Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

Horizonti

Horizon

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

The change in Giorgi’s life could not be more radical. The city, art, his regular, middle-class existence and his marriage to Ana are all behind him. Now he is alone. Giorgi goes into isolation on a small barren island in a simple hut by the sea. In an inhospitable environment, surrounded only by a handful of strangers, between chicken farming and duck hunting, he is trying to pick up the pieces of his life. But his wounds are deep, and the shadows of his happy past repeatedly catch up with him.
Tinatin Kajrishvili’s second feature-length drama is a meticulously and consistently told story about the end of a relationship. Unfolding with great serenity and in long shots, it creates an image of deeply felt loneliness. The main character’s contemplative state quickly infuses the film as it becomes increasingly unlikely that he will break out of his isolation. And yet, in spite of all the hopelessness, the images contain great beauty. One can almost feel the cold wind blowing through the cinema, the first snowflakes too. Ana has found somebody new. The city is far away, as are all thoughts of the future.

by
Tinatin Kajrishvili

Georgia / Sweden 2018

Georgian

105 min · Colour

World premiere

With

George Bochorishvili (Giorgi)
Ia Sukhitashvili (Ana)
Jano Izoria (Jano)
Soso Gogichaishvili (Valiko)
Lika Okroshidze (Marika)
Nana Datunashvili (Larisa)
Sergo Buigishvili (Niko)
George Beridze (Sandro)
Beka Samdbegishvili (Beka)
Luka Akhvlediani (Andro)

Crew

Director
Tinatin Kajrishvili
Screenplay
Tinatin Kajrishvili, David Chubinishvili
Director of Photography
Irakli Akhalkatsi
Editing
Irakli Akhalkatsi
Music
George Khalvashi
Sound Design
Ted Krotkievski, Thomas Jager
Sound
Ivane Gvaradze
Production Design
George Gordzamashvili
Costumes
Nino Zautashvili
Make-up
Madona Chanturia
Assistant Director
Dali Narimanidze
Production Manager
Lasha Khalvashi
Executive Producer
Tinatin Kajrishvili
Co-producer
David Herdies
Co-production
Momento Film, Stockholm
Producers
Tinatin Kajrishvili, Lasha Khalvashi

Biography

Tinatin Kajrishvili

Born in Tbilisi, Georgia in 1978, she graduated with a degree in film directing from the State Theatre and Film University of Georgia in 2001. She attended the producer’s workshop of the European Audiovisual Entrepreneurs (EAVE) and made several short films before her feature film debut Patardzlebi (Brides). The film premiered in the 2014 Berlinale Panorama and went on to screen at many international festivals.

Filmography

2001 Simple Mystery; short film 2002 Opus 1; short film 2006 Samples; short film 2012 Dream Paris; documentary 2014 Patardzlebi (Brides); Panorama 2018 Horizonti (Horizon)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Gemini

Artizm

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Horizonti

Horizon

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Radikaler hätte der Wandel in Giorgis Leben nicht ausfallen können. Die Stadt, die Kunst, sein geregeltes bürgerliches Leben und seine Ehe mit Ana liegen hinter ihm. Nun ist er allein. Auf einer kleinen, kargen Insel in einer einfachen Hütte am Meer, begibt sich Giorgi in die Isolation. In einer unwirtlichen Umgebung, umgeben nur von einer Handvoll Fremder, versucht er zwischen Hühnerzucht und Entenjagd die Scherben seines Lebens aufzusammeln. Doch der Schmerz sitzt tief, und die Schatten einer Vergangenheit, in der er glücklich war, holen ihn immer wieder ein.
Tinatin Kajrishvili erzählt in ihrem zweiten Langfilm präzise und konsequent vom Ende einer Beziehung. Mit großer Ruhe und in langen Einstellungen entfaltet sich das Bild einer tief empfundenen Einsamkeit. Die Kontemplation der Hauptfigur überträgt sich dabei schnell auf den Film und ein Ausbrechen aus der Isolation scheint immer unwahrscheinlicher zu werden. Trotz aller Hoffnungslosigkeit tragen die Bilder des Films eine große Schönheit in sich. Den kalten Wind scheint man im Kinosaal zu spüren, die ersten Schneeflocken auch. Ana hat einen Neuen. Die Stadt liegt in weiter Ferne und mit ihr auch der Gedanke an Zukunft.

von
Tinatin Kajrishvili

Georgien / Schweden 2018

Georgisch

105’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

George Bochorishvili (Giorgi)
Ia Sukhitashvili (Ana)
Jano Izoria (Jano)
Soso Gogichaishvili (Valiko)
Lika Okroshidze (Marika)
Nana Datunashvili (Larisa)
Sergo Buigishvili (Niko)
George Beridze (Sandro)
Beka Samdbegishvili (Beka)
Luka Akhvlediani (Andro)

Stab

Regie
Tinatin Kajrishvili
Buch
Tinatin Kajrishvili, David Chubinishvili
Kamera
Irakli Akhalkatsi
Montage
Irakli Akhalkatsi
Musik
George Khalvashi
Sound Design
Ted Krotkievski, Thomas Jager
Ton
Ivane Gvaradze
Production Design
George Gordzamashvili
Kostüm
Nino Zautashvili
Maske
Madona Chanturia
Regieassistenz
Dali Narimanidze
Production Manager
Lasha Khalvashi
Executive Producer
Tinatin Kajrishvili
Co-Produzent
David Herdies
Co-Produktion
Momento Film, Stockholm
Produzenten
Tinatin Kajrishvili, Lasha Khalvashi

Biografie

Tinatin Kajrishvili

Geboren 1978 in Tiflis, Georgien. Ihr Regiestudium an der dortigen Theater- und Filmuniversität schloss sie 2001 ab. Sie absolvierte den Produzenten-Workshop des Netzwerks European Audiovisual Entrepreneurs (EAVE) und realisierte mehrere Kurzfilme, bevor sie mit Patardzlebi ihr Langfilmdebüt als Regisseurin vorlegte. Der Film feierte 2014 im Panorama Premiere und wurde anschließend auf mehreren Festivals weltweit gezeigt.

Filmografie

2001 Simple Mystery; Kurzfilm 2002 Opus 1; Kurzfilm 2006 Samples; Kurzfilm 2012 Dream Paris; Dokumentarfilm 2014 Patardzlebi (Brides); Panorama 2018 Horizonti (Horizon)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Gemini

Artizm