Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum Expanded

Celluloid Corridors: Timehelix

##

A-side of an audio-play about cinema: part film-manifesto, part audio-essay, part cinematic-séance, channeled via the voice and words of Cairo-based artist and writer Mohamed A. Gawad, with music, arrangement, and celluloid-splicing from Berlin-based Kreidler-chief, Andreas Reihse.
Shooting through archives across space and time. Spells of silence, ambient hum, celluloid glitch, vocal hybrids: “[…] focusing on the description of photographic film. Robotic echoes whirr away in the background, echoing the original sentiments, but abstracted into machine-like code, speeding up and slowing down as though being mistakenly spooled through a genetically imperfect machinated medium.”

by
Mohamed A. Gawad
Dalia Neis
Andreas Reihse

Germany 2017

English

9’

World premiere

With

Mohamed A. Gawad
Dalia Neis

Crew

Directors
Mohamed A. Gawad, Dalia Neis, Andreas Reihse
Screenplay
Mohamed A. Gawad
Music
Andreas Reihse
Sound Design
Andreas Reihse
Sound
Mohamed A. Gawad, Andreas Reihse, Dice Miller
Producers
Dalia Neis, Andreas Reihse, Mohamed A. Gawad

Biography

Mohamed A. Gawad

Mohamed A. Gawad is an editor and filmmaker based in Cairo. He is co-founder of Cimatheque and a board member of CIC – Contemporary Image Collective.

Filmography

2009 Wogoud 2010 The Time of Thirst 2011 Call Egypt 2012 Lucid Shadows 2015 re : Di d u s ee t hat?! 2017 Betalpha · Celluloid Corridors: Timehelix · Celluloid Corridors: Sermon

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Dalia Neis

Dalia Neis is a writer, filmmaker, and vocalist living in Berlin and Salford. She is currently completing her PhD on cinematic representations of wind and the essay form in Salford. As Dice Miller, she is part of the experimental musical/poetry group, FITH, and is co-founder of Wanda-Portal – an imprint that releases albums and pamphlets that spiral across the cinematic, literary, and sonic spheres.

Filmography

2005 Missing Meilich 2008 Goray 1648 2010 Charles Bronson is Ibn Arabi 2012 Saints 2017 Celluloid Corridors: Timehelix · Celluloid Corridors: Sermon

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Andreas Reihse

Andreas Reihse is a Berlin-based musician and artist. Besides being a member of the internationally acclaimed electronic band Kreidler, he has worked for films, plays, performances, and installations. He also curates MOVES, a series of screenings, performances, and talks at Berlin's Image Movement.

Filmography

1985 Koordination Gehen 2002 Two Drifters; 4 min., with Jutta Tränkle 2012 Volkan, Van, No Moons 2013 Long Lines Andropov’s Ears 2017 Image Mouvement I-III · Celluloid Corridors: Timehelix · Celluloid Corridors: Sermon

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Dalia Neis

Andreas Reihse

Mohamed A. Gawad

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Celluloid Corridors: Timehelix

##

Die A-Seite eines Hörspiels über das Kino, zu gleichen Teilen Filmmanifest, Audio-Essay und Kinoséance. Text und Stimme stammen vom Künstler und Autor Mohamed A. Gawad aus Kairo; Musik, Arrangement und Zelluloid-Schnitt hat der Berliner Kreidler-Chef Andreas Reihse beigesteuert.
Quer durch das Archiv, durch Raum und Zeit. Stille, Hintergrundrauschen, Kratzer auf dem Zelluloid, hybride Stimmen: „[…] fokussieren auf die Beschreibung des fotografischen Films. Roboterartige Echos entschwirren in den Hintergrund. Sie bewahren das ursprüngliche Gefühl, jedoch abstrahiert zur Maschine, wie ein Code, beschleunigt und verlangsamt, wie versehentlich in eine mangelhaft genmanipulierte Maschine eingefädelt.“

von
Mohamed A. Gawad
Dalia Neis
Andreas Reihse

Deutschland 2017

Englisch

9’

Weltpremiere

Mit

Mohamed A. Gawad
Dalia Neis

Stab

Regie
Mohamed A. Gawad, Dalia Neis, Andreas Reihse
Buch
Mohamed A. Gawad
Musik
Andreas Reihse
Sound Design
Andreas Reihse
Ton
Mohamed A. Gawad, Andreas Reihse, Dice Miller
Produzentinnen und Produzenten
Dalia Neis, Andreas Reihse, Mohamed A. Gawad

Biografie

Mohamed A. Gawad

Mohamed A. Gawad ist Editor und Filmemacher und lebt in Kairo. Er ist Mitgründer der Cimatheque und im Vorstand von CIC – Contemporary Image Collective.

Filmografie

2009 Wogoud; 6 Min. 2010 The Time of Thirst; 18 Min. 2011 Call Egypt; 4 Min. 2012 Lucid Shadows; 5 Min. 2015 re : Di d u s ee t hat?!; 1 Min. 2017 Betalpha; 4 Min. · Celluloid Corridors: Timehelix · Celluloid Corridors: Sermon

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Dalia Neis

Dalia Neis ist Autorin, Filmemacherin und Sängerin und lebt in Berlin und Salford. In Salford promoviert sie zur Repräsentation des Winds und zur Essayform. Als Dice Miller ist sie Teil der experimentellen Musik-Poesie-Gruppe FITH und sie ist Mitgründerin von Wanda-Portal, einem Verlag, der Alben und Flugblätter herausgibt, die sich um kinematographische, literarische und "Klangwelten drehen.

Filmografie

2005 Missing Meilich; 22 Min. 2008 Goray 1648; 8 Min. 2010 Charles Bronson is Ibn Arabi 2012 Saints 2017 Celluloid Corridors: Timehelix · Celluloid Corridors: Sermon

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Andreas Reihse

Andreas Reihse ist Musiker und Künstler und lebt in Berlin. Er ist Teil der international gefeierten Elektronikband Kreidler und arbeitet außerdem für Filme, Theater, Performances oder Installationen. Er ist der Kurator von MOVES, einer Serie von Screenings, Performances und Vorträgen bei Image Movement in Berlin.

Filmografie

1985 Koordination Gehen; 3 Min. 2002 Two Drifters; 4 Min., mit Jutta Tränkle 2012 Volkan, Van, No Moons; 8 Min, 8 Min., 5 Min. 2013 Long Lines Andropov’s Ears; 5 Min. 2017 Image Mouvement I-III; 15 Min. · Celluloid Corridors: Timehelix · Celluloid Corridors: Sermon

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Dalia Neis

Andreas Reihse

Mohamed A. Gawad