Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Berlinale Special Gala

Monster Hunt 2

 

In his native China, the cute little creature Wuba, which is reminiscent of a walking radish, makes hearts beat faster with its big round eyes and green hair. The story of the little monster and its human parents became the country’s biggest box-office success of all time. At the beginning of this sequel, the real and monster worlds are still in total chaos. Once again, in ancient China, real people meet animated characters who can change their appearance and also have other tricks up their sleeves. As in the world of humans, there are belligerent villains and peaceful companions in this colourful kingdom, too. Following the death of the evil monster king, an eerie lord with dark intentions has ascended to the throne. He puts a bounty on Wuba, who now finds himself being hunted not only by his own kind, but also by humans. To save him, his martial-arts-savvy parents join a legendary troupe of monster hunters, while Wuba forms an emergency alliance with infamous gambler and con man Tu Sigu. A spectacular fantasy that perfectly captures the exuberance of its characters and leads the audience into a wonderfully freaked-out universe.

by
Raman Hui

People's Republic of China / Hong Kong, China 2017

Mandarin

110 min · Colour

With

Tony Chiu Wai Leung (Tu Sigu)
Baihe Bai (Huo Xiaolan)
Boran Jing (Song Tianyin)
Chris Lee (Zhu Jinzhen)
Yo Yang (Yun Qing)

Crew

Director
Raman Hui
Screenplay
Jack Ng, Sunny Chan, Liang Su
Director of Photography
Anthony Pun
Editor
Ka Fai Cheung, David Richardson
Music
Leon Ko
Production Design
Kin Wai Lee, Guillaume Aretos, Yohei Taneda
Costumes
Chung Man Yee
Producers
Bill Kong, Chung Man Yee, Doris Tse

Biography

Raman Hui

After graduating in 1984 with a degree in graphic design from the Hong Kong Polytechnic University, he moved to Canada in 1989 where he worked as an animator on feature films including Batman Forever and The Arrival. He supervised the animation and led the character design for Antz and was supervising animator on Shrek and Shrek 2. In 2007 he co-directed the third film in the series, Shrek the Third, and made his debut as a solo feature film director in 2015 with the global blockbuster Monster Hunt.

Filmography

2007 Shrek the Third; co-director 2008 Kung Fu Panda: Secrets of the Furious Five; short film 2010 Scared Shrekless; short film · Donkey’s Christmas Shrektacular; short film 2015 Monster Hunt 2018 Monster Hunt 2

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Edko Films

Zhejiang Films & TV (Group)

World sales

Edko Films

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special Gala

Monster Hunt 2

 

In seiner Heimat China lässt das niedliche Wesen Wuba, das an einen wandelnden Rettich erinnert, mit seinen Kulleraugen und grünen Haaren die Herzen höher schlagen. Die Geschichte um das kleine Monster und seine menschlichen Eltern entwickelte sich zum größten Kassenerfolg aller Zeiten. Zu Beginn der Fortsetzung befinden sich die reale und die Monster-Welt weiterhin im völligen Chaos: Erneut treffen im antiken China echte Menschen auf animierte Figuren, die ihr Erscheinungsbild verändern können und noch andere Tricks auf Lager haben. Wie bei den Menschen gibt es in diesem bunten Reich kriegerische Schurken und friedfertige Gesellen. Nach dem Tod des bösen Königs der Monster hat ein unheimlicher Lord mit dunklen Plänen den Thron bestiegen. Er setzt ein Kopfgeld auf Wuba aus, der nun nicht nur von seinesgleichen, sondern auch den Menschen gejagt wird. Um ihn zu retten, schließen sich seine Martial-Arts-erprobten Eltern einer legendären Truppe von Monsterjägern an, während Wuba eine Notgemeinschaft mit dem berühmt-berüchtigten Spieler und Trickbetrüger Tu Sigu bildet. Das Fantasy-Spektakel nimmt den Übermut seiner Figuren auf und führt das Publikum in ein herrlich ausgeflipptes Universum.

von
Raman Hui

Volksrepublik China / Hongkong, China 2017

Mandarin

110 Min · Farbe

Mit

Tony Chiu Wai Leung (Tu Sigu)
Baihe Bai (Huo Xiaolan)
Boran Jing (Song Tianyin)
Chris Lee (Zhu Jinzhen)
Yo Yang (Yun Qing)

Stab

Regie
Raman Hui
Buch
Jack Ng, Sunny Chan, Liang Su
Kamera
Anthony Pun
Schnitt
Ka Fai Cheung, David Richardson
Musik
Leon Ko
Production Design
Kin Wai Lee, Guillaume Aretos, Yohei Taneda
Kostüm
Chung Man Yee
Produzenten
Bill Kong, Chung Man Yee, Doris Tse

Biografie

Raman Hui

Nachdem er 1984 seinen Abschluss in Grafikdesign an der Polytechnischen Universität Hongkong abgelegt hatte, zog Hui Raman 1989 nach Kanada, um dort als Animator bei Spielfilmen wie Batman Forever und The Arrival mitzuwirken. Er übernahm die Chefanimation und das Characterdesign für den Animationsfilm Antz und wurde Chefanimator für Shrek und Shrek 2. 2007 führte er Co-Regie beim dritten Teil der Reihe, Shrek the Third. Sein Debüt als alleiniger Regisseur eines Langfilms legte er 2015 mit Monster Hunt vor, der weltweit zum Kassenschlager wurde.

Filmografie

2007 Shrek the Third; Co-Regie 2008 Kung Fu Panda: Secrets of the Furious Five; Kurzfilm 2010 Scared Shrekless; Kurzfilm · Donkey’s Christmas Shrektacular; Kurzfilm 2015 Monster Hunt 2018 Monster Hunt 2

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Edko Films

Zhejiang Films & TV (Group)

Weltvertrieb

Edko Films