Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum Expanded Exhibition

Come Back Alive Baby

## ##

Filmed in locations such as Chernobyl, Buchenwald memorial, Yubari, Japan, massacre sites in South Korea, and the Wéris megaliths in Belgium, Sanghee Song’s new work Come Back Alive Baby deals with the end of the world, salvation, with the apocalyptic condition, but also with the energy of new formation.
It is based on the Korean folktale of “Baby Commander,” a story of an extraordinary baby that was murdered by its parents, by neighbors, and by soldiers, but always revived itself from its grave. Repeating the baby’s birth-murder revival the film follows the structure of this folktale. Through video, drawing, and text, Song presents variations of a new life force rising even from extreme situations of despair and extinction, such as one in which individuals are sacrificed for the stability of a country or a group; a great famine and the bankruptcy of a local government; or ruins due to the worst nuclear power plant accident in history.

by
Sanghee Song

Korea

Korean

17’ · Colour · 3-Kanal-Videoinstallation

Crew

Written and directed by
Sanghee Song
Director of Photography
Hyoungju Kim
Editing
Sanghee Song
Music
Isang Yun
Sound Design
Sanghee Song
Production Design
Sanghee Song
Producers
Jiwon Lee, Bonggu Park

Biography

Sanghee Song

Sanghee Song, born in Seoul, South Korea, participated in the artist residency program Rijksakademie voor Beeldende Kunsten between 2006 and 2007 and has been based in Amsterdam ever since. Her works start by assuaging the soundless death of those who have absolutely nothing in this world. Through her works, the artist captures those who have been shunned and excluded by symbolic violence as well as the nameless beings that have constantly existed in different appearances over the years. She calls them to the complex time and space of the past and present through a narrative context that has been solidified through music, video, drawing, text, and performance. Her work has been widely and internationally exhibited.

Filmography

2018 Come Back Alive Baby

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Jiwon Lee

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded Ausstellung

Come Back Alive Baby

## ##

Sanghee Songs Come Back Alive Baby wurde unter anderem in Tschernobyl, Yubari in Japan, der Gedenkstätte Buchenwald, an Orten, an denen Massaker in Südkorea stattfanden, und den Wéris-Megalithen in Belgien gefilmt. Der Film handelt vom Ende der Welt, von Erlösung, apokalyptischen Bedingungen, aber auch von der Energie, die freigesetzt wird, wenn Neues entsteht.
Die Arbeit basiert auf dem koreanischen Märchen vom „Baby-Soldaten“, der Geschichte eines außergewöhnlichen Babys, das von seinen Eltern, von Nachbar*innen und von Soldat*innen umgebracht wird, aber immer wieder aufersteht. Analog dazu wiederholt der Film die Geburt-Mord-Auferstehungs-Abfolge. Auch aus den extremsten Situationen von Leid und Auslöschung, wie zum Beispiel der Opferung Einzelner für die Stabilität eines Landes, aus Hungersnöten, der Zahlungsunfähigkeit einer Regierung oder auch aus den Ruinen der verheerendsten Nuklearkatastrophe der Geschichte, kann neue Lebenskraft entstehen. Song verdeutlicht dies mit Videos, Zeichnungen und Texten.

von
Sanghee Song

Korea

Koreanisch

17’ · Farbe · 3-Kanal-Videoinstallation

Stab

Regie, Buch
Sanghee Song
Kamera
Hyoungju Kim
Montage
Sanghee Song
Musik
Isang Yun
Sound Design
Sanghee Song
Production Design
Sanghee Song
Produzentinnen und Produzenten
Jiwon Lee, Bonggu Park

Biografie

Sanghee Song

Sanghee Song, geboren in Seoul, Südkorea, war von 2006 bis 2007 Stipendiatin der Rijksakademie voor Beeldende Kunsten und lebt seitdem in Amsterdam. Der Ausgangspunkt ihrer Arbeiten ist der Versuch, die ungehörten Tode jener, die in dieser Welt absolut nichts besitzen, zu lindern. In ihren Werken fängt sie die Ausgestoßenen und Vermiedenen ein, denen symbolische Gewalt angetan wurde, und die namenlosen Wesen, die in der einen oder anderen Form seit jeher existiert haben. Mit Hilfe einer Narration, die in Musik, Video, Zeichnung, Text und Performance Gestalt annimmt, ruft sie diese Wesen in die komplexe Raumzeit von Vergangenheit und Gegenwart. Ihre Arbeiten wurden weltweit ausgestellt.

Filmografie

2018 Come Back Alive Baby

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Jiwon Lee