Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum Expanded

Onward Lossless Follows

##

In Onward Lossless Follows, Robinson pieces together footage he collected over the past decade, some of it found, some of it original. On the surface, the film is a dark, disturbing piece in the “amusing ourselves to death” vein, presenting a world decimated by climate change while each of us discovers our own bliss in the sensual, pseudo-religious pleasure of computers, phones, and other assorted digital beeps that occupy so much of our attention. But as a preacher rails against the modern world for putting its faith in science, the particular register of his voice touches a euphoria that manages to counterbalance the film’s melancholy and cynicism. “Young man, you look miserable!” he chides. “There’s no help in starrrrrs.” And he’s not wrong. Robinson resolves the film’s tension by turning a “stranger danger” video into an impossible love story and by transforming TV news footage of a horse being airlifted out of a ravine into a moment of ecstatic splendor that, lord willin’, might just redeem us all.

by
Michael Robinson

USA 2017

English

17’ · Colour & Black/White

Crew

Written and directed by
Michael Robinson
Director of Photography
Michael Robinson
Editing
Michael Robinson
Sound Design
Michael Robinson
Producer
Michael Robinson

Biography

Michael Robinson

Michael Robinson, born in 1981, is an artist based in Los Angeles. He holds a BFA from Ithaca College and an MFA from the University of Illinois at Chicago (U.I.C.), and he has taught at Binghamton University, Otis College of Art and Design, U.I.C., and the Schule Friedl Kubelka in Vienna. His work in film, video, and collage explores the joys and dangers of mediated experience, riding the fine lines between humor and terror, nostalgia and contempt, ecstasy and hysteria. His work has been shown in both solo and group exhibitions at a variety of museums, festivals, and galleries. Robinson is currently writing and developing his first feature-length film project, I’ll Be Thunder.

Filmography

2001 Carpenter · Tidal 2002 The War Of 1987 · Opening Ceremonies 2003 Motel Flora · Chiquitita And The Soft Escape 2004 First Cousins · Birds Of North America 2005 you don’t bring me flowers 2006 And We All Shine On · The General Returns From One Place To Another 2007 Light Is Waiting · Victory Over The Sun 2008 All Through The Night · Carol Anne is Dead · Hold Me Now 2009 What A Fool Believes · If There Be Thorns 2010 These Hammers Don’t Hurt Us 2011 Line Describing Your Mom 2012 Circle in the Sand 2013 The Dark, Krystle 2015 Mad Ladders 2017 Onward Lossless Follows

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Michael Robinson

World sales

Video Data Bank, Zachary Vanes
www.vdb.org/

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Onward Lossless Follows

##

In Onward Losless Follows kombiniert Robinson Film- und Videomaterial, das er im Laufe der letzte zehn Jahre gesammelt hat – gefundenes wie gedrehtes. Auf den ersten Blick ist der Film eine düstere, verstörende Arbeit, die eine von Klimawandel bedrohte Welt zeigt, in der wir alle unser je eigenes Glück im sinnlichen, pseudoreligiösen Vergnügen von Computern, Handys und anderen digitalen Gerätschaften entdecken, die unsere Aufmerksamkeit beanspruchen. „Wir amüsieren uns zu Tode“, könnte man sagen. Doch als ein Prediger beginnt, gegen die moderne Welt zu zetern, die ihr Vertrauen in die Wissenschaft setzt, tut er dies in einem so euphorischen Ton, dass seine Stimme zum Gegengewicht zu Melancholie und Zynismus wird. „Junger Mann, du siehst erbärmlich aus!“, mahnt er. „Die Sterrrrrne werden dir nicht helfen.“ Und er hat nicht Unrecht. Robinson löst die Spannung des Films auf, indem er ein Lehrvideo über die Gefahr, bei Fremden ins Auto zu steigen, in eine unmögliche Liebesgeschichte und Fernsehnachrichtenbilder eines Pferds, das per Hubschrauber aus einer Schlucht gerettet wird, in einen Moment ekstatischen Überflusses verwandelt, der, so Gott will, uns alle erlösen wird.

von
Michael Robinson

USA 2017

Englisch

17’ · Farbe & Schwarz-Weiß

Stab

Regie, Buch
Michael Robinson
Kamera
Michael Robinson
Montage
Michael Robinson
Sound Design
Michael Robinson
Producer
Michael Robinson

Biografie

Michael Robinson

Michael Robinson, geboren 1981, lebt und arbeitet als Künstler in Los Angeles. Er hat einen BFA vom Ithaca College und einen MFA von der University of Illinois, Chicago (U.I.C.). Er hat an der Binghamton University, am Otis College of Art and Design, U.I.C. und an der Schule Friedl Kubelka in Wien gelehrt. Seine Film-, Video- und Collagearbeiten untersuchen den Spaß an medial vermittelten Erfahrungen, aber auch die damit verbundenen Gefahren, und bewegen sich auf dem schmalen Grad zwischen Humor und Terror, Nostalgie und Verachtung, Ekstase und Hysterie. Seine Arbeiten wurden in Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen in Museen, Galerien und auf Festivals gezeigt. Robinson arbeitet derzeit an seinem ersten abendfüllenden Film, I'll Be Thunder.

Filmografie

2001 Carpenter; 4 Min. · Tidal; 7 Min. 2002 The War Of 1987; 2 Min. · Opening Ceremonies; 9 Min. 2003 Motel Flora; 5 Min. · Chiquitita And The Soft Escape; 10 Min. 2004 First Cousins; 4 Min. · Birds Of North America; 11 Min. 2005 you don’t bring me flowers; 8 Min. 2006 And We All Shine On; 7 Min. · The General Returns From One Place To Another; 11 Min. 2007 Light Is Waiting; 11 Min. · Victory Over The Sun; 13 Min. 2008 All Through The Night; 4 Min. · Carol Anne is Dead; 8 Min. · Hold Me Now; 5 Min. 2009 What A Fool Believes; 4 Min. · If There Be Thorns; 13 Min. 2010 These Hammers Don’t Hurt Us; 13 Min. 2011 Line Describing Your Mom; 6 Min. 2012 Circle in the Sand; 46 Min. 2013 The Dark, Krystle; 10 Min. 2015 Mad Ladders; 10 Min. 2017 Onward Lossless Follows

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Michael Robinson

Weltvertrieb

Video Data Bank, Zachary Vanes
www.vdb.org/