Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

Xiao Mei

## ## ## ## ## ##

A film about the tormenting presence of absence. A young shop girl named Xiao Mei suddenly vanishes from her usual existence, without explanation or trace. Has she dissolved, or perhaps redeemed herself somehow? Nine people from her immediate surroundings try to fill the empty space left behind by this supposedly insignificant young woman. In a kaleidoscope of meandering memories, projections, confessions, interpretations, incantations and helpless speculations through which the young escapee wanders aimlessly, they attempt to solve the mystery of her disappearance.
Film, like no other artistic medium, is able to visualise the effect that subjective perception has on memory. Brilliantly juggling elements of film noir, suspense and whodunnit, director Maren Hwang’s sophisticated film explores the riddle of identity and how we interpret the world and our fellow human beings as well as how what are generally believed to be ‘objective reality’ and ‘truth’ are constructed. Inevitably, there is no such thing as a comforting solution to this exploration, and so all that remains is the disoriented grab at the white light of infinity.

by
Maren Hwang

Taiwan 2018

Mandarin

95’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Chen Yi-Wen (Landlord)
Liu Kuan-Ting (Xiao Mei's boyfriend)
Na Dow (Xiao Mei's brother)
Wu Chien-Ho (Xiao Mei's ex boyfriend)
Yin Shin (Owner of clothing store)
Laurence Chiu (Manager)
Chang Shao-Huai (Psychic)
Samantha Ko (Xiao Mei's mother)
Wu Kang-Jen (Photographer)
Jao Cincin (Xiao Mei)

Crew

Written and directed by
Maren Hwang
Director of Photography
Nagao Nakashima
Editing
Lai Hsiu-Hsiung, Man Chi-Ming
Music
Luming Lu
Costumes
Lin Ling
Sound Editor
Tu Duu-Chih, Wu Shu-Yao
Production Design
Liao Kuo-Hui
Production Manager
Sung Ming-Chung
Executive Producer
Chung Mong-Hong

Biography

Maren Hwang

Born in Zhubei City, Taiwan in 1974, his mother gave him a camcorder when he was young and he began making his first films. Later he attended the School of Visual Arts and the Stella Adler Studio of Acting, both in New York, USA. He has worked in the advertising industry for many years and has directed over 200 commercials. Xiao Mei is his debut feature film.

Filmography

2018 Xiao Mei

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Studio Romance
studioromance.co

World sales

MandarinVision

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Xiao Mei

## ## ## ## ## ##

Die quälende Anwesenheit der Abwesenheit: Das kleine Ladenmädchen Xiao Mei verschwindet plötzlich ohne Erklärung und radikal spurlos aus ihrem gewohnten Lebenszusammenhang. Hat es sich aufgelöst oder gar selbst erlöst? Die Leerstelle, die die vermeintlich unbedeutende junge Frau hinterlässt, wollen nun neun Personen aus ihrem näheren Umfeld füllen. In einem Kaleidoskop aus mäandernden Erinnerungen, Projektionen, Konfessionen, Auslegungen, Beschwörungen und hilflosen Spekulationen, durch das die Entflohene irrlichtert, versuchen sie, das Rätsel um ihr Verschwinden zu lösen.
Wie wohl kein anderes künstlerisches Medium ist der Film geeignet, die Wirkung der subjektiven Wahrnehmung auf die Erinnerung zu verbildlichen. Regisseur Maren Hwang jongliert raffiniert und virtuos mit Versatzstücken des Film Noir, Suspense-Elementen und Whodunit bei seiner Erforschung des Rätsels der Identität, der Interpretation von Welt und Mitmensch und der jeweiligen Konstruktion dessen, was gemeinhin „objektive Realität“ und „Wahrheit“ genannt wird. Das kann zwangsläufig zu keiner tröstlichen Lösung führen – es bleibt nur die haltlose Suchbewegung ins weiße Licht der Unendlichkeit.

von
Maren Hwang

Taiwan 2018

Mandarin

95’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Chen Yi-Wen (Vermieter)
Liu Kuan-Ting (Xiao Meis Freund)
Na Dow (Xiao Meis Bruder)
Wu Chien-Ho (Xiao Meis Ex-Freund)
Yin Shin (Besitzerin Bekleidungsgeschäft)
Laurence Chiu (Manager)
Chang Shao-Huai (Hellseher)
Samantha Ko (Xiao Meis Mutter)
Wu Kang-Jen (Fotograf)
Jao Cincin (Xiao Mei)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Maren Hwang
Kamera
Nagao Nakashima
Montage
Lai Hsiu-Hsiung, Man Chi-Ming
Musik
Luming Lu
Kostüm
Lin Ling
Tonschnitt
Tu Duu-Chih, Wu Shu-Yao
Production Design
Liao Kuo-Hui
Production Manager
Sung Ming-Chung
Ausführender Produzent
Chung Mong-Hong

Biografie

Maren Hwang

Geboren 1974 in Zhubei, Taiwan. Er bekam als Kind einen Camcorder von seiner Mutter geschenkt und begann damit, erste Filme zu drehen. Später besuchte er die School of Visual Arts und das Stella Adler Studio of Acting in New York. Er ist seit vielen Jahren in der Werbebranche tätig und hat über 200 Werbespots gedreht. Xiao Mei ist sein Spielfilmdebüt.

Filmografie

2018 Xiao Mei

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Studio Romance
studioromance.co

Weltvertrieb

MandarinVision