Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Generation 14plus

Cobain

## ## ## ## ##

‘Listen, kid. She isn’t worth it. She won’t stay on the straight and narrow. They’ll find her dead by the road one day. After she gets herself another one like you.’ · ‘It’s my mother you’re talking about.’

Cobain wanders alone through the streets in search of his mother. On the way he meets old acquaintances, staff from the child protection service and the methadone distribution centre. He is torn between the prospect of a new life in a foster family, a home and a sense of security, and his fears for his mother – who everyone else has abandoned. In his acting debut, Bas Keizer masterfully expresses the tenderness and anger, anxiety and longing felt by Cobain. Quietly radical, with desaturated colours underscored by sparse guitar riffs, Nanouk Leopold's film captivates the viewer in a tale of a modern hero who is forced to grow up much too young.

by
Nanouk Leopold

Netherlands / Belgium / Germany 2017

Dutch, English

94 min · Colour

World premiere

With

Bas Keizer (Cobain)
Naomi Velissariou (Mia)
Wim Opbrouck (Wickmayer)
Dana Marineci (Adele)
Cosmina Stratan (Jadwiga)
Maria Kraakman (Pieternel)
Maartje van de Wetering (Nora)
Tamar van den Dop (Marja)

Crew

Director
Nanouk Leopold
Screenplay
Stienette Bosklopper
Director of Photography
Frank van den Eeden
Editor
Katharina Wartena
Music
Harry de Wit
Sound
Andreas Hildebrandt
Sound Design
Andreas Hildebrandt
Production Design
Elsje de Bruijn
Costumes
Manon Blom
Make-up
Elke Hahn
Casting
Leonie Luttik, Janusz Gosschalk, Anne Chris de Veer
Assistant Director
Wouter Severijn
Production Management
Ben Bouwmeester
Producers
Stienette Bosklopper, Lisette Kelder
Co-Producers
Dries Phlypo, Jean-Claude Van Rijckeghem, Herbert Schwering, Christine Kiauk, Joost de Wolf, Ineke Kanters, Jan van der Zanden
Co-production
A Private View, Gent
Coin Film, Köln
VPRO Television, Hilversum
The Film Kitchen, Amsterdam

Biography

Nanouk Leopold

Born in Rotterdam, the Netherlands in 1968, she studied at the Willem de Kooning Academy in Rotterdam and the Netherlands Film and Television Academy in Amsterdam. She worked as a director in Dutch television before making her feature film debut with Îles flottantes. Her films Wolfsbergen (2007) and Brownian Movement (2010) screened in Forum while Boven is het stil (It’s All so Quiet) opened the 2013 Panorama Special programme. She is a member of the Society of the Arts of the Royal Dutch Academy of Sciences. In 2017 she directed her first theatre play with the renowned Toneelgroep Amsterdam. Cobain is her sixth feature film.

Filmography

1998 Weekend; short film 2000 Îles flottantes 2002 La grande guerre 2005 Guernsey 2007 Wolfsbergen; Forum 2010 Brownian Movement; Forum 2013 Boven is het stil (It’s All So Quiet); Panorama 2017 Cobain

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Circe Films
www.circe.nl

World sales

Beta Cinema

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Generation 14plus

Cobain

## ## ## ##

„Hör mal, Junge, sie isses nicht wert. Die kommt doch eh wieder auf die schiefe Bahn. Irgendwann liegt sie tot im Straßengraben, nachdem sie sich noch so einen wie dich zugelegt hat.“ · „Das ist meine Mutter, von der du so redest.“
Auf der Suche nach seiner Mutter streift Cobain allein durch die Straßen. Unterwegs begegnen ihm alte Bekannte, Mitarbeiter des Jugendamtes und der Methadonvergabestelle. Er ist zerrissen zwischen der Aussicht auf ein anderes Leben in einer Pflegefamilie, ein Zuhause, vielleicht sogar Geborgenheit, und der Angst um seine Mutter, die alle außer ihm bereits aufgegeben haben. Debütant Bas Keizer verleiht Cobain ein Gesicht, in dem Sanftmut und Wut, Sorge und Sehnsucht ständig miteinander ringen. In stiller Radikalität, mit entsättigten Farben und kargen Gitarrenriffs erzählt Nanouk Leopold auf ergreifende Weise von einem modernen Helden, der früh erwachsen werden muss.

von
Nanouk Leopold

Niederlande / Belgien / Deutschland 2017

Niederländisch, Englisch

94 Min · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Bas Keizer (Cobain)
Naomi Velissariou (Mia)
Wim Opbrouck (Wickmayer)
Dana Marineci (Adele)
Cosmina Stratan (Jadwiga)
Maria Kraakman (Pieternel)
Maartje van de Wetering (Nora)
Tamar van den Dop (Marja)

Stab

Regie
Nanouk Leopold
Buch
Stienette Bosklopper
Kamera
Frank van den Eeden
Schnitt
Katharina Wartena
Musik
Harry de Wit
Ton
Andreas Hildebrandt
Tongestaltung
Andreas Hildebrandt
Szenenbild
Elsje de Bruijn
Kostüm
Manon Blom
Maske
Elke Hahn
Casting
Leonie Luttik, Janusz Gosschalk, Anne Chris de Veer
Regieassistenz
Wouter Severijn
Produktionsleitung
Ben Bouwmeester
Produzentinnen
Stienette Bosklopper, Lisette Kelder
Co-Produzentinnen und Co-Produzenten
Dries Phlypo, Jean-Claude Van Rijckeghem, Herbert Schwering, Christine Kiauk, Joost de Wolf, Ineke Kanters, Jan van der Zanden
Co-Produktion
A Private View, Gent
Coin Film, Köln
VPRO Television, Hilversum
The Film Kitchen, Amsterdam

Biografie

Nanouk Leopold

Geboren 1968 in Rotterdam, Niederlande. Leopold studierte an der Willem de Kooning Academie in Rotterdam und an der Niederländischen Film- und Fernsehakademie in Amsterdam. Bevor sie mit Îles flottantes ihr Spielfilmdebüt gab, war sie als Regisseurin für das niederländische Fernsehen tätig. Die Filme Wolfsbergen (2007) und Brownian Movement (2010) liefen im Forum. Boven is het stil eröffnete 2013 das Programm von Panorama Special. Leopold ist Mitglied der Königlich Niederländischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. 2017 legte sie mit der renommierten Toneelgroep Amsterdam ihre erste Regiearbeit im Theater vor. Cobain ist ihr sechster Spielfilm.

Filmografie

1998 Weekend; Kurzfilm 2000 Îles flottantes 2002 La grande guerre 2005 Guernsey 2007 Wolfsbergen; Forum 2010 Brownian Movement; Forum 2013 Boven is het stil (It’s All So Quiet); Panorama 2017 Cobain

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Circe Films
www.circe.nl

Weltvertrieb

Beta Cinema