Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

Marilyn

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

There’s not much going on in this part of rural Argentina where a shy young man named Marcos lives with his family. Theirs is a modest existence, where gender roles are clearly demarcated. The hot summer doesn’t make life any easier, but money needs to be earned and the herd of cattle must be kept together. Marcos manages to carve out little islands of freedom during his routine; in these moments he likes to put make-up on his childlike face or slip into colourful dresses behind closed doors. Carnival is just around the corner; this year’s event will change Marcos’ life as dramatically as the family’s unexpected relocation.
Martín Rodríguez Redondo’s cinematic debut is a tender portrait of youth and initially repressed self-discovery, told with serene understatement, devoid of guiding music. The roar of motorbikes promises both freedom and danger and, although there appears to be no escape from this world, the situation is far from hopeless for at some point young Federico appears on the scene. The images are contemplative and the narrative linear, yet the course taken by the film’s seemingly predictable trajectory is nonetheless surprising. A story based on true events.

by
Martín Rodríguez Redondo

Argentina / Chile 2018

Spanish

80 min · Colour

World premiere

With

Walter Rodríguez (Marcos)
Catalina Saavedra (Olga)
Germán de Silva (Carlos)
Ignacio Giménez (Carlitos)
Rodolfo García Werner (Facundo)
Andrew Bargsted (Federico)
Josefina Paredes (Laura)
Germán Baudino (Raúl)

Crew

Director
Martín Rodríguez Redondo
Screenplay
Mariana Docampo, Mara Pescio, Martín Rodríguez Redondo
Director of Photography
Guillermo Saposnik
Editor
Felipe Gálvez
Music
Kumbia Queers, Laurent Apffel
Sound Design
Roberto Espinoza
Sound
Rodrigo Merolla
Production Design
Adrián Suárez
Costumes
Jam Monti
Make-up
Jorge Palacios
Casting
María Laura Berch
Assistant Director
Felipe Solari Yrigoyen
Production Manager
Mariano Fernández
Executive Producers
Paula Zyngierman, Giancarlo Nasi
Producers
Paula Zyngierman, Giancarlo Nasi, Martín Rodríguez Redondo

Biography

Martín Rodríguez Redondo

Born in Buenos Aires, Argentina in 1979, he studied filmmaking for cinema and television at the Centro de Investigación Cinematográfica (CIC) in the same city. He has been assistant director and producer on numerous documentaries. In 2016 he directed the short film Las liebres which screened at international film festivals and won the short film competition at the Instituto Nacional de Cine y Artes Audiovisuales (INCAA) in Argentina. Marilyn is his debut feature as a director.

Filmography

2016 Las liebres; short film 2018 Marilyn; Panorama

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Maravillacine

Quijote Rampante

World sales

Film Factory Entertainment
www.filmfactoryentertainment.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Marilyn

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Es ist nicht viel los im ländlichen Argentinien, wo der junge, schüchterne Marcos mit seiner Familie lebt. Die Umstände sind bescheiden und die Geschlechterrollen klar verteilt. Der heiße Sommer macht das Leben nicht eben leichter, doch das Geld muss verdient und die Kuhherde zusammengehalten werden. Marcos schafft sich im Alltag immer wieder kleine Inseln der Freiheit, schminkt sich heimlich sein fast noch kindliches Gesicht oder schlüpft hinter verschlossener Tür in bunte Kleider. Der Karneval steht vor der Tür und soll Marcos' Leben genauso einschneidend verändern wie der unerwartete Umzug der Familie.
Mit großer Ruhe und ganz ohne leitende Musik zeichnet Martín Rodríguez Redondo in seinem Debütfilm das zärtliche Porträt einer Jugend und einer vorerst unterdrückten Selbstfindung. Das Brummen der Motorräder verheißt gleichzeitig Freiheit und Bedrohung, und obwohl es aus dieser Welt kein Entkommen zu geben scheint, ist die Situation nicht hoffnungslos, denn irgendwann ist da der junge Federico. Kontemplativ sind die Bilder, geradlinig ihr Fluss, überraschend ist der Lauf der scheinbar vorherbestimmten Ereignisse. Eine Geschichte, die auf wahren Begebenheiten beruht.

von
Martín Rodríguez Redondo

Argentinien / Chile 2018

Spanisch

80 Min · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Walter Rodríguez (Marcos)
Catalina Saavedra (Olga)
Germán de Silva (Carlos)
Ignacio Giménez (Carlitos)
Rodolfo García Werner (Facundo)
Andrew Bargsted (Federico)
Josefina Paredes (Laura)
Germán Baudino (Raúl)

Stab

Regie
Martín Rodríguez Redondo
Buch
Mariana Docampo, Mara Pescio, Martín Rodríguez Redondo
Kamera
Guillermo Saposnik
Schnitt
Felipe Gálvez
Musik
Kumbia Queers, Laurent Apffel
Sound Design
Roberto Espinoza
Ton
Rodrigo Merolla
Production Design
Adrián Suárez
Kostüm
Jam Monti
Maske
Jorge Palacios
Casting
María Laura Berch
Regieassistenz
Felipe Solari Yrigoyen
Production Manager
Mariano Fernández
Ausführende Produzenten
Paula Zyngierman, Giancarlo Nasi
Produzenten
Paula Zyngierman, Giancarlo Nasi, Martín Rodríguez Redondo

Biografie

Martín Rodríguez Redondo

Geboren 1979 in Buenos Aires, wo er am Centro de Investigación Cinematográfica Film und Fernsehen studierte. Er war Regieassistent und Produzent bei mehreren Dokumentarfilmproduktionen und drehte den Kurzfilm Las liebres (2016), der international auf Festivals gezeigt wurde und den Kurzfilmwettbewerb des argentinischen Instituto Nacional de Cine y Artes Audiovisuales (INCAA) gewann. Marilyn ist sein erster Langfilm als Regisseur.

Filmografie

2016 Las liebres; Kurzfilm 2018 Marilyn; Panorama

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Maravillacine

Quijote Rampante

Weltvertrieb

Film Factory Entertainment
www.filmfactoryentertainment.com