Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum

Abnormal Family

## ##

The debut film of the future director of hit international comedy Shall We Dance? (1996) follows the antics of the five members of the model middle-class Mamiya family after the latest arrival into the household, the voluptuous new bride Yuriko of the over-sexed eldest son Koichi. Younger brother Kazuo sees his new sister-in-law as a possible source of release from study stress, while his sister Akiko dons her office lady uniform every morning and slips out of her family’s eyesight with a cheery smile, before heading straight to a workplace that offers much more in the way of financial incentive than the office. Meanwhile, their father remains a silent fixture behind his newspaper, nodding sagely at the head of the table, while waxing wistfully about the owner of the local bar who reminds him of his dead wife.
Shooting from his own script, Suo’s only ever pink film is a bawdy pastiche of the works of Yasujiro Ozu, presenting the members of this far-from-typical family through idiosyncratic editing and compositional style of the Grand Master of the Japanese domestic drama. The results are amongst the wittiest and entertaining in the entire history of "pinku eiga".

by
Masayuki Suo

Japan 1984

Japanese

63 min · Colour

With

Usagi Aso (Bar Madam)
Hakuhiko Fukano (Shuzo Mamiya)
Rara Hanayama (Kyushu Young Wife)
Kaoru Kaze (Yuriko Mamiya)
Ren Osugi (Shukichi Mamiya)
Shiro Shimomoto (Koichi Mamiya)
Kei Shuto (Kazuo Mamiya)
Miki Yamaji (Akiko Mamiya)

Crew

Written and directed by
Masayuki Suo
Director of Photography
Yuichi Nagata
Editing
Junichi Kikuchi
Music
Yoshikazu Suo
Production Design
Yohei Taneda
Producer
Daisuke Asakura / Keiko Sato, Kokuei
Producer
Kazuto Morita, Interfilm

Biography

Masayuki Suo

Born in Tokyo in 1956. He began his career in the early 1980s as an assistant director to Takahashi Banmei and Kiyoshi Kurosawa. In 1984, he directed his only ‘pink film’. He went to make a number of feature films, landing a global hit with the tragicomedy Shall We Dance? (1996).

Filmography

1984 Hentai kazoku - Aniki no yomesan (Abnormal Family: Older Brother’s Bride) 1989 Fancy Dance 1992 Shiko funjatta (Sumo Do, Sumo Don’t) 1996 Shall We Dance? 2007 Soredemo boku wa yattenai (I Just Didn’t Do It) 2012 Tsui no shintaku (A Terminal Trust) 2014 Maiko wa redii (Lady Maiko)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Kokuei

Interfilm

World sales

Rapid Eye Movies

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Abnormal Family

## ##

Das Debüt des Regisseurs der international erfolgreichen Komödie Shall We Dance? (1996) erzählt von den Eskapaden der gutbürgerlichen Familie Mamiya, die mit Yuriko, der aufreizenden neuen Frau des triebgesteuerten ältesten Bruders Koichi, ein fünftes Mitglied bekommt. Während der jüngere Bruder Kazuo die Schwägerin als Möglichkeit ansieht, sich vom Lernstress abzulenken, streift Schwester Akiko morgens ihre Bürouniform über und verlässt gut gelaunt das Haus, um ihrer Arbeit nachzugehen, die mehr finanziellen Anreiz bietet als ein Bürojob. Der schweigende Vater gehört lediglich zum Inventar, liest Zeitung oder nickt weise, während er von der Kneipenwirtin, die ihn an seine tote Frau erinnert, schwärmt.
Der Film über die alles andere als alltägliche Familie ist Suos einziges "pinku eiga", beruht auf einem Drehbuch des Regisseurs und imitiert in seiner eigenwilligen Montage- und Kompositionstechnik den Großmeister des japanischen Familiendramas, Yasujiro Ozu. Er gehört zum Originellsten und Unterhaltsamsten in der Geschichte des erotischen Genres.

von
Masayuki Suo

Japan 1984

Japanisch

63 Min · Farbe

Mit

Usagi Aso (Barbesitzerin)
Hakuhiko Fukano (Shuzo Mamiya)
Rara Hanayama (Kyushu Young Wife)
Kaoru Kaze (Yuriko Mamiya)
Ren Osugi (Shukichi Mamiya)
Shiro Shimomoto (Koichi Mamiya)
Kei Shuto (Kazuo Mamiya)
Miki Yamaji (Akiko Mamiya)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Masayuki Suo
Kamera
Yuichi Nagata
Schnitt
Junichi Kikuchi
Musik
Yoshikazu Suo
Production Design
Yohei Taneda
Produzentin
Daisuke Asakura / Keiko Sato, Kokuei
Produzent
Kazuto Morita, Interfilm

Biografie

Masayuki Suo

Geboren 1956 in Tokio. Er begann seine Laufbahn Anfang der 80er Jahre als Regieassistent von Takahashi Banmei und Kiyoshi Kurosawa. 1984 drehte Suo seinen einzigen „Pink Film“. In den darauf folgenden Jahren realisierte er zahlreiche Spielfilme. International bekannt wurde er mit der Tragikomödie Shall We Dance? (1996).

Filmografie

1984 Hentai kazoku - Aniki no yomesan (Abnormal Family: Older Brother’s Bride) 1989 Fancy Dance 1992 Shiko funjatta (Sumo Do, Sumo Don’t) 1996 Shall We Dance? 2007 Soredemo boku wa yattenai (I Just Didn’t Do It) 2012 Tsui no shintaku (A Terminal Trust) 2014 Maiko wa redii (Lady Maiko)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Kokuei

Interfilm

Weltvertrieb

Rapid Eye Movies