Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum

Jahilya

## ## ## ## ##

When cockroaches dream, they dream of dying a natural death – instead of being squashed by human hand. This prologue forms a leitmotif that runs through the entire third part of Hicham Lasri’s “Trilogy of the Dog”. The film’s frequently hyper-realistic sequences describe the current state of the violent emotional dynamics governing contemporary Morocco: those between men and women, parents and children, the powerful and the disenfranchised. Moments of human humiliation link together the fates of six characters, located in a luxury country estate, an urban environment, and a quarry, respectively: the rape of a young woman; a suicidal man caught up in medieval fantasies; an unmarried daughter’s pregnancy, her blind father only concerned about the racial purity of his family; a bigoted judge; a little boy desperately demanding mutton for a sacrificial feast banned by the king; and the shoe that hit George W. Bush on the head in Iraq.
Lasri’s images carry the dynamics and power of a nightmare at once concrete and symbolic, straightforward and enigmatic, topical and timeless.

by
Hicham Lasri

Morocco / France 2018

Arabic

94’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Mostapha Houari (Lotfi)
Salma Eddlimi (Rita)
Hassan Ben Badida (Ali)
Rami Fijjaj (Yaya)
Zoubir Abou Al Fadl (Ali’s Son)
Moulay Hassan Alaoui (Lotfi’s Father)
Malek Akhmiss (Mr. Jolnir)
Zoubida Akif (Maid)
Nissrine Erradi (Fati)
Jalal Bouftaim (Chauffeur)
Youssef Lemrabet (Haj Kabir)

Crew

Written and directed by
Hicham Lasri
Director of Photography
Said Slimani
Editing
Zakaria Tibari
Music
Wissam Hojeij
Sound Design
Patrice Mendez
Sound
Anas Hamouch
Production Design
Hicham Lasri
Producers
Lamia Chraïbi, LaProd & Moon a Deal Films, Michel Merkt

Biography

Hicham Lasri

Born in Casablanca, Morocco in 1977. He studied law before making a name for himself as a playwright, novelist and screenwriter. In 2011, he made his debut feature, The End, about the last days of Morocco’s King Hassan II.

Filmography

2005 Jardin des Rides; 13 min. 2010 Android; 8 min. 2011 The End; 105 min. 2013 C’est eux les chiens (They Are the Dogs); 85 min. 2014 Al bahr min ouaraikoum (The Sea is Behind); 88 min., Panorama 2015 2015 Starve Your Dog; 94 min., Panorama 2016 2017 Headbang Lullaby; 90 min., Panorama 2017 2018 Jahilya

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

LaProd

Moon a Deal Films

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Jahilya

## ## ## ## ##

Wenn Kakerlaken träumen, dann davon, eines natürlichen Todes zu sterben – statt von Menschenhand zerquetscht zu werden. Dieser Prolog zieht sich als Leitmotiv durch den dritten Teil von Hicham Lasris „Trilogie des Hundes“. In oft hyperrealistischen Sequenzen entwirft der Film eine Zustandsbeschreibung der von Gewalt geprägten Gefühlswelt zwischen Männern und Frauen, Eltern und Kindern, Mächtigen und Entmachteten im heutigen Marokko. Sechs Schicksale, angesiedelt in einer ländlichen Luxusvilla, in großstädtischem Ambiente und in einem Steinbruch, werden durch Momente menschlicher Erniedrigungen verkettet. Die Vergewaltigung einer jungen Frau, ein in mittelalterlichen Fantasien verfangener Selbstmörder, die Schwangerschaft einer unverheirateten Tochter, deren blinder Vater sich nur für die Blutreinheit seiner Familie interessiert, ein bigotter Richter, ein kleiner Junge, der verzweifelt Hammelfleisch zum Opferfest einfordert, das der König verboten hat, und der Schuh, der George W. Bush im Irak an den Kopf geworfen wurde.
Lasris Filmsprache funktioniert mit der Wucht und Dynamik eines Alptraums, der gleichzeitig konkret und symbolisch, klar und verrätselt, aktuell und zeitlos ist.

von
Hicham Lasri

Marokko / Frankreich 2018

Arabisch

94 Min · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Mostapha Houari (Lotfi)
Salma Eddlimi (Rita)
Hassan Ben Badida (Ali)
Rami Fijjaj (Yaya)
Zoubir Abou Al Fadl (Alis Sohn)
Moulay Hassan Alaoui (Lotfis Vater)
Malek Akhmiss (Mr. Jolnir)
Zoubida Akif (Haushaltshilfe)
Nissrine Erradi (Fati)
Jalal Bouftaim (Chauffeur)
Youssef Lemrabet (Haj Kabir)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Hicham Lasri
Kamera
Said Slimani
Montage
Zakaria Tibari
Musik
Wissam Hojeij
Sound Design
Patrice Mendez
Ton
Anas Hamouch
Production Design
Hicham Lasri
Produzentinnen und Produzenten
Lamia Chraïbi, LaProd & Moon a Deal Films, Michel Merkt

Biografie

Hicham Lasri

Geboren 1977 in Casablanca, Marokko. Er studierte Jura, bevor er sich als Autor von Theaterstücken, Romanen und Drehbüchern einen Namen machte. 2011 entstand sein Debütfilm The End über die letzten Tage des marokkanischen Königs Hassan II.

Filmografie

2005 Jardin des Rides; 13 Min. 2010 Android; 8 Min. 2011 The End; 105 Min. 2013 C’est eux les chiens (They Are the Dogs); 85 Min. 2014 Al bahr min ouaraikoum (The Sea is Behind); 88 Min., Panorama 2015 2015 Starve Your Dog; 94 Min., Panorama 2016 2017 Headbang Lullaby; 90 Min., Panorama 2017 2018 Jahilya

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

LaProd

Moon a Deal Films