Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Verlorene

Lost Ones

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

The only time Maria feels liberated is when she is playing the organ. Bach’s music is something you feel in your gut. At home she bears the brunt of responsibility – both for her rebellious sister Hannah, two years her junior, who is busy planning her escape from the village, and for her father, Johann. Ever since their mother’s untimely death, these two very different sisters have been living alone with their father in the backwoods of southern Germany. Maria does everything in her power to keep their fragile little family together – even if it means giving up her own dreams. Everything changes when a young journeyman carpenter takes up a job at their father’s workshop. Maria falls in love with him – for the first time in her life, and against all reason. The stoical mask she wears in her role of her sister’s protector is about to fall. The young carpenter Valentin reciprocates Maria’s secret affection for him, but the closer he gets to her the more she retracts, desperate to conceal a dark family secret. Her younger sister discovers the secret, but their world has long since been thrown out of kilter. Hannah decides to liberate Maria - if necessary against her will.

by
Felix Hassenfratz

Germany 2018

German

91 min · Colour · 2K DCP

World premiere

With

Maria Dragus (Maria)
Anna Bachmann (Hannah)
Clemens Schick (Johann)
Enno Trebs (Valentin)
Meira Durand (Jenny)
Anne Weinknecht (doctor)

Crew

Written and directed by
Felix Hassenfratz
Director of Photography
Bernhard Keller
Editing
Barbara Toennieshen
Music
Paul Eisenach, Gregor Schwellenbach
Sound Design
Oliver Achatz
Production Design
Jan Lasse Hartmann
Costumes
Bettina Marx
Make-up
Monika Knauf
Casting
Jacqueline Rietz
Assistant Director
Claudia Horst
Production Manager
Andreas Schumann
Producers
Max Frauenknecht, Benedikt Böllhoff
Co-producers
Christian Becker, Benjamin Munz
Co-production
Rat Pack Filmproduktion, Stuttgart

Biography

Felix Hassenfratz

Born in 1981, he lives and works in Cologne, Germany. He worked as a freelance writer as well as stills photographer and assistant director for filmmakers including Romuald Karmakar. Between 2004 and 2007 he studied film directing at the Internationale Filmschule Köln followed by work as a freelance director of television programmes including for children and young people. His documentary series Schnitzeljagd im Heiligen Land won the Grimme Award.

Filmography

2007 Der Bäcker war's; short documentary 2008 Der Verdacht; short film 2010 Unser Haus in Schlesien; documentary 2011 Schnitzeljagd im Heiligen Land; documentary series 2012 The Alqueva Project; documentary 2018 Verlorene (Lost Ones)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Viafilm

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Verlorene

Lost Ones

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Frei ist Maria nur, wenn sie Orgel spielt. Bach spürt man im Bauch. Zu Hause lastet viel Verantwortung auf ihr: für Hannah, ihre zwei Jahre jüngere Schwester, die rebellierend den Ausbruch aus dem Dorf plant, und für Johann, ihren Vater. Nach dem frühen Tod der Mutter leben die beiden ungleichen Schwestern allein mit ihm in der süddeutschen Provinz. Es ist ein fragiler Zusammenhalt, den Maria mit aller Kraft zu bewahren versucht, auch um den Preis ihrer eigenen Träume. Alles ändert sich, als ein junger Zimmermann auf der Walz im Betrieb des Vaters zu arbeiten beginnt. Maria verliebt sich in ihn. Zum ersten Mal und gegen alle Vernunft. Die stoische Maske, die sie als Beschützerin der Schwester trägt, droht zu fallen. Der junge Zimmermann Valentin erwidert Marias heimliche Zuneigung. Doch je näher er ihr kommt, umso mehr zieht sie sich zurück: Ein dunkles Familiengeheimnis soll auf keinen Fall ans Licht kommen. Als die jüngere Schwester von diesem Geheimnis erfährt, ist die Welt der beiden jungen Frauen längst aus dem Lot. Hannah beschließt, Maria zu befreien. Im Zweifel auch gegen deren Willen.

von
Felix Hassenfratz

Deutschland 2018

Deutsch

91 Min · Farbe · 2K DCP

Weltpremiere

Mit

Maria Dragus (Maria)
Anna Bachmann (Hannah)
Clemens Schick (Johann)
Enno Trebs (Valentin)
Meira Durand (Jenny)
Anne Weinknecht (Ärztin)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Felix Hassenfratz
Kamera
Bernhard Keller
Montage
Barbara Toennieshen
Musik
Paul Eisenach, Gregor Schwellenbach
Sound Design
Oliver Achatz
Production Design
Jan Lasse Hartmann
Kostüm
Bettina Marx
Maske
Monika Knauf
Casting
Jacqueline Rietz
Regieassistenz
Claudia Horst
Production Manager
Andreas Schumann
Produzenten
Max Frauenknecht, Benedikt Böllhoff
Co-Produzenten
Christian Becker, Benjamin Munz
Co-Produktion
Rat Pack Filmproduktion, Stuttgart

Biografie

Felix Hassenfratz

Geboren 1981, lebt und arbeitet in Köln. Nach dem Zivildienst war er als freier Autor sowie Setfotograf und Regieassistent, u. a. für Romuald Karmakar, tätig. Von 2004 bis 2007 Studium der Filmregie an der Internationalen Filmschule Köln; anschließend Arbeit als freier Regisseur für Fernsehformate u. a. im Kinder- und Jugendprogramm. Die vierteilige Dokureihe Schnitzeljagd im Heiligen Land wurde mit dem Grimme-Preis ausgezeichnet.

Filmografie

2007 Der Bäcker war's; Kurz-Dokumentarfilm 2008 Der Verdacht; Kurzfilm 2010 Unser Haus in Schlesien; Dokumentarfilm 2011 Schnitzeljagd im Heiligen Land; Dokumentarreihe 2012 The Alqueva Project; Dokumentarfilm 2018 Verlorene (Lost Ones)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Viafilm