Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Berlinale Shorts

Onde o Verão Vai (episódios da juventude)

Where the Summer Goes (chapters on youth)

Wohin der Sommer geht (Episoden aus der Jugend)

## ## ## ## ##

The summer heat shimmers. A group of friends drives to the forest. Their bodies are packed tightly into the car, four on the backseat and two up front. In the woods they happen upon a snake. The snake coils itself around the young man’s foot. The girl holds it in her hands. Two men eat peaches. The men kiss. After the kiss, the day is over.
The composition of the group in a picture frame recalls the early films of Asghar Farhadi, in which time and again the individual is also faced with the group. The staging of youth is modern and at the same time their gazes and gestures reference Baroque painting, without ever losing sight of the present day. In four chapters, 21-year-old David Vincente appropriates the beginning of all of the stories of the monotheistic religions and gives it a fresh interpretation. Reframing his-story.
Maike Mia Höhne

by
David Pinheiro Vicente

Portugal 2018

Portuguese

20 min · Colour

World premiere

With

Miguel Amorim (Francisco)
Joana Peres (Maria)
Rodrigo Tomás (Pedro)
Joana Petiz (Leonor)
André Simões (André)
Rodolfo Major (Gabriel)

Crew

Director
David Pinheiro Vicente
Screenplay
David Pinheiro Vicente, Rita Jorge
Director of Photography
Joana Silva Fernandes
Editor
Laura Gama Martins
Sound Design
Miguel Coelho
Producer
Raquel Rolim Batista

Biography

David Pinheiro Vicente

Born on Terceira Island in the Azores, he studied directing at the Escola Superior de Teatro e Cinema in Lisbon and is currently taking an MA in aesthetics. His documentary Simão screened at the 2016 DocLisboa film festival. Since then he has worked as an art director on several films and as an assistant director to Salomé Lamas.

Filmography

2016 Simão; documentary 2018 Onde o Verão Vai (episódios da juventude) (Where the Summer Goes (chapters on youth))

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Lisbon Theatre and Film School

World sales

Portugal Film
www.portugalfilm.org

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Shorts

Onde o Verão Vai (episódios da juventude)

Where the Summer Goes (chapters on youth)

Wohin der Sommer geht (Episoden aus der Jugend)

## ## ## ## ##

Die Hitze des Sommers flirrt. Eine Gruppe von Freunden fährt in den Wald. Die Körper sind dicht gedrängt in diesem Auto. Vier auf der Rückbank, zwei vorne. Im Wald finden sie eine Schlange. Die Schlange ringelt sich über den Fuß des jungen Mannes. Das Mädchen hält sie in den Händen. Zwei Männer essen Pfirsiche. Die Männer küssen. Nach dem Kuss ist der Tag vorüber.
Die Komposition der Gruppe in einem Bildrahmen erinnert an die frühen Filme von Asghar Farhadi, in denen ebenfalls immer wieder der Einzelne der Gruppe gegenübersteht. Die Inszenierung der Jugend ist modern und gleichzeitig in ihren Blicken und Gesten ein Verweis auf die Malerei des Barock, ohne jemals das Heute zu vergessen. In vier Kapiteln eignet sich der 21-jährige David Vicente den Anfang aller Erzählungen der monotheistischen Religionen an und interpretiert ihn neu. Reframing his-story.
Maike Mia Höhne

von
David Pinheiro Vicente

Portugal 2018

Portugiesisch

20 Min · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Miguel Amorim (Francisco)
Joana Peres (Maria)
Rodrigo Tomás (Pedro)
Joana Petiz (Leonor)
André Simões (André)
Rodolfo Major (Gabriel)

Stab

Regie
David Pinheiro Vicente
Buch
David Pinheiro Vicente, Rita Jorge
Kamera
Joana Silva Fernandes
Schnitt
Laura Gama Martins
Sound Design
Miguel Coelho
Produzentin
Raquel Rolim Batista

Biografie

David Pinheiro Vicente

Geboren 1996 auf der Azoren-Insel Terceira. Er studierte Regie an der Escola Superior de Teatro e Cinema in Lissabon und absolviert aktuell einen weiterführenden Masterstudiengang Ästhetik. Sein Dokumentarfilm Simão wurde 2016 auf dem DocLisboa-Filmfestival gezeigt. Seither hat er als Art Director an verschiedenen Filmen mitgewirkt und als Regieassistent für Salomé Lamas gearbeitet.

Filmografie

2016 Simão; Dokumentarfilm 2018 Onde o Verão Vai (episódios da juventude) (Where the Summer Goes (chapters on youth))

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Lisbon Theatre and Film School

Weltvertrieb

Portugal Film
www.portugalfilm.org