Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Guest of Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Ohne diese Welt

Without this World

## ## ## ## ##

Argentina, 2016. In a forgotten corner of the country’s hot northern region there are around 700 ethnic German Mennonites living life as though it were still the eighteenth century. This community speaks Old Low German and lives off the land and by breeding cattle. They use horse carts instead of cars and their only schoolbooks are the Bible and the Catechism. Their religion forbids the use of electricity, telephones or radios. Life, they believe, should not be comfortable. Instead the colony chooses to pursue a way of life that is as pious as possible in the service of God, in the hope that their children will decide to continue on this path. These Mennonites seek to shut out the influence of the ‘world’ as they describe everything outside their religious community. This is also the reason why they moved here from Mexico 18 years ago. But is it possible to deny all forms of progress? Ohne diese Welt observes life in a quietist society caught between isolation and change.

by
Nora Fingscheidt

Germany 2017

German, Spanish

Documentary form
115’ · Colour · 2K DCP

Crew

Director
Nora Fingscheidt
Director of Photography
Yunus Roy Imer
Editing
Stephan Bechinger
Music
John Gürtler
Sound Design
Jonathan Schorr
Sound
Bernhard Köpke
Commissioning Editor
Burkhard Althoff
Producer
Peter Hartwig
Producer
Juliane S. Engel, Leonie Pokutta
Co-production
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Ludwigsburg
ZDF – Das kleine Fernsehspiel, Mainz

Biography

Nora Fingscheidt

Born in Braunschweig, Germany in 1983, she spent her schooldays in Germany and Argentina. Since 2003, she has been involved in the development of the film school collective, filmArche, in Berlin, at the same time completing training as an acting coach. Between 2008 and 2017 she studied fiction directing at the Film Academy Baden-Württemberg. She was nominated for the German Short Film Award for her second-year film Synkope and participated in Berlinale Talents in 2012. She completed her degree with the documentary Ohne diese Welt which won awards including the Max Ophüls Prize in 2017.

Filmography

2010 Synkope; short film 2011 Zwischen den Zeilen; short film 2013 Brüderlein; medium-length film 2014 Boulevard’s End; short documentary 2016 Die Lizenz; short film 2017 Ohne diese Welt; documentary 2019 Systemsprenger (System Crasher)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Kineo Filmproduktion

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Gast der Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Ohne diese Welt

Without this World

## ## ## ## ##

Argentinien, 2016. In einer vergessenen Region im heißen Norden leben etwa 700 deutschstämmige Mennoniten wie im 18. Jahrhundert. Sie sprechen altes Plattdeutsch und leben von Ackerbau und Viehzucht. Anstelle von Autos benutzen sie Pferdekutschen, ihre einzigen Schulbücher sind die Bibel und der Katechismus. Stromanschlüsse, Telefone oder Radios verbietet ihre Religion. Das Leben soll nicht bequem sein. Stattdessen leben sie in ihrer Kolonie ein möglichst frommes Leben für Gott und hoffen, dass auch ihre Kinder diesen Weg weitergehen. Dem Einfluss der „Welt“ – so nennen sie alles außerhalb ihrer Glaubensgemeinschaft – wollen sich diese Mennoniten weitestgehend entziehen, deshalb kamen sie vor 18 Jahren aus Mexiko hierher. Doch ist es wirklich möglich, sich dem Fortschritt zu verweigern? Ohne diese Welt beobachtet das Leben einer leisen Gesellschaft zwischen Abschottung und Wandel.

von
Nora Fingscheidt

Deutschland 2017

Deutsch, Spanisch

Dokumentarische Form
115’ · Farbe · 2K DCP

Stab

Regie
Nora Fingscheidt
Kamera
Yunus Roy Imer
Montage
Stephan Bechinger
Musik
John Gürtler
Sound Design
Jonathan Schorr
Ton
Bernhard Köpke
Redaktion
Burkhard Althoff
Produzent
Peter Hartwig
Producer
Juliane S. Engel, Leonie Pokutta
Co-Produktion
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Ludwigsburg
ZDF – Das kleine Fernsehspiel, Mainz

Biografie

Nora Fingscheidt

Geboren 1983 in Braunschweig, verbrachte sie ihre Schulzeit in Deutschland und Argentinien. Ab 2003 engagierte sie sich beim Aufbau der selbst organisierten Filmschule filmArche in Berlin und absolvierte parallel dazu eine Ausbildung zum Schauspielcoach. Von 2008 bis 2017 studierte sie Szenische Regie an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg. Mit ihrem Zweitjahresfilm, Synkope, wurde sie für den Deutschen Kurzfilmpreis nominiert. 2012 nahm sie bei Berlinale Talents teil. Ihr Studium beendete sie mit dem Dokumentarfilm Ohne diese Welt, der 2017 u. a. mit dem Max-Ophüls-Preis ausgezeichnet wurde.

Filmografie

2010 Synkope; Kurzfilm 2011 Zwischen den Zeilen; Kurzfilm 2013 Brüderlein; Mittellanger Spielfilm 2014 Boulevard’s End; Kurz-Dokumentarfilm 2016 Die Lizenz; Kurzfilm 2017 Ohne diese Welt; Dokumentarfilm 2019 Systemsprenger (System Crasher)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Kineo Filmproduktion

Moderation: Andrea Hohnen, Programmleiterin First Steps