Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Kein sicherer Ort

No Safe Place

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

It’s a wonder that this ten-year-old girl is still in one piece, much less the polite, capable, well-behaved, unassuming, attentive and helpful person she is. Somehow, Marie manages to function, and were she not to do so, the entire façade that is her ostensibly harmonious family would certainly collapse. Marie’s mother is depressed and spends most of her time in bed. When Marie comes home from school, she takes care of the housework and her mother. As if this wasn’t enough, time and again, even at night, her mother fetches her to witness her arguments with Marie’s father. More and more, Marie feels she’s being ground down between her mother’s illness and her father’s indecisiveness. Her home is anything but a safe place in which to be a child. In the war zone that is her family she finds herself caught permanently between all fronts and she is at risk of losing herself before she even has a chance to find out who she is.

by
Antje Beine

Germany 2018

German

22’ · Colour · 2K DCP

World premiere

With

Lucia Stickel (Marie)
Kristina Pauls (mother)
Robin Sondermann (father)

Crew

Written and directed by
Antje Beine
Director of Photography
Fabio Stoll, Peter Schmehl
Editing
Antje Beine
Sound Design
Andreas Goldbrunner
Sound
Janek Kemter
Gaffer
Finn Gosch
Production Design
Verena Barros de Oliveira
Production Manager
Antje Beine
Executive Producer
Antje Beine
Producer
Antje Beine
Co-production
Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München, München

Biography

Antje Beine

Born in Nuremberg, Germany in 1980. After completing school she trained as an audiovisual media designer. Between 2004 and 2006 she worked as a freelance editor and camera assistant and then as an audiovisual media designer at the ARD studio in Rome. In 2009 she took up studies at the University for Television and Film Munich; from 2012 to 2013 she was an editor at SWR Stuttgart. Since 2013 she has been a lecturer at the ARD.ZDF medienakademie. After making documentaries, Kein sicherer Ort is her first fiction feature film.

Filmography

2010 JaNeinJain; short documentary 2012 Vom Fischer und seinem Fang; short documentary 2013 Monte Rosa; medium-length documentary 2015 Die Lichtzauberin; medium-length documentary 2018 Kein sicherer Ort (No Safe Place); medium-length film

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Filmmagnet

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Kein sicherer Ort

No Safe Place

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Eigentlich kann man sich nur wundern, wie intakt dieses zehnjährige Mädchen ist: höflich und patent, brav und unauffällig, aufmerksam und hilfsbereit. Marie funktioniert, und würde sie einmal nicht funktionieren, brächte das die ganze Fassade ihrer nach außen hin harmonisch erscheinenden Familie zum Einsturz. Maries Mutter ist depressiv und verbringt die meiste Zeit im Bett. Marie kümmert sich nach der Schule um den Haushalt und um sie. Aber damit nicht genug, immer wieder, auch nachts, wird sie von der Mutter geholt, um Zeugin der Auseinandersetzungen zwischen den Eltern zu sein. Marie fühlt sich zunehmend zerrieben zwischen der Krankheit der Mutter und der Entschlusslosigkeit des Vaters. Ihr Zuhause ist alles andere als ein sicherer Ort, um Kind zu sein. Im Kriegsgebiet Familie steht sie permanent zwischen den Fronten und droht sich zu verlieren, bevor sie überhaupt Gelegenheit hatte sich zu finden.

von
Antje Beine

Deutschland 2018

Deutsch

22 Min · Farbe · 2K DCP

Weltpremiere

Mit

Lucia Stickel (Marie)
Kristina Pauls (Mutter)
Robin Sondermann (Vater)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Antje Beine
Kamera
Fabio Stoll, Peter Schmehl
Schnitt
Antje Beine
Sound Design
Andreas Goldbrunner
Ton
Janek Kemter
Licht
Finn Gosch
Production Design
Verena Barros de Oliveira
Production Manager
Antje Beine
Ausführende Produzentin
Antje Beine
Produzentin
Antje Beine
Co-Produktion
Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München, München

Biografie

Antje Beine

Geboren 1980 in Nürnberg. Nach dem Abitur machte sie zunächst eine Ausbildung zur Mediengestalterin Bild und Ton. Von 2004 bis 2006 war sie als freie Editorin und Kameraassistentin tätig, danach als Mediengestalterin für das ARD Studio Rom. Seit 2009 studiert sie an der Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film in München und war 2012 bis 2013 Editorin für den SWR Stuttgart. Seit 2013 ist sie Dozentin an der ARD.ZDF medienakademie. Neben Dokumentationen hat Antje Beine nun ihren ersten Spielfilm Kein sicherer Ort vorgelegt.

Filmografie

2010 JaNeinJain; Kurz-Dokumentarfilm 2012 Vom Fischer und seinem Fang; Kurz-Dokumentarfilm 2013 Monte Rosa; Mittellanger Dokumentarfilm 2015 Die Lichtzauberin; Mittellanger Dokumentarfilm 2018 Kein sicherer Ort (No Safe Place); Mittellanger Spielfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Filmmagnet