Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Culinary Cinema

The Green Lie

Die Grüne Lüge

## ## ## ## ##

Austrian director Werner Boote and German author Kathrin Hartmann apply the weapons of truth to the dishonesties of the ‘greenwashing’ enterprises by following the trail of corporate green lies to the sites of the most catastrophic environmental disasters: the tremendous impact of BP's oil pollution on Grand Isle caused by Deepwater Horizon, the extent of the rainforest fires ignited by palm oil corporations in Indonesia, and the consequences of cattle farming on indigenous peoples in Brazil. After attending the SEA – Sustainable Entrepreneurship Award in Vienna, a palm oil conference in Bali, and the RWE general assembly in Essen, Werner and Kathrin come to realize that industry’s so-called ‘green products’ have no relation to true sustainability, but instead destroy the environment and undermine the truly necessary steps that must be taken. They discuss the connections of ecology and economy and the mistakes of policies that shift the responsibility of fair and sustainable resource management onto consumers with renowned experts, including professor Noam Chomsky and the journalist and activist Raj Patel.

by
Werner Boote

Austria 2018

German, English, Portuguese, Indonesian

Documentary form
97’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Werner Boote
Kathrin Hartmann
Noam Chomsky
Raj Patel
Feri Irawan
Vincent Hannemann
Dean Blanchard
Scott A. Porter
Sônia Bone  de Sousa Silva Santos Guajajara
Estevinho Floriano Tiago

Crew

Written and directed by
Werner Boote
Director of Photography
Dominik Spritzendorfer, Mario Hötschl
Editing
Gernot Grassl, Roland Buzzi
Music
Marcus Nigsch
Sound Design
Thomas Pötz, Andreas Hamza
Sound
Atanas Tcholakov, Andreas Hamza
Assistant Director
Myriam Loukili
Head of Production
Florian Brandt
Line Producer
Robert Sattler
Producers
Markus Pauser, Erich Schindlecker
Creative Producer
Elise Lein

Biography

Werner Boote

Born in Vienna, Austria in 1965, he studied at the Film Academy Vienna where his initial focus was music. There followed numerous music documentaries such as Der Gladiator. His first film for theatrical release, Plastic Planet, screened in over 80 countries. Exhorting a plastic free life, the film brought about social and legal changes and won him a Golden Romy. Population Boom in which he calls for a fairer distribution of wealth, won him the Green Me Award for Best Documentary. Following his feature-length documentary Alles unter Kontrolle, his new film The Green Lie will be released in cinemas.

Filmography

2009 Mythos Ring · Plastic Planet 2010 Was Sie immer schon über Österreich wissen wollten 2011 The Unexpected Visitors 9/11 2012 Musik in der Luft 2013 Population Boom 2014 Bombensicher · Geschichten vom Leben - An der Tankstelle 2015 Morgenland im Abendland · Alles unter Kontrolle 2018 The Green Lie

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

e&a film

World sales

Wide House
widehouse.org/

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Kulinarisches Kino

The Green Lie

Die Grüne Lüge

## ## ## ## ##

Auf ihrer Reise zu den Schauplätzen der schlimmsten Umweltkatastrophen decken der österreichische Regisseur Werner Boote und die deutsche Autorin Kathrin Hartmann die Lügen von „Greenwashing“-Unternehmen auf: von den desaströsen Folgen der von der BP-Bohrinsel Deepwater Horizon verursachten Ölpest, über das gewaltige Ausmaß der von Palmöl-Konzernen betriebenen Regenwald-Brandrodungen in Indonesien bis zu den Auswirkungen der Rinderzucht auf die Ureinwohner Brasiliens. Sie besuchen die Verleihung des Sustainable Entrepreneurship Awards in Wien, eine Palmöl-Konferenz in Bali, die Hauptversammlung von RWE in Essen und kommen zu der Feststellung, dass die sogenannten grünen Produkte der Industrie nichts mit wirklicher Nachhaltigkeit zu tun haben. Stattdessen zerstören sie die Umwelt und untergraben Maßnahmen, die eigentlich nötig wären. Mit namhaften Experten wie Noam Chomsky und dem Schriftsteller und Aktivisten Raj Patel diskutieren die Filmemacher über die Verbindung von Ökologie und Ökonomie, aber auch den Fehler der Politik, die Verantwortung für den gerechten und nachhaltigen Umgang mit Ressourcen auf die Verbraucher abzuwälzen.

von
Werner Boote

Österreich 2018

Deutsch, Englisch, Portugiesisch, Indonesisch

Dokumentarische Form
97 Min · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Werner Boote
Kathrin Hartmann
Noam Chomsky
Raj Patel
Feri Irawan
Vincent Hannemann
Dean Blanchard
Scott A. Porter
Sônia Bone  de Sousa Silva Santos Guajajara
Estevinho Floriano Tiago

Stab

Regie, Buch
Werner Boote
Kamera
Dominik Spritzendorfer, Mario Hötschl
Schnitt
Gernot Grassl, Roland Buzzi
Musik
Marcus Nigsch
Sound Design
Thomas Pötz, Andreas Hamza
Ton
Atanas Tcholakov, Andreas Hamza
Regieassistenz
Myriam Loukili
Produktion, Leitung
Florian Brandt
Herstellungsleitung
Robert Sattler
Produzenten
Markus Pauser, Erich Schindlecker
Creative Producer
Elise Lein

Biografie

Werner Boote

Geboren 1965 in Wien, Österreich. Er studierte an der Filmakademie in Wien und setzte seinen Schwerpunkt anfangs auf Musik. Es folgten zahlreiche Musikdokumentarfilme wie Der Gladiator. Sein erster Kinofilm Plastic Planet wurde in über 80 Ländern gezeigt. Der Film, der mit der Goldenen Romy ausgezeichnet wurde, inspirierte zu einem plastikfreien Leben und führte zu gesellschaftlichen und gesetzlichen Reformen. Im Population Boom rief er zu Verteilungsgerechtigkeit auf, dafür wurde mit dem Green Me Award für den besten Dokumentarfilm ausgezeichnet. Nach seiner abendfüllenden Dokumentation Alles unter Kontrolle, kommt The Green Lie ins Kino.

Filmografie

2009 Mythos Ring · Plastic Planet 2010 Was Sie immer schon über Österreich wissen wollten 2011 The Unexpected Visitors 9/11 2012 Musik in der Luft 2013 Population Boom 2014 Bombensicher · Geschichten vom Leben - An der Tankstelle 2015 Morgenland im Abendland · Alles unter Kontrolle 2018 The Green Lie

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

e&a film

Weltvertrieb

Wide House
widehouse.org/