Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum

Premières armes

First Stripes

## ## ## ## ## ##

The basic Canadian army training for young recruits, male or female, that the film shows us lasts for twelve weeks. Order, cleanliness, and discipline are the basic virtues here, and quite a few of the recruits are in need of some extra lessons. They’re perpetually folding t-shirts, memorising commands and practicing how to march or use their rifles. Jean-François Caissy sees this film as part of a series of documentaries in which he explores the theme of transitions and the stages of life: Having covered graduating from high school (La marche à suivre) and life in a retirement home (La belle visite), he now turns to the voluntary transition from civilian to military life. The young protagonists give varying reasons for their choice of profession, but one stands out: the search for a challenge. The camera is able to follow them everywhere – sometimes an order may even include a prompt to “watch the camera!”. Its stoic, but inquisitive observations give rise to certain questions: How can one reconcile individualism and obedience? Will these young soldiers actually have to go to war? And possibly, what does the correct way to fold a shirt have to do with defending a free society?

by
Jean-François Caissy

Canada 2018

French

Documentary form
106 min · Colour

World premiere

Crew

Written and directed by
Jean-François Caissy
Director of Photography
Nicolas Canniccioni
Editor
Mathieu Bouchard-Malo
Sound Design
Frédéric Cloutier
Producer
Johanne Bergeron

Biography

Jean-François Caissy

Born in 1977, in the village of Saint-Omer on the Gaspé Peninsula in Québec, Canada. He studied photography, and his photos have been featured in various galleries and museums around the world. In 2003, he founded his own production company, and in 2005, he produced and directed his first documentary feature.

Filmography

2005 La Saison des amours (Mating Season); 72 min. 2009 La belle visite (Journey's End); 80 min., Forum 2010 2014 La marche à suivre (Guidelines); 76 min., Forum 2014 2018 Premières armes (First Stripes)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

National Film Board of Canada

World sales

National Film Board of Canada

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Premières armes

First Stripes

## ## ## ## ## ##

Zwölf Wochen dauert die Grundausbildung der jungen Rekruten – Männer und Frauen – in der kanadischen Armee, die der Film uns zeigt. Ordnung, Sauberkeit und Disziplin sind hier die Grundtugenden, in denen mancher Nachhilfe braucht. Endlos werden T-Shirts gefaltet, Kommandos verinnerlicht, Marschschritte und Waffengebrauch geübt. Jean-François Caissy sieht den Film als Teil einer dokumentarischen Serie, in der er sich mit Übergängen und Lebensabschnitten beschäftigt. Nach dem Schulabschluss (La marche à suivre) und dem Leben in einem Altersheim (La belle visite) nun der freiwillig gewählte Übergang vom Zivilleben zum Militär. Eine Berufswahl, für die die jungen Protagonisten unterschiedliche Motive nennen, vor allem die Suche nach Herausforderung. Die Kamera darf überall dabei sein, manchmal wird ein Befehl um die Anweisung „Achtet auf die Kamera!“ ergänzt. Die nüchtern-neugierige Beobachtung wirft Fragen auf: Wie vertragen sich Individualität und Gehorsam? Werden diese Soldaten und Soldatinnen tatsächlich in den Krieg ziehen müssen? Und womöglich auch die nach dem Zusammenhang zwischen der Verteidigung einer freiheitlichen Gesellschaft und der korrekten Technik, ein Hemd zu falten.

von
Jean-François Caissy

Kanada 2018

Französisch

Dokumentarische Form
106’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Stab

Regie, Buch
Jean-François Caissy
Kamera
Nicolas Canniccioni
Montage
Mathieu Bouchard-Malo
Sound Design
Frédéric Cloutier
Produzentin
Johanne Bergeron

Biografie

Jean-François Caissy

Geboren 1977 in St. Omer, Kanada. Nach dem Studium der Fotografie stellte er seine Bilder in zahlreichen Galerien und Museen aus. 2003 gründete er eine eigene Filmproduktion und realisierte 2005 seinen ersten Dokumentarfilm.

Filmografie

2005 La Saison des amours (Mating Season); 72 Min. 2009 La belle visite (Journey's End); 80 Min., Forum 2010 2014 La marche à suivre (Guidelines); 76 Min., Forum 2014 2018 Premières armes (First Stripes)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

National Film Board of Canada

Weltvertrieb

National Film Board of Canada