) and The International (Berlinale opening film in 2009). After Three (2010), for which Tykwer won the German Film Award for Best Director, came Cloud Atlas (2012), on which he collaborated as a director for the first time with the Wachowskis (the Matrix trilogy). Tykwer went on to compose music for and direct several episodes of the siblings’ Netflix series Sense8 (2015-2017). Tykwer’s feature A Hologram for the King with Tom Hanks in the lead was released in 2016. The filmmaker, who has won countless prizes, has presented six of his films at the Berlinale, most recently the projects Germany 09, 13 Short Films About the State of the Nation (2009), and Rosakinder (2013), both anthology films made with other German directors. In 2017, with Achim von Borries and Henk Handloegten, Tykwer developed and co-directed the highly-acclaimed German series Babylon Berlin.

Cécile de France (France)

Born in Belgium, Cécile de France studied acting in Paris and Lyon. Since 2000, she has appeared regularly in French and international productions. Her big breakthrough was under the direction of Cédric Klapisch in L’auberge espagnole (2002). Later she starred alongside Jackie Chan in Around the World in 80 Days (2004), and filmed with directors such as Xavier Giannoli (Chanson d’amour, 2006 and Superstar, 2012), Claude Miller (Un secret, 2007), Clint Eastwood (Hereafter, 2010), and the Dardenne brothers (Le gamin au vélo, 2010). Most recently she played alongside Jude Law in Paolo Sorrentino’s series, The Young Pope (2016); as well as in Etienne Comar’s Django (2017), the opening film of last year’s Berlinale. Cécile de France has already won two French César Awards. She was nominated for a European Film Award in 2011 and received a Shooting Star Award at the Berlinale in 2003.

Chema Prado (Spain)

After studying architecture and interior design, Chema Prado began working for various film magazines. Then in 1976 he took a position as head of programming at the Filmoteca Española (Spanish National Cinemateque). In 1987 he was appointed the institution’s deputy director; and two years later, its director, a post he held until 2016. For several years he was a member of the Executive Committee of the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). He was also a consultant for the San Sebastian International Film Festival, as well as a jury member at many festivals, including Cannes, Sundance, Locarno, Rotterdam, and Venice. In addition, he is a dedicated photographer and has shown his works in numerous Spanish galleries and museums, as well as in Portugal, France, and Mexico. He was named a Chevalier des Arts et Lettres by the French government, and has been honoured with several Spanish orders of merit, including the Encomienda de Número al Mérito Civil.

Adele Romanski (USA)

Adele Romanski recently won both an Oscar and a Golden Globe for producing Barry Jenkins’ Moonlight (2017). Together, she and Jenkins founded the production company PASTEL along with partners Sara Murphy and Mark Ceryak. Prior to this Romanski produced David Robert Mitchell’s The Myth of the American Sleepover (2010), which premiered in Cannes and won her an Independent Spirit Award nomination; and Chad Hartigan’s Sundance competition entry, Morris from America (2016). In addition she also produced the second season of the Golden Globe-nominated series The Girlfriend Experience alongside executive producer Steven Soderbergh, Amy Seimetz and Lodge Kerrigan. Romanski is currently producing two new films, If Beale Street Could Talk directed by Jenkins and Under The Silver Lake by Mitchell. Both are now in post-production and will be premiered later this year.

Ryūichi Sakamoto (Japan)

Born 1952 in Tokyo, Sakamoto debuted in 1978 with his solo album “Thousand Knives”. The same year he joined the pioneering electronic-music pop group Yellow Magic Orchestra. In 1983, Sakamoto scored the soundtrack for Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence, in which he co-starred with David Bowie. Since those early days he has released over a dozen solo albums, created art installations exhibited in various museums around the world, and composed more than thirty film scores for directors including Bernardo Bertolucci, Pedro Almodóvar, Brian De Palma, and more recently Alejandro González Iñárritu for whom he composed the music of The Revenant. His work has been recognized with accolades including an Academy Award, two Golden Globes, a Grammy, and more. Sakamoto has been a fervent defender of environmental and social causes and is particularly committed to reforestation and supporting the victims of the 3/11 earthquake, tsunami, and anti-nuke activism. In 2017, along with the release of his 16th solo album async and the documentary Ryuichi Sakamoto: Coda (Stephen Nomura Schible), Sakamoto continued composing film scores, presenting site specific performances, and created audio/visual installation work, IS YOUR TIME with Shiro Takatani.

Stephanie Zacharek (USA)

Since 2015 Stephanie Zacharek has been the film critic at TIME, the renowned US news magazine. She was previously chief film critic at The Village Voice and Salon.com. Zacharek, who lives in New York, began her career in the 1980s. She has published articles and reviews in the New York Times, the New Yorker, Los Angeles Times, and in magazines such as Rolling Stone, Entertainment Weekly, and Sight & Sound. In 2015 she was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in criticism. Zacharek, who studied at Syracuse University, is a member of the New York Film Critics Circle and the National Society of Film Critics. She is a regular on international film festival juries, most recently at Tribeca, Mumbai, Busan, and the SXSW in Austin. Over the years Zacharek has also participated in many Berlinale Talents panel discussions and events.

GWFF Best First Feature Award Jury

Jonas Carpignano (Italy)

Jonas Carpignano, who was born in 1984, grew up in New York City and Rome. His directorial debut, Mediterranea, premiered in the Semaine de la Critique at the Cannes Film Festival in 2015. Not only was it nominated for three Independent Spirit Awards, but it also won the Gotham Award for breakthrough director and a prize from the National Board of Review. His next feature film was also a huge success: A Ciambra, which had its premiere in the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs in 2017, received the Europa Cinemas Label Award for best European film. It was also voted best Italian film of the year by the Italian National Syndicate of Film Journalists (SNCCI), earned Carpignano a nomination for best director at the Independent spirit awards and was chosen to represent Italy at the Oscars. Carpignano, who was a Berlinale Talent in 2012, was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2016. He continues to live and work in Southern Italy.

Călin Peter Netzer (Romania)

Born in Romania in 1975, Călin Peter Netzer emigrated with his family to Germany when he was eight. After finishing school in Stuttgart, he studied directing in Bucharest, where he graduated in 1999. After many of his short films had won prizes at international festivals, Maria (2003), his first full-length feature, premiered at the Locarno Festival, where it took home several awards. Its leading actress was also nominated for the European Film Award. Netzers second feature film Medal of Honour (2009) was presented at more than 30 film festivals and received several awards. In 2013 Netzer won the Golden Bear at the Berlinale for his family drama Child’s Pose. The film went on to win eight national Romanian film awards and a nomination for the European Film Award. With Ana, mon amour, he returned to the Berlinale Competition in 2017. For its editing, the film received the Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic Contribution.

Noa Regev (Israel)

Noa Regev has been the executive director of the Jerusalem Cinematheque since 2013. This position also includes heading the Israel Film Archive as well as the Jerusalem Film Festival, which under her direction has grown in size and significance, both nationally and internationally. Regev completed her studies at the School of Film and Television at Tel Aviv University with a doctoral thesis on genre in cinema as exemplified by children's film. Since then she has lectured at many academic institutions all over Israel. Prior to taking up her duties in Jerusalem, she headed the Tel Aviv International Student Film Festival and the Holon Cinematheque.

Glashütte Original – Documentary Award Jury

Cíntia Gil (Portugal)

Born in Portugal, Cíntia Gil studied at the Escola Superior de Teatro e Cinema (Lisbon Theatre and Film School) and holds a degree in Philosophy from the Faculdade de Letras da Universidade do Porto (Faculty of Arts and Humanities at the University of Porto), where she has also taught seminars on aesthetics. Since 2012, Cíntia Gil and Davide Oberto have served as co-directors of the Doclisboa, Portugal’s most important and steadily expanding documentary film festival. Gil has curated a variety of contemporary and historical film series, retrospectives, and exhibitions. In addition, she has been a member of the executive board of Apordoc – Associação pelo Documentário, the Portuguese documentary film association since 2015. Gil, whose texts have appeared in numerous publications on philosophy and art, is also a regular guest at panel discussions and conferences, and on international festival juries.

Ulrike Ottinger (Germany)

By the 1970s Ulrike Ottinger had established herself as one of Germany’s most important and versatile directors. A Berliner by choice, her best known films, for which she also wrote the scripts and operated the camera, include The Enchantment of the Blue Sailors (1975); the “Berlin trilogy” - Ticket of No Return (1979), Freak Orlando (1981), and Dorian Gray in the Mirror of the Yellow Press (1984); as well as The Korean Wedding Chest (2008); and Johanna d’Arc of Mongolia (1989), for which she received a German Film Award and the Audience Award at the Montréal Women’s Film Festival. Ottinger, who as an artist and photographer has participated in international exhibitions, is a regular at the Berlinale. Most recently, in 2011, she presented Under Snow; in 2016, the 12-hour documentary Chamisso’s Shadow, which opened the Forum and won the German Film Critics Award. Ottinger’s works have often been shown at renowned institutions, such as the Cinémathèque française, Centre Pompidou, New York’s MoMA, and the documenta in Kassel.

Eric Schlosser (USA)

Eric Schlosser is an investigative journalist, playwright, screenwriter, and filmmaker. His book “Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal” (2001) became an international bestseller and contributed decisively to the growing rebellion against the industrialisation of food production. In 2014, his book “Command and Control” became a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. As a producer, he worked on Richard Linklater’s screen adaptation of Fast Food Nation (2006), Paul Thomas Anderson’s There Will Be Blood (2007), and the Oscar-nominated documentary Food, Inc., which screened in the Berlinale Special in 2009. As co-director of the bomb, an experimental film on the history of the atomic bomb, Schlosser was invited to the Berlinale Special in 2017. His articles have appeared in, e.g., the New York Times, The New Yorker, The Atlantic Monthly, and Vanity Fair.

International Short Film Jury

Diogo Costa Amarante (Portugal)

Diogo Costa Amarante completed his Master of Fine Arts at New York University / Tisch School of the Arts in 2016 with his film Cidade Pequena, which celebrated its international premiere at the 67th Berlinale in 2017 and received the Golden Bear for Best Short Film. Amarante is a member of the widely acclaimed third generation of Portuguese filmmakers, whose works have established an impressive position for Portugal in the cinematic world. His first film Jumate/Jumate received accolades at many festivals, and in 2007 he received a scholarship for documentary film and cinematography at the School of Cinema and Audiovisuals of Catalonia (ESCAC). In 2009, he was a participant at Berlinale Talents, and shot his second documentary film In January, perhaps.

Jyoti Mistry (South Africa)

Filmmaker Jyoti Mistry is an Associate Professor and Deputy Head of Division at the Wits School of Arts in South Africa. She received the CILECT Teaching Award (The International Association of Film and Television Schools) in 2016 in recognition of her outstanding achievements in film pedagogy and film practice research. Her research areas include cultural policy, questions of identity, and multiculturalism. Her experimental film The Bull On the Roof (2010) celebrated its debut at the Durban International Film Festival and was presented at the Galerie nationale du Jeu de Paume in Paris, among other institutions. Her feature film Impunity (2014) celebrated its premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival, and her most recent short film When I Grow Up I Want to Be a Black Man was a competition selection at the short film festival Winterthur in 2017. Her publications include “'we remember differently': Race, Memory, Imagination” (2012), “Gaze Regimes: Film and Feminisms in Africa” (2015) and “Places to Play – Practice, Research & Pedagogy” (2017) which was adapted for the screen.

Mark Toscano (USA)

Mark Toscano has functioned as curator and presenter of stand-out programmes for many noted institutions such as The Museum of Modern Art, Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art, EYE Filmmuseum, Tate Modern, Los Angeles Filmforum, as well as for festivals in Rotterdam, London, Oberhausen, Zagreb and Bangalore. In addition, he lectures on experimental film and archiving at numerous universities. At the California Institute of the Arts, he is an instructor in the area of Experimental Animation. A distinguished filmmaker and curator, Mark Toscano has been a contributor to the conservation of cinematic heritage at the Academy Film Archive since 2003, where he specialises in the conservation of noteworthy films, maintaining exchange with over 100 international filmmakers.

Honorary Awards of the Festival

The recipients of honorary awards are not chosen by a jury but by the Festival Director.

Children's Jury Generation Kplus

A Children's Jury with members aged 11 to 14 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation Kplus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the Festival Director.


The members of the 2018 Generation Kplus Children's Jury: Jonas Kurth, Jonas Schuster, Christian Fock, Laslo Baudouin, Jonas Volkers, Luise Babette Dahns, Theresa Sagebiel, Ella Widmoser, Julina Matilde Jung, Nele Heinig and Namiko Kammin.

Youth Jury Generation 14plus

A Youth Jury with members aged 14 to 18 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation 14plus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the Festival Director.


The members of the 2018 Generation 14plus Youth Jury: Jascha Katjana Richer, Lilly Rinklebe, Zoe Rentmeister, Rosa Nietzsche, Robert Schlücker, Joseph Askar Schönfelder and Jonathan Auer.

Generation Kplus International Jury

This Jury awards the "Grand Prix of the Generation Kplus International Jury" for the best feature-length film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (German Child Support Organisation). The "Special Prize of the Generation Kplus International Jury" is awarded to the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk.


Members of the Generation Kplus International Jury 2018 were: Amanda Duthie, Sanna Lenken and Carla Simón.

Generation 14plus International Jury

This Jury awards the "Grand Prix of the Generation 14plus International Jury" for the best feature-length film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education). The "Special Prize of the Generation 14plus International Jury" is awarded to the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung.

Members of the Generation 14plus International Jury 2018 were: Felipe Bragança, Mark Rogers and Verena von Stackelberg.

Berlinale: Jurys


Jurys 2018

Internationale Jury

Tom Tykwer (Deutschland)

Der Regisseur, Drehbuchautor, Filmkomponist und Produzent Tom Tykwer realisierte 1993 seinen ersten Spielfilm Die tödliche Maria und feierte 1998 mit Lola rennt seinen internationalen Durchbruch. Nach Der Krieger und die Kaiserin (2000) drehte Tykwer seinen ersten fremdsprachigen Film: Heaven, der auf dem letzten Drehbuch von Krzysztof Kieślowski basiert und 2002 die Berlinale eröffnete. Mit der Verfilmung von Patrick Süskinds Roman Das Parfum – Die Geschichte eines Mörders (2006) und The International (Berlinale-Eröffnungsfilm 2009) entstanden weitere internationale Produktionen. Auf Drei (2010), für den Tykwer den Deutschen Filmpreis als bester Regisseur erhielt, folgte 2012 Cloud Atlas, die erste Regiezusammenarbeit Tykwers mit den Geschwistern Wachowski (Matrix-Trilogie). Für deren Netflix-Serie Sense8 (2015-2017) war Tykwer als Filmkomponist tätig und führte bei mehreren Folgen Regie. 2016 erschien Tykwers Spielfilm Ein Hologramm für den König mit Tom Hanks in der Hauptrolle. Bei der Berlinale stellte der vielfach ausgezeichnete Filmemacher sechs Filme vor, zuletzt die Filmprojekte Deutschland 09 - 13 kurze Filme zur Lage der Nation (2009) und Rosakinder (2013), die jeweils in Kollaboration mit anderen deutschen Regisseur*innen realisiert wurden. 2017 entwickelte und realisierte er zusammen mit Achim von Borries und Henk Handloegten die hochgelobte deutsche Serie Babylon Berlin.

Cécile de France (Frankreich)

Die gebürtige Belgierin Cécile de France studierte Schauspiel in Paris und Lyon und ist seit 2000 regelmäßig in französischen wie internationalen Produktionen zu sehen. Der Durchbruch gelang ihr unter der Regie von Cédric Klapisch in L’auberge espagnole (2002), später stand sie unter anderem neben Jackie Chan in In 80 Tagen um die Welt vor der Kamera und drehte mit Regisseuren wie Xavier Giannoli (Chanson d’amour, 2006; Superstar, 2012), Claude Miller (Ein Geheimnis, 2007), Clint Eastwood (Hereafter – Das Leben danach, 2010) oder den Dardenne-Brüdern (Der Junge mit dem Fahrrad, 2010). Zuletzt war sie an der Seite von Jude Law in Paolo Sorrentinos Serie The Young Pope sowie in Django von Etienne Comar, dem Eröffnungsfilm der Berlinale 2017, zu sehen. Bereits zweimal erhielt Cécile de France den französischen Filmpreis César, außerdem war sie 2011 für den Europäischen Filmpreis nominiert und wurde 2003 bei der Berlinale als European Shooting Star ausgezeichnet.

Chema Prado (Spanien)

Nach einem Studium der Architektur und Innenarchitektur begann Chema Prado für verschiedene Filmzeitschriften zu arbeiten, bevor er 1976 als Programmleiter zur Filmoteca Española, dem spanischen Filmarchiv, stieß. 1987 wurde er dort stellvertretender Direktor und übernahm zwei Jahre später die Leitung der Einrichtung, die er bis 2016 innehatte. Mehrere Jahre war er im Vorstand der International Federation of Film Archives, beriet das Filmfestival in San Sebastián und war bereits in Jurys großer internationaler Filmfestivals vertreten, unter anderem in Cannes, Sundance, Locarno, Rotterdam oder Venedig. Er ist außerdem als Fotograf tätig und stellte seine Arbeiten bereits in zahlreichen spanischen Galerien und Museen sowie in Portugal, Frankreich und Mexiko aus. Prado ist Chevalier des Arts et Lettres in Frankreich sowie Träger mehrerer spanischer Verdienstorden wie der Encomienda de Número al Mérito Civil.

Adele Romanski (USA)

Adele Romanski wurde kürzlich als Produzentin von Barry Jenkins’ Film Moonlight (2017) sowohl mit dem Oscar als auch dem Golden Globe ausgezeichnet. Gemeinsam mit Jenkins, Sara Murphy und Mark Ceryak gründete sie die Produktionsfirma PASTEL. Zuvor produzierte Romanski unter anderem Filme wie David Robert Mitchells The Myth of the American Sleepover (2010), der in Cannes Premiere feierte und ihr eine Nominierung für den Independent Spirit Award einbrachte, oder den Sundance-Beitrag Morris aus Amerika (2016) von Chad Hartigan. Sie produzierte zudem auch die zweite Staffel der Golden-Globe-nominierten Serie The Girlfriend Experience (2017) zusammen mit den ausführenden Produzent*innen Steven Soderbergh, Amy Seimetz und Lodge Kerrigan. Derzeit produziert Romanski zwei neue Filme: If Beale Street Could Talk von Jenkins und Under the Silver Lake von Mitchell. Beide befinden sich momentan in der Post-Produktion und werden noch 2018 in die Kinos kommen.

Ryūichi Sakamoto (Japan)

Der 1952 in Tokio geborene Komponist Ryūichi Sakamoto debütierte 1978 mit seinem Soloalbum „Thousand Knives“. Im gleichen Jahr trat er der wegweisenden elektronischen Pop-Band Yellow Magic Orchestra bei. 1983 schrieb er den Soundtrack zu Furyo - Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence, in dem er neben David Bowie auch eine Rolle übernahm. Seit dieser Zeit brachte er über ein Dutzend Soloalben heraus, kreierte Kunst-Installationen, die weltweit in zahlreichen Ausstellungen präsentiert wurden, und komponierte über 30 Soundtracks für Regisseure wie Bernardo Bertolucci, Pedro Almodóvar, Brian De Palma, und für Alejandro González Iñárritus Der Rückkehrer (2017). Für seine Arbeit wurde er vielfach ausgezeichnet, u.a. mit dem Oscar, zwei Golden Globes und einem Grammy. Sakamoto engagiert sich für die Umwelt und in sozialen Projekten, besonders für Wiederaufforstung und die Unterstützung der Opfer des Erdbebens und des Tsunami bei Fukushima im Jahre 2011. Darüber hinaus ist er auch in der Anti-Atomkraft-Bewegung aktiv. 2017 komponierte er weiterhin Filmmusik, präsentierte für spezifische Orte konzipierte Performances und arbeitete mit Shiro Takatani an der audio-visuellen Installation IS YOUR TIME. Im gleichen Jahr erschienen auch sein 16. Soloalbum „async“ und die Dokumentation Ryuichi Sakamoto: Coda von Stephen Nomura Schible.

Stephanie Zacharek (USA)

Stephanie Zacharek ist seit Ende 2015 die Filmkritikerin des renommierten amerikanischen Nachrichtenmagazins TIME. Zuvor war sie leitende Filmkritikerin bei der Village Voice und Salon.com. Die in New York lebende Zacharek begann ihre Karriere in den 1980er Jahren und veröffentlichte unter anderem Artikel und Beiträge in der New York Times, dem New Yorker, der Los Angeles Times und Zeitschriften wie Rolling Stone, Entertainment Weekly oder Sight & Sound. 2015 war sie Finalistin beim Pulitzer-Preis in der Kategorie Kritik. Zacharek, die an der Syracuse University studierte, ist Mitglied des New York Film Critics Circle und der National Society of Film Critics. Sie sitzt regelmäßig in Jurys von internationalen Filmfestivals, zuletzt etwa in Tribeca, Mumbai, Busan sowie beim SXSW in Austin. Darüber hinaus war Zacharek bereits mehrfach Teilnehmerin von Podiumsdiskussionen und Veranstaltungen der Berlinale Talents.

Jury GWFF Preis Bester Erstlingsfilm

Jonas Carpignano (Italien)

Jonas Carpignano wurde 1984 geboren und wuchs zwischen New York City und Rom auf. Gleich sein erster Spielfilm Mediterranea feierte 2015 beim Filmfestival in Cannes in der Semaine de la Critique Premiere und wurde nicht nur für drei Independent Spirit Awards nominiert, sondern auch mit dem Gotham Award und vom National Board of Review ausgezeichnet. Ein großer Erfolg war auch der Nachfolgerfilm A Ciambra, der 2017 in der Quinzaine des Réalisateurs debütierte und den Europa Cinemas Label Award als bester europäischer Film erhielt. Der Verband der italienischen Filmkritiker zeichnete ihn als besten italienischen Film des Jahres aus, er erhielt eine Nominierung für die beste Regie bei den Independent Spirit Awards und ging für Italien ins Oscar-Rennen. Carpignano, der 2012 an Berlinale Talents teilnahm und 2016 ein Guggenheim-Stipendium erhielt, lebt und arbeitet in Süditalien.

Călin Peter Netzer (Rumänien)

Der 1975 in Rumänien geborene Călin Peter Netzer wuchs ab seinem achten Lebensjahr in Deutschland auf. Nach dem Abitur in Stuttgart studierte er Regie in Bukarest und machte 1999 seinen Abschluss. Nach zahlreichen, weltweit auf Festivals prämierten Kurzfilmen feierte sein erster langer Spielfilm Maria 2003 beim Festival in Locarno Premiere, wo er mit zahlreichen Preisen bedacht wurde. Seine Hauptdarstellerin wurde außerdem für den Europäischen Filmpreis nominiert. Netzers zweiter Spielfilm Ehrenmedaille (2009) wurde auf über 30 Filmfestivals gezeigt und mehrfach ausgezeichnet. 2013 erhielt Netzer für sein Familiendrama Mutter & Sohn den Goldenen Bären der Berlinale. Darüber hinaus gewann der Film acht rumänische Filmpreise und wurde für den Europäischen Filmpreis nominiert. Mit Ana, mon amour war er 2017 erneut im Berlinale-Wettbewerb vertreten. Für seinen Schnitt wurde der Film mit dem Silbernen Bären für eine Herausragende Künstlerische Leistung ausgezeichnet.

Noa Regev (Israel)

Seit 2013 ist Dr. Noa Regev die Leiterin der Cinematheque von Jerusalem und damit auch des Israelischen Filmarchivs sowie des Jerusalem Film Festivals, das unter ihrer Führung immer mehr an Größe und nationaler wie internationaler Bedeutung gewonnen hat. Ihr Studium am Film- und Fernseh-Institut der Universität Tel Aviv schloss sie mit einer Doktorarbeit über Genre im Kino am Beispiel des Kinderfilms ab. Regev war an zahlreichen akademischen Einrichtungen in ganz Israel als Dozentin tätig. Bevor sie ihre Aufgaben in Jerusalem antrat, leitete sie außerdem das Tel Aviv International Student Film Festival und die Holon Cinematheque.

Jury Glashütte Original – Dokumentarfilmpreis

Cíntia Gil (Portugal)

Die gebürtige Portugiesin Cíntia Gil studierte an der Escola Superior de Teatro e Cinema und hat einen Abschluss im Fach Philosophie der Faculdade de Letras da Universidade do Porto, wo sie unter anderem Ästhetik-Seminare unterrichtete. Seit 2012 leitet sie gemeinsam mit Davide Oberto das Doclisboa, Portugals wichtigstes und stetig wachsendes Dokumentarfilmfestival. Sie kuratierte verschiedene sowohl zeitgenössische als auch historische Filmreihen, Retrospektiven und Ausstellungen, darüber hinaus ist sie seit 2015 Direktoriumsmitglied der portugiesischen Dokumentarfilm-Vereinigung Apordoc – Associação pelo Documentário. Gil, deren Texte in zahlreichen Philosophie- und Kunst-Publikationen erschienen sind, ist außerdem regelmäßiger Gast bei Podiumsdiskussionen, Konferenzen und in internationalen Festivaljurys

Ulrike Ottinger (Deutschland)

Ulrike Ottinger etablierte sich schon in den 70er Jahren als eine der wichtigsten und vielseitigsten Regisseurinnen Deutschlands. Zu den bekanntesten Filmen der Wahl-Berlinerin, die stets auch für Drehbuch und Kamera verantwortlich zeichnet, gehören u.a. Die Betörung der blauen Matrosen (1975), die Berlin-Trilogie Bildnis einer Trinkerin (1979), Freak Orlando (1981) und Dorian Gray im Spiegel der Boulevardpresse (1984), Die koreanische Hochzeitstruhe (2008) sowie Johanna d’Arc of Mongolia (1989), für den sie mit dem Bundesfilmpreis und dem Preis der Publikumsjury beim Montréal Women’s Film Festival ausgezeichnet wurde. Ottinger, die als Künstlerin und Fotografin in internationalen Ausstellungen präsent ist, ist regelmäßig zu Gast bei der Berlinale - zuletzt 2011 mit Unter Schnee und 2016 mit dem 12-stündigen Dokumentarfilm Chamissos Schatten, der das Forum eröffnete und mit dem Preis der Deutschen Filmkritik ausgezeichnet wurde. Ottingers Arbeiten sind regelmäßig in Institutionen wie der Cinémathèque française, im Centre Pompidou, im New Yorker Museum of Modern Art sowie auf der documenta in Kassel zu sehen.

Eric Schlosser (USA)

Eric Schlosser ist Enthüllungsjournalist, Dramatiker, Drehbuchautor und Filmemacher. Sein Buch „Fast Food Gesellschaft: Fette Gewinne, faules System“ (2001) wurde zu einem internationalen Bestseller und trug entscheidend zu einem wachsenden Widerstand gegen die Industrialisierung der Lebensmittelindustrie bei. 2014 war sein Buch „Command and Control“ Finalist beim Pulitzer-Preis. Als Produzent war er an Richard Linklaters Verfilmung von Fast Food Nation (2006), an Paul Thomas Andersons There Will Be Blood (2007) und der Oscar-nominierten Dokumentation Food, Inc. beteiligt, die 2009 im Berlinale Special lief. Als einer der Regisseure des Experimentalfilms the bomb über die Geschichte der Atombombe war Schlosser 2017 zu Gast im Berlinale Special. Seine Artikel erschienen unter anderem in der New York Times, im New Yorker, The Atlantic Monthly und Vanity Fair.

Internationale Kurzfilmjury

Diogo Costa Amarante (Portugal)

Im Jahr 2016 beendete Diogo Costa Amarante seinen Master of Fine Arts an der New York University / Tisch School of the Arts mit seinem Film Cidade Pequena, der auf den 67. Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin seine internationale Premiere feierte und den Goldenen Bären für den Besten Kurzfilm gewann. Amarante zählt zu der vielbeachteten dritten Generation portugiesischer Regisseur*innen, deren Werke das portugiesische Kino eindrucksvoll auf der internationalen Filmlandkarte positioniert haben. Bereits sein erster Film Jumate/Jumate wurde weltweit auf mehreren Festivals ausgezeichnet. Er erhielt im Jahr 2007 ein Stipendium für Dokumentarfilm und Kinematografie an der Schule für Film und audiovisuelle Kunst in Katalonien (ESCAC). 2009 nahm er an Berlinale Talents teil und drehte seinen zweiten Dokumentarfilm In January, perhaps.

Jyoti Mistry (Südafrika)

Die Filmemacherin Jyoti Mistry arbeitet als Dozentin an der Wits School of Arts in Südafrika. Im Jahr 2016 erhielt sie den CILECT-Lehrpreis (The International Association of Film and Television Schools) als Anerkennung ihrer überragenden Leistungen in Filmpädagogik und Filmpraxisforschung. Ihre Studien beschäftigen sich mit Kulturpolitik und Fragen zu Identität und Multikulturalismus.
Ihr Experimentalfilm The Bull on the Roof (2010) debütierte beim Durban International Film Festival und wurde u.a. auch in der Galerie nationale du Jeu de Paume in Paris präsentiert. Der Spielfilm Impunity (2014) hatte seine Premiere auf dem Toronto International Film Festival und ihr letzter Kurzfilm When I Grow Up I Want to Be a Black Man war im Wettbewerb der Internationalen Kurzfilmtage Winterthur 2017. Zu ihren Buchveröffentlichungen zählen Werke wie „‚we remember differently‘: Race, Memory, Imagination“ (2012), „Gaze Regimes: Film and Feminisms in Africa“ (2015) sowie das verfilmte Werk „Places to Play – Practice, Research & Pedagogy“ (2017).

Mark Toscano (USA)

Mark Toscano hat für viele renommierte Institutionen wie das Museum of Modern Art, das Arsenal - Institut für Film und Videokunst, das EYE Filmmuseum, die Tate Modern, das Los Angeles Filmforum und Festivals in Rotterdam, London, Oberhausen, Zagreb oder Bangalore gearbeitet. Er ist als Kurator und mit der Präsentation herausragender Programme beauftragt. Außerdem lehrt Toscano an einer Vielzahl von Universitäten zum Thema Experimentalfilm und Archivierung. Am California Institute of the Arts unterrichtet er im Bereich der Experimentellen Animation. Der profilierte Filmemacher und Kurator aus Los Angeles trägt seit 2003 am Academy Film Archive zur Erhaltung des Filmerbes bei, wo er sich insbesondere auf die Restaurierung und Konservierung beachtenswerter Filme spezialisiert hat. Er steht bei dieser Sammlung im Austausch mit über 100 internationalen Filmemacher*innen.

Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals

Die Empfänger der Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals werden nicht von einer Jury bestimmt, sondern von der Festivalleitung selbst.

Kinderjury Generation Kplus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation Kplus entscheidet eine elfköpfige Kinderjury zwischen 11 und 14 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.


Die Mitglieder der Generation Kplus Kinderjury 2018: Jonas Kurth, Jonas Schuster, Christian Fock, Laslo Baudouin, Jonas Volkers, Luise Babette Dahns, Theresa Sagebiel, Ella Widmoser, Julina Matilde Jung, Nele Heinig und Namiko Kammin.

Jugendjury Generation 14plus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation 14plus entscheidet eine siebenköpfige Jugendjury zwischen 14 und 18 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.


Die Mitglieder der Jugendjury Generation 14plus 2018: Jascha Katjana Richer, Lilly Rinklebe, Zoe Rentmeister, Rosa Nietzsche, Robert Schlücker, Joseph Askar Schönfelder und Jonathan Auer.

Generation Kplus Internationale Jury

Diese Jury vergibt den mit € 7.500 dotierten „Großen Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus“ an den besten Langfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte „Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus“ geht an den besten Kurzfilm. Gestiftet werden die Preise vom Deutschen Kinderhilfswerk.


2018 wurden in die Generation Kplus Internationale Jury berufen: Amanda Duthie, Sanna Lenken und Carla Simón.

Generation 14plus Internationale Jury

Diese Jury vergibt den mit € 7.500 dotierten „Großen Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus“ an den besten Langfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte „Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus“ geht an den besten Kurzfilm. Gestiftet werden die Preise von der Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung.


2018 wurden in die Generation 14plus Internationale Jury berufen: Felipe Bragança, Mark Rogers und Verena von Stackelberg.