Berlinale: Programme


Film File

NATIVe - Indigenous Cinema

MA’OHI NUI, au cœur de l’océan mon pays

MA’OHI NUI, in the heart of the ocean my country lies

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

An ancestral voice recites the past, present and future of the Ma'ohi, the people of Tahiti. She speaks to Tanaoa, a young man in search of the fading identity of his people. Eye-witness accounts recall the nuclear testing done by French colonizers from 1966 − 1996 on the French Polynesian atolls Moruroa and Fangataufa, near Tahiti. The words can be heard to the hollow rumbling sound of a bomb explosion in slow-motion, resembling the roar of traditional Polynesian drums. The Ma'ohi sensed the horror around them, yet they were disempowered and could not turn away. Deceived and compelled through money and the seductions of modern life and dispossessed of their land, they gradually lost connection to their Polynesian ways, their resources, their language and their ocean. But the Ma'ohi spirit is resilient, it resists and it survives. Poet and political activist Flora Devatine’s ethereal words recapitulate and empower the voices of a people seeking the path of independence.

by
Annick Ghijzelings

Belgium 2018

Tahitian, French

Documentary form
113 min

World premiere

With

Flora Devatine (Narrator)

Crew

Written and directed by
Annick Ghijzelings
Director of Photography
Caroline Guimbal, Annick Ghijzelings
Editor
Annick Ghijzelings
Music
Herman Martin
Sound Design
Annick Ghijzelings, Jean-Jacques Quinet
Sound
Jean-Jacques Quinet
Producer
Isabelle Truc
Co-producer
Javier Packer-Comyn

Biography

Annick Ghijzelings

Initially a writer, she turned to film-making after adapting her own stories for the big screen. Working as a documentary film-maker ever since, her filmography includes Terre terra terrae, The Very Minute and 27 times Time. In MA’OHI NUI, in the heart of the ocean my country lies she shows the determination of the Ma’ohi people of Tahiti to overcome contemporary forms of colonization.

Filmography

2008 Terre terra terrae 2010 The Very Minute, unfinished 1 > 7 2016 27 fois le temps (27 times Time) 2017 MA’OHI NUI, au cœur de l’océan mon pays (MA’OHI NUI, in the heart of the ocean my country lies)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Iota Production

CBA

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

NATIVe - Indigenous Cinema

MA’OHI NUI, au cœur de l’océan mon pays

MA’OHI NUI, in the heart of the ocean my country lies

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Die Stimme der Vorfahrin erzählt von Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft des auf Tahiti lebenden Volkes der Ma'ohi. Sie wendet sich an den jungen Tanaoa, der sich auf die Suche nach der Identität seines Volkes begibt. Augenzeugen erinnern sich an die Atomtests, die die Kolonialmacht Frankreich von 1966 bis 1996 auf den nahe gelegenen Atollen Moruroa und Fangataufa in Französisch-Polynesien durchführte. Die gesprochenen Worte werden von Aufnahmen explodierender Bomben in Zeitlupe illustriert, deren dumpfes Donnern dem Klang traditioneller polynesischer Trommeln ähnelt. Obwohl die Ma'ohi das drohende Unheil spürten, konnten sie sich weder zur Wehr setzen noch entfliehen. Gezwungen, ihr Land aufzugeben, und getäuscht von den Verlockungen des Geldes und des modernen Lebens, verloren sie Stück für Stück die Bindung an ihre Kultur, die traditionelle Lebensweise, ihre Sprache und an den Ozean. Dennoch ist der Wille der Ma'ohi, den Widerständen zu trotzen, stark und ungebrochen. Im Film verleihen die poetischen Worte der Aktivistin und Schriftstellerin Flora Devatine der Forderung ihres Volkes auf dem Weg in die Unabhängigkeit Nachdruck.

von
Annick Ghijzelings

Belgien 2018

Tahitisch, Französisch

Dokumentarische Form
113 Min

Weltpremiere

Mit

Flora Devatine (Erzählerin)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Annick Ghijzelings
Kamera
Caroline Guimbal, Annick Ghijzelings
Montage
Annick Ghijzelings
Musik
Herman Martin
Sound Design
Annick Ghijzelings, Jean-Jacques Quinet
Ton
Jean-Jacques Quinet
Produzentin
Isabelle Truc
Co-Produzent
Javier Packer-Comyn

Biografie

Annick Ghijzelings

Die Dokumentarfilmerin kam über das Adaptieren von Kurzgeschichten zum Film. Ihre Filmografie umfasst Terre terra terrae, The Very Minute und 27 times Time. In MA’OHI NUI, in the heart of the ocean my country lies dokumentiert sie die Entschlossenheit des auf Tahiti lebenden Volkes der Ma’ohi, sich gegen zeitgenössische Formen von Kolonialisierung zur Wehr zu setzen.

Filmografie

2008 Terre terra terrae 2010 The Very Minute, unfinished 1 > 7 2016 27 fois le temps (27 times Time) 2017 MA’OHI NUI, au cœur de l’océan mon pays (MA’OHI NUI, in the heart of the ocean my country lies)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Iota Production

CBA