Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama Dokumente

O processo

The Trial

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

The impeachment and removal from office of Brazilian President Dilma Rousseff in 2016 was triggered by a corruption scandal involving, among others, her then vice-president Michel Temer. Director Maria Augusta Ramos follows the trial against Rousseff from the point of view of her defence team. This is a courtroom drama that unfolds slowly; the appearances of the various parties gradually turn the proceedings into something akin to theatre. Inside the courtroom, grand emotions are played to full effect whilst, on the other side of the doors, lobbyists and supporters pace the corridors. Meanwhile, outside, in front of Brasília’s modernist government buildings, demonstrators are chanting like a Greek chorus. Only the main character, Dilma Rousseff herself, remains professional and aloof.
Following her award-winning documentaries Justiça and Juízo, in which Ramos scrutinised the Brazilian judicial system, she now turns her analytical gaze on the predominantly politically motivated trial against Dilma Rousseff. Her wholly observational film is without commentary; it shows the structures of power, the grandstanding as well as the smaller, rarely seen details.

by
Maria Augusta Ramos

Brazil / Germany / Netherlands 2018

Portuguese

Documentary form
137 min

World premiere

With

Dilma Rousseff
Jose Eduardo Cardozo

Crew

Written and directed by
Maria Augusta Ramos
Director of Photography
Alan Schvarsberg
Editor
Karen Akerman
Sound Design
Bernardo Uzeda
Sound
Marta Lopes
Executive Producer
Maria Augusta Ramos
Producer
Maria Augusta Ramos
Co-producers
Paulo de Carvalho, Gudula Meinzolt, Wout Conijn
Co-production
Autentika Films, Berlin
Canal Brasil, Rio de Janeiro
Conijn Film, Amsterdam

Biography

Maria Augusta Ramos

Born in Brasilia in 1964, she is a Brazilian-Dutch documentary filmmaker who studied at the Netherlands Film and Television Academy in Amsterdam. Her films have screened at international festivals and won a number of awards. In 2013 the Board of the Helsinki Foundation for Human Rights awarded her the Marek Nowicki Prize for her entire oeuvre and her outstanding engagement with the topic of human rights via the medium of film.

Filmography (selection)

2004 Justiça (Justice); documentary 2007 Juízo (Behave); documentary 2013 Morro dos pazeres (Hill of Pleasures); documentary 2015 Seca (Drought); documentary · Futuro Junho (Future June); documentary 2018 O processo (The Trial); documentary, Panorama

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Nofoco Filmes Produções Cinematográficas

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama Dokumente

O processo

The Trial

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Die Amtsenthebung der brasilianischen Präsidentin Dilma Rousseff im Jahr 2016 wurde durch einen Korruptionsskandal ausgelöst, in den unter anderem ihr damaliger Vize Michel Temer verwickelt war. Regisseurin Maria Ramos folgt dem Prozess gegen Rousseff aus der Perspektive ihres Verteidigerteams. Das Justizdrama entfaltet sich langsam, und die Auftritte der unterschiedlichen Parteien werden allmählich zum Gerichtstheater. Während im Verhandlungssaal große Emotionen kalkuliert ausgespielt werden, warten auf den Korridoren die Lobbyisten und Claqueure. Und draußen vor den modernistischen Regierungsgebäuden Brasílias skandieren die Demonstrant*innen wie ein antiker Theaterchor. Nur die Hauptperson, Dilma Rousseff selbst, bleibt professionell und unnahbar.
Nach ihren preisgekrönten Dokumentarfilmen Justiça und Juízo, in denen Ramos das brasilianische Justizsystem unter die Lupe nahm, richtet sie nun ihren analytischen Blick auf den überwiegend politisch motivierten Prozess gegen Dilma Rousseff. Beobachtend und unkommentiert zeigt sie die Strukturen der Macht, das große Spektakel und die kleinen Details, die man selten zu sehen bekommt.

von
Maria Augusta Ramos

Brasilien / Deutschland / Niederlande 2018

Portugiesisch

Dokumentarische Form
137 Min

Weltpremiere

Mit

Dilma Rousseff
Jose Eduardo Cardozo

Stab

Regie, Buch
Maria Augusta Ramos
Kamera
Alan Schvarsberg
Schnitt
Karen Akerman
Sound Design
Bernardo Uzeda
Ton
Marta Lopes
Ausführende Produzentin
Maria Augusta Ramos
Produzentin
Maria Augusta Ramos
Co-Produzenten
Paulo de Carvalho, Gudula Meinzolt, Wout Conijn
Co-Produktion
Autentika Films, Berlin
Canal Brasil, Rio de Janeiro
Conijn Film, Amsterdam

Biografie

Maria Augusta Ramos

Geboren 1964 in Brasília. Die brasilianisch-niederländische Dokumentarfilmerin studierte an der Nederlandse Filmacademie in Amsterdam. Ihre Filme wurden auf internationalen Festivals gezeigt und mehrfach ausgezeichnet. 2013 erhielt sie für ihr Gesamtwerk und ihre herausragende filmische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Menschenrechte den Marek-Nowicki-Preis der Helsinki Foundation for Human Rights.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

2004 Justiça (Justice); Dokumentarfilm 2007 Juízo (Behave); Dokumentarfilm 2013 Morro dos pazeres (Hill of Pleasures); Dokumentarfilm 2015 Seca (Drought); Dokumentarfilm · Futuro Junho (Future June); Dokumentarfilm 2018 O processo (The Trial); Dokumentarfilm, Panorama

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Nofoco Filmes Produções Cinematográficas