Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

Malambo, el hombre bueno

Malambo, the Good Man

Dignified, strong and formidable, and oozing erotic attraction: young malambo dancer Gaspar is at one with his passion for dance that he has made his profession. But, as director Santiago Loza makes clear at the beginning of his film, the Argentinian competitive dance malambo is an uncompromising battle against time. This is a dance to which you devote your entire life and, even if you should happen to win the top championship joust, you are henceforth condemned to training the next generation or to appearing in nightly cruise shows, for there is no possibility to take part in this competition again.
Loza’s contrasty, magical black-and-white images whisk us away into the world of Argentinian gaucho dance. Billed as a fiction, his film comes across as a mixture of documentary, fairy-tale, biography and essay in which he juxtaposes the beauty of the dance battles with the harsh realities faced by the dancer himself. Gaspar’s devotion begins to take its toll on his body. There seems to be no longer anything else but malambo. In his few rare encounters with life beyond the dance floor Gaspar meets family members, competitors and his flatmate – all in the heat of his tiny apartment.

by
Santiago Loza

Argentina 2017

Spanish

71 min · Black/White

World premiere

With

Gaspar Jofre (Gaspar)
Fernando Muñoz (Fernando)
Nubecita Vargas (Roomate)
Pablo Lugones (Lugones)
Gabriela Pastor (Physical Therapist)
Carlos Defeo (Doctor)

Crew

Written and directed by
Santiago Loza
Director of Photography
Ivan Fund, Eduardo Crespo
Editor
Lorena Moriconi
Music
Zypce
Sound Design
Nahuel Palenque
Sound
Guido Deniro
Production Design
Adrian Suarez
Costumes
Victoria Luchino
Assistant Director
Anabella Bacigalupo
Production Manager
Mariano Sanchez Davalos, Lucia Chavarri
Executive Producers
Diego Dubcovsky, Lilia Scenna
Producer
Diego Dubcovsky

Biography

Santiago Loza

Born in Córdoba, Argentina in 1971, he studied at the Universidad Nacional, the Escuela Nacional de Experimentación y Realización Cinematográfica (ENERC) and the Escuela Municipal de Artes Dramáticas. His debut feature film Extraño won the Tiger Award for Best Picture at the International Film Festival Rotterdam. His experimental, documentary and feature films have screened at Cannes, Locarno and Buenos Aires and have won several awards. In 2013 his film La Paz screened in the Forum. Alongside his work as a film director, he is also a screenwriter and playwright.

Filmography

1999 Lara y los trenes; short Film 2002 Extraño (Strange) 2005 Cuatro mujeres descalzas (Four Barefoot Women) 2008 Ártico (Artic) · Rosa Patria 2009 La invención de la carne (The Invention Of Flesh) 2010 Los Labios (The Lips) 2013 La Paz; Forum 2014 Se Je Suis Perdu, C’est Pas Grave (Si Estoy Perdido No Es Grave) · El Asombro 2018 Malambo, el hombre bueno (Malambo, the Good Man)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Varsovia Films

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Malambo, el hombre bueno

Malambo, the Good Man

Würdevoll und stark sieht er aus, unangreifbar und voll erotischer Anziehungskraft: Der junge Malambo-Tänzer Gaspar ist eins mit seiner Leidenschaft, der Tanz ist sein Beruf. Doch Regisseur Santiago Loza lehrt uns bereits zu Anfang seines Films, dass der argentinische Wettbewerbstanz Malambo auch ein kompromissloser Kampf gegen die Zeit ist. Man verschreibt ihm sein Leben. Gewinnt man den großen Zweikampf, ist man danach dazu verdammt, als Trainer den Nachwuchs zu unterrichten oder zur Abendunterhaltung auf Kreuzfahrtschiffen zu tanzen. Ein Weiterleben im Wettbewerb gibt es nicht.
In kontrastreichen, magischen Schwarz-Weiß-Bildern entführt uns Loza in die Welt des argentinischen Gauchotanzes. Als Fiktion angekündigt, kommt sein Film wie eine Mischung aus Dokumentarfilm und Märchen, Biografie und Essay daher und stellt dabei die Schönheit des Kampfes der harten Alltagsrealität seines Tänzers gegenüber. Gaspars Hingabe fordert erste körperliche Opfer. Etwas anderes als Malambo scheint es nicht mehr zu geben. In raren Begegnungen mit dem Leben abseits des Tanzes trifft Gaspar Familienmitglieder, Kontrahenten oder seinen Mitbewohner in der Hitze seiner kleinen Wohnung.

von
Santiago Loza

Argentinien 2017

Spanisch

71 Min · Schwarz-Weiß

Weltpremiere

Mit

Gaspar Jofre (Gaspar)
Fernando Muñoz (Fernando)
Nubecita Vargas (Mitbewohner)
Pablo Lugones (Lugones)
Gabriela Pastor (Physiotherapeutin)
Carlos Defeo (Arzt)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Santiago Loza
Kamera
Ivan Fund, Eduardo Crespo
Schnitt
Lorena Moriconi
Musik
Zypce
Sound Design
Nahuel Palenque
Ton
Guido Deniro
Production Design
Adrian Suarez
Kostüm
Victoria Luchino
Regieassistenz
Anabella Bacigalupo
Production Manager
Mariano Sanchez Davalos, Lucia Chavarri
Ausführende Produzentinnen und Produzenten
Diego Dubcovsky, Lilia Scenna
Produzent
Diego Dubcovsky

Biografie

Santiago Loza

Geboren 1971 in Córdoba, Argentinien. Er studierte an der Universidad Nacional, der Escuela Nacional de Experimentación y Realización Cinematográfica (ENERC) und an der Escuela Municipal de Artes Dramáticas. Sein erster abendfüllender Spielfilm Extraño wurde auf dem internationalen Filmfest in Rotterdam mit dem Tiger Award ausgezeichnet. Seine Experimental-, Dokumentar- und Spielfilme liefen in Cannes, Locarno und Buenos Aires und wurden mehrfach preisgekrönt. 2013 war Loza mit La Paz Gast des Forum. Neben seiner Arbeit als Filmregisseur ist er auch als Drehbuchautor und Dramatiker tätig.

Filmografie

1999 Lara y los trenes; Kurzfilm 2002 Extraño (Strange) 2005 Cuatro mujeres descalzas (Four Barefoot Women) 2008 Ártico (Artic) · Rosa Patria 2009 La invención de la carne (The Invention Of Flesh) 2010 Los Labios (The Lips) 2013 La Paz; Forum 2014 Se Je Suis Perdu, C’est Pas Grave (Si Estoy Perdido No Es Grave) · El Asombro 2018 Malambo, el hombre bueno (Malambo, the Good Man)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Varsovia Films